Get Newsletter

Team of the Week: Puma power

It was a meeting of much debate and little consensus, but we managed to finally produce rugby365's famous weekly selection.

Despite their impressive come from behind demolition of Wales in the final 20 minutes, New Zealand do not dominate our Team of the Week.

That honour belongs to Argentina, who held of France in a game of tactical chess in Paris.

The Pumas have four players in our starting XV. They are followed by Ireland, Wales (three each) and South Africa (two). The All Blacks, Italy and Australia (one each) make up the numbers.

There is plenty of reward for the Kiwis in our back-up squad, with five All Blacks bubbling under.

There is also further reward for Ireland (with four players) in our back-up squad, while France, Australia, , Argentina, South Africa, Italy and England (one each) making up the numbers.

No players from last team made it back in this week's selection.

Try of the week: This one goes to the Simon Zebo try early in the encounter between Ireland and Australia. After Bernard Foley collected a Rob Kearney bomb, Rory Best ripped the ball away in the tackle and Jonathan Sexton launched a sublime cross-field kick. Zebo almost appeared to be ambling as he collected the ball for his team's first try.

Team of the week: There is no doubt about this one. It goes to New Zealand for their composure and championship character in putting Wales away in the final quarter. As a unit their just seem so calm and collected, where most other teams rely on individuals to provide the spark.

Moment of the week: This one goes to the  Tommy Bowe intercept try that put Ireland 17-0 up after just 15 minutes.

Villain of the week: French referee Jérôme Garcès. He may find plenty of support from within the refereeing ranks, but there are a number of members on our panel who feel he was more than just inconsistent.

Team of the Week – November, Round Three:

15 – Joaquin Tuculet (Argentina):

Gave new meaning to the term 'The rock of Gibraltar'.

Bubbling under: Rob Kearney (Ireland)

14 – Tommy Bowe (Ireland):

You can attempt to measure his performance in statistic and be impressed, or you can sit back and watch rerun of the game and be more impressed.

Bubbling under: Yoann Huget (France)

13 – Gonzalez Iglesias (Argentina):

He was a natural No.10 and even the Argentinean media was surprised when he was moved to No.12 this year. In his first appearane at No.13, coming on for the injured Marcelo Bosch inside the first quarter in Paris, his defence showed his natural ability anywhere in the midfield.

Bubbling under: Conrad Smith (New Zealand)

12 – Jamie Roberts (Wales):

Showed why he is rated as one of the best in the world in his position. Did his best to secure a rare Welsh win.

Bubbling under: Matt Toomua (Australia)

11 – Julian Savea (New Zealand):

The bus! Enough said.

Bubbling under: Simon Zebo (Ireland)

10 – Jonathan Sexton (Ireland):

One of the most consistent performers this month, but he had tough competition from Argentinean Nicolás Sánchez at the weekend.

Bubbling under: Nicolás Sánchez (Argentina)

9 – Rhys Webb (Wales):

Did his best to get his team into a winning position and it is significant that his departure after 56 minute accompanied a drop-ff in the Welsh game.

Bubbling under: Conor Murray (Ireland)

8 – Sergio Parisse (Italy):

The panel couldn't quite come to an agreement on this one, but Parisse edged Duane Vermeulen on a count-out – most votes.

Bubbling under: Duane Vermeulen (South Africa)

7 – Michael Hooper (Australia):

It is a debate that will continue for a long time to come, but Hooper edged this round against Richie McCaw.

Bubbling under: Richie McCaw (New Zealand)

6 – Dan Lydiate (Wales):

Another long debate that ended in a stalemate and went to a count-down.

Bubbling under: Jerome Kaino (New Zealand)

5 – Paul O'Connell (Ireland):

Plenty of fight left in this old 'dog'.

Bubbling under: Joshua Furno (Italy)

4 – Eben Etzebeth (South Africa):

Fast regaining his best form.

Bubbling under: Brodie Retallick (New Zealand)

3 – Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro (Argentina):

Was just one of those weekends where the panel couldn't agree. The 'chairman' then cast a counting vote.

Bubbling under: David Wilson (England)

2 – Agustín Creevy (Argentina):

Despite the occasional temper tantrum, he was the driving force behind a very good win. He will soon have legendary status in Argentinean rugby folklore.

Bubbling under: Dane Coles (New Zealand)

1 – Trevor Nyakane (South Africa):

Passed the Castro test with flying colours.

Bubbling under: Jack McGrath (Ireland)

Our individual selection:

Michael de Vries XV: 15 Rob Kearney, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Gonzales Iglesias, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Jonny May, 10 Jonny Sexton, 9 Conor Murray, 8 Sergio Parisse, 7 Richie McCaw, 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Paul O'Connell, 4 Brodie Retallick, 3 Martin Castrogiovanni, 2 Agustín Creevy, 1 Joe Marler.

Tauriq Ebrahim XV: 15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Gonzales Iglesias, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Simon Zebo, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Rhys Webb,  8 Sergio Parisse, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Paul O'Connell, 4 Pascal Pape, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Trevor Nyakane.

Paul Dobson XV: 15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Jonny Sexton, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Sergio Parisse, 7 Sam Warburton, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Paul O'Connell, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Nicolas Mas, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Jack McGrath.

Darryn Pollock XV: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Gonzales Iglesias, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Jonathan Sexton, 9 Nick Phipps, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Paul O'Connell, 4 Devin Toner, 3 David Wilson, 2 Dane Coles, 1 Trevor Nyakane.

Jan de Koning XV: 15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Tommy Bowe, 13 Gonzales Iglesias, 12 Jamie Roberts, 11 Julian Savea, 10 Nicolás Sánchez, 9 Rhys Webb, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Richie McCaw, 6 Jerome Kaino, 5 Paul O'Connell, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustín Creevy, 1 Trevor Nyakane.

Previous selections:

Team of the Week – November, Round Two: 15 Willie le Roux (South Africa), 14 Julian Savea (New Zealand), 13 Michele Campagnaro (Italy), 12 Nemani Nadolo (Fiji), 11 Teddy Thomas (France), 10 Camille Lopez (France), 9 Cobus Reinach (South Africa), 8 Duane Vermeulen (South Africa), 7 Schalk Burger (South Africa), 6 Thierry Dusautoir (France), 5 Jonny Gray (Scotland), 4 Richie Gray (Scotland), 3 David Wilson (England), 2 Guilhem Guirado (France), 1 Marcos Ayerza (Argentina).

Team of the Week – November, Round One: 15 Israel Folau (Australia), 14 Ben Smith (New Zealand), 13 Tevita Kuridrani (Australia), 12 Jamie Roberts (Wales), 11 Jonny May (England), 10 Jonathan Sexton (Ireland), 9 Greig Laidlaw (Scotland), 8 Kieran Read (New Zealand), 7 Sam Warburton (Wales), 6 Jerome Kaino (New Zealand), 5 Paul O'Connell (Ireland), 4 Richie Gray (Scotland), 3 Samson Lee (Wales), 2 Dylan Hartley (England), 1 Marcos Ayerza (Argentina).


Our Team of the Week: New Zealand



Join free

Chasing The Sun | Series 1 Episode 1

Fresh Starts | Episode 2 | Sam Whitelock

Royal Navy Men v Royal Air Force Men | Full Match Replay

Royal Navy Women v Royal Air Force Women | Full Match Replay

Abbie Ward: A Bump in the Road

Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 9

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

Write A Comment