Fri 2 Jun 2017 | 10:52

Blue Bulls gear up for Youth weeks

Blue Bulls gear up for Youth weeks
Fri 2 Jun 2017 | 10:52
Blue Bulls gear up for Youth weeks

The Blue Bulls open their Craven Week campaign against KwaZulu-Natal on July 18, while the Academy side meet the Free State on the same day.

This year the Youth Week Teams – Cravenweek, Academy Week and Grant Khomo Under-16 week- have more a wider range of schools representing the Province.  

Blue Bulls Craven week team

Afrikaans Hoër Seunskool – who occupy fifth in the Top 20-  have the most representatives in te Craven Week side, with Waterkloof Hoërskool -ranked 12th – follow hot on their trail.

Unlike last year, Garsfontein's representation in the team has dropped substantially from nine to two.

In the 23-men squad, there are seven from Afrikaans Hoër Seunskool, six from Waterkloof in the team, three from Pretoria Boys' High, two from Garsfontein, and one each from St Alban's College, Southdowns College, De Wilgers, Cornwall Hill and Curro College Hazeldean.  

Marnus Potgieter is the only survivor of last year's Craven Week side and has proven to be very versatile not only in 15-men but in sevens as well.  In 2016  Potgieter was the only Blue Bulls representative n the U18 SARU Sevens schools team.    

Ndu Nkosi, Ulrich Maritz, Jaco Labuschagne and Orateng Koikanyang have all been promoted from last year's Academy side to this year's Craven Week team.

While Diego Appollis, Regards Roets and Kahanda Jada have all been named in this year's Craven Week team after impressive performances in last year's Grant Khomo team.

Blue Bulls Craven Week: 15 Diego Appollis (Garsfontein), 14 Ndu Nkosi (Southdowns College), 13 Marnus Potgieter (Affies) , 12 Zan Briel (Affies) , 11 Turique Ferris (De Wilgers), 10 Ulrich Maritz (Waterkloof) , 9 Giovanne Snyman (Waterkloof) , 8 Phillip Potgieter (Affies) , 7 Jaco Labuschagne (Affies) , 6 Gustav de Jager (Waterkloof) , 5 Ruben Kotze (Waterkloof) , 4 Orateng Koikanyang (St Alban's College), 3 Gerrit Visser (Waterkloof) , 2 Johan van Zyl (Affies) , 1 Warren Nkobane (Cornwall Hill).
Replacements: 16 Ruben Veldsman (Waterkloof) , 17 Robert Moekoena (Curro College Hazeldean), 18 James Combrink (Affies) , 19 Kgala Mothomogolo (Pretoria Boys' High), 20 Kahanda Jada (Pretoria Boys' High), 21 Keagen Johannes (Garsfontein) , 22 Regardt Roets (Affies) , 23 Mpho Kubeka (Pretoria Boys' High).   

Blue Bulls Academy Team

Last year's Academy team were dominated by Affies, last year's side had four while this year there are only two.

In the squad, Garsfontein and Menlopark have the most representatives with five each.

The other teams represented in the side are Affies, Pretoria THS, Pretoria Boys' High, Southdowns College with two each, while Oos-Moot, Voortrekker and De Wilgers fill the gaps.     

Blue Bulls Academy team: 15 Campwill  Willemse (Garsfontein), 14 Steven Ndaya (Overkruin), 13 L Neyelele (Pretoria THS), 12 Edmund Ludick (Oos-Moot), 11 Thabiso Mbatha (Pretoria THS), 10 Charles Goedhalf (Affies), 9 Bernard van der Linde (Menlopark), 8 Divan Venter (Menlopark), 7 Kagiso Woodbridge (Pretoria Boys' High), 6 Jeremy Samukele (Voortrekker), 5 Justin Sadie (Menlopark), 4 Qacha Rebone (Southdowns College), 3 Barry Viljoen (Menlopark), 2 Janco Uys (Affies), 1 Breilen Brandt (Garsfontein)
Replacements: 16 Steven Billings (Garsfontein), 17 Lukas Klopper (Menlopark), 18 Amin Amofola (Pretoria Boys High), 19 Thabiso Maropa (De Wilgers), 20 Divan Du Preez (Affies), 21 Sihle Subekwa (Southdowns College), 22 Bjorden Hendricks (Garsfontein), 23 Wesley Thompson (Garsfontein).

Blue Bulls Under-16 Grant Khomo

Menlopark dominate the Grant Khomo team, the co-ed high school coughed up nine players.

Garsfontein produced four Grant Khomo players, three from Affies, two Pretoria THS, with Waterkloof, Curro College Hazeldean, Pretoria-Noord, Pretoria Boys High and St Alban's College rounding of the 23-man squad.  

Blue Bulls U16 Grant Khomo: 15 Geraldo Flusk (Garsfontein), 14 Nzuku Baloyi (Menlopark), 13 Ruan Oosthuizen (Menlopark), 12 Theuns Pretorius (Waterkloof), 11 Mcniel Jenner (Menlopark), 10 Kenan Wessels (Menlopark), 9 Juric Claasens (Garsfontein), 8 Gideon van Wyk (Menlopark), 7 Lohan Potgieter (Menlopark), 6 Charles Luhanga (Curro College Hazeldean), 5 Adolf Visser (Affies), 4 Kabelo Mashimana (Pretoria THS), 3 Gerhard Viljoen (Menlopark), 2 Enrique Coutries (Menlopark), 1 Sheriff Alawode (Pretoria THS).
Replacements: 16 Jacques-Louis du Toit (Affies), 17 Nolan Pienaar (Menlopark), 18 Wandile Madodonke (Pretoria Boys High), 19 Reynard Roetz (Garsfontein), 20 LM Mpapha (St Alban's College), 21 Michael van Aswegen (Affies), 22 Dillon Olckers (Pretoria Noord), 23 Duqane Lewis (Garsfontein).

PV: 49

Blue Bulls Gear Up For Youth Weeks | Rugby365