Get Newsletter

Team of the Week: Seven share it

We again have a very interesting spread of teams in our famous weekly Super Rugby selection.

Not only are seven teams represented in our starting XV, but another five also provide players to our back-up squad.

The Sharks just shade it terms of numbers, with four players from the Durban franchise in our first-choice selection.

They are closely followed by the Hurricanes and Chiefs (with three each), while two of the Lions (both props_ also make the cut.

The Brumbies, Crusaders and Western Force (one each) make up[ the numbers.

There is more reward for the Lions and Brumbies (three each) in our back-up squad, with the Sharks and Force (two each) also getting a look-in.

The Cheetahs, Blues, Reds, Rebels and Waratahs (one each) make up the numbers.

Just three players return from last week – fullback Jesse Mogg (Brumbies), wing Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks) and flank Marcell Coetzee (Sharks).

Team of the Week – Round Five:

15 – Jesse Mogg (Brumbies):

It was not so much the metres that he ran, or the accuracy of his kicking, but his reading of the game.

Bubbling under: Willie le Roux (Cheetahs)

14 – JP Pietersen (Sharks):

It was a tough choice between Pietersen and Blues flyer Frank Halai, but the Sharks wing just edged it as he did not miss any tackles and Halai slipped a few in the first half.

Bubbling under: Frank Halai (Blues)

13 – Conrad Smith (Hurricanes):

Showed the experience of 100 Super Rugby games. Still one of the best, if not the best, backline organisers around.

Bubbling under: Sibusiso Sithole (Sharks)

12 – Tom Marshall (Chiefs):

The full package – devastating on attack and solid on defence, as well as being a good reader of the game. Did slip one tackle though.

Bubbling under: Mike Harris (Reds)

11 – Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks):

In a game that did always flow his way, he edged a number of candidates worthy of the crown.

Bubbling under: Nick Cummins (Western Force)

10 – Beauden Barrett (Hurricanes):

Not every day a flyhalf wins two 'line-outs' (those were quick throws), but it was his attacking and distribution skills that impressed us the most.

Bubbling under: Marnitz Boshoff (Lions)

9 – Tawera Kerr-Barlow (Chiefs):

Apart from his impressive passing game, he also had a few snipes that were valuable and slipped only one tackle.

Bubbling under: Nic White (Brumbies)

8 – Kieran Read (Crusaders):

Fast beginning to find his best form – his enormous tackle count, line-out work and numerous carries were invaluable in helping his team over the line.

Bubbling under: Warren Whiteley (Lions)

7 – Willem Alberts (Sharks):

Not as flashy as some (and yes, he is not an openside flank), but his workrate is phenomenal.

Bubbling under: Michael Hooper (Waratahs)

6 – Marcell Coetzee (Sharks):

Since taking responsibility for the openside role, his game has improved dramatically. Some impressive steals to go with plenty of carries and no missed tackles.

Bubbling under: Jaco Kriel (Lions)

5 – Brodie Retallick (Chiefs):

He does carry the ball a lot for a No.5, but also does his work in the tight exchanges.

Bubbling under: Wilhelm Steenkamp (Western Force)

4 – Jeremy Thrush (Hurricanes):

It was a tough call, as Hugh Pyle also had a big game. In the end Thrush edged the Rebels lock because of his defensive work.

Bubbling under: Hugh Pyle (Rebels)

3 – Julian Redelinghuys (Lions):

He was a first-season rookie going up against a 107-Test veteran 10 years his senior. The Blues scrum looked a mess after the Lions were done with them.

Bubbling under: Ben Alexander (Brumbies)

2 – Nathan Charles (Western Force):

Good old-fashioned hooker who does all the dirty work in the deep, dark spaces on the field.

Bubbling under: Stephen Moore (Brumbies)

1 – Schalk van der Merwe (Lions):

It is not surprising his nickname is Hond (Afrikaans for dog), as he is a tenacious critter that doesn't let go.

Bubbling under: Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks)

Our individual selections!

Michael de Vries XV: 15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Alapati Leiua, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Frans Steyn, 11 Gio Aplon, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Nic White, 8 Ben McCalman, 7 Michael Hooper, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 Wyatt Crockett.

Paul Dobson XV: 15 Jesse Mogg, 14 Frank Halai, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Shaun Treeby, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Schalk Burger, 6 Jaco Kriel, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.

Darryn Pollock XV: 15 Willie le Roux, 14 Frank Halai, 13 Sibusiso Sithole, 12 Mike Harris, 11 Nick Cummins, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Chris Smylie, 8 Warren Whiteley, 7 Willem Alberts, 6  Marcell Coetzee, 5 Brodie Retallick 4 Rob Simmons 3 Julian Redelinghuys 2  Nathan Charles 1 Schalk van der Merwe.

Matthew Riches XV: 15 Benji Marshall, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Tom Marshall, 11 James Lowe, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Phillip van der Walt, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Jeremy Thrush, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Stephen Moore, 1 Schalk van der Merwe.

Jan de Koning XV: 15 Jesse Mogg, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Conrad Smith, 12 Tom Marshall, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Marnitz Boshoff, 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Kieran Read, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Marcell Coetzee, 5 Brodie Retallick, 4 Hugh Pyle, 3 Julian Redelinghuys, 2 Nathan Charles, 1 Schalk van der Merwe.

Previous selections:

Team of the Week – Round Four: 15 Jesse Mogg (Brumbies), 14 Roc Davis (Reds), 13 Jean de Villiers (Stormers), 12 Par McCabe (Brumbies), 11 Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks), 10 Frans Steyn (Sharks), 9 Cobus Reinach (Sharks), 8 Ben McCalman (Western Force), 7 Schalk Burger (Stormers), 6 Marcell Coetzee (Sharks), 5 Wilhelm Steenkamp (Western Force), 4 Flip van der Merwe (Bulls), 3 Werner Kruger (Bulls), 2 Stephen Moore (Brumbies), 1 Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks).

Team of the Week – Round Three: 15 Israel Folau (Waratahs), 14 Tim Nanai-Williams (Chiefs), 13 Conrad Smith (Hurricanes), 12 Kurtley Beale (Waratahs), 11 Bjorn Basson (Bulls), 10 Jacques-Louis Potgieter (Bulls), 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow (Chiefs), 8 Scott Higginbotham (Rebels), 7 Jacques du Plessis (Bulls), 6 Jaco Kriel (Lions), 5 Tom Donnelly (Blues), 4 Hugh Pyle (Rebels), 3 Charlie Faumuina (Blues), 2 Tatafu Polota-Nau (Waratahs), 1 Benn Robinson (Waratahs).

Team of the Week – Round Two: 15 Israel Folau (Waratahs), 14 Lachie Turner (Reds), 13 Robbie Fruean (Chiefs), 12 Frances Saili (Blues), 11 Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks), 10 Marnitz Boshoff (Lions), 9 Aaron Smith (Highlanders), 8 Nasi Manu (Highlanders), 7 Pieter Labuschagne (Cheetahs), 6 Jaco Kriel (Lions), 5 Brodie Retallick (Chiefs), 4 Sam Whitelock (Crusaders), 3 Jannie du Plessis (Sharks), 2 Bismarck du Plessis (Sharks), 1 Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks).

Team of the Week – Round One: 15 SP Marais (Sharks), 14 Cornal Hendricks (Cheetahs), 13 Paul Jordaan (Sharks), 12 Frans Steyn (Sharks), 11 Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks), 10 Marnitz Boshoff (Lions), 9 Cobus Reinach (Sharks), 8 Ryan Kankowski (Sharks), 7 Derick Minnie (Lions), 6 Marcell Coetzee (Sharks), 5 Pieter-Steph du Toit (Sharks), 4 Lodewyk de Jager (Cheetahs), 3 Coenie Oosthuizen (Cheetahs), 2 Bismarck du Plessis (Sharks), 1 Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks).


Join free

Fresh Starts | Episode 1 | Will Skelton


Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 8

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

New Zealand crowned BACK-TO-BACK champions | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Women's Highlights

Japan Rugby League One | Steelers v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Rugby Europe Women's Championship | Netherlands v Spain

Write A Comment