Tue 27 Jun 2017 | 01:35

Boland send green charges to Jozi

Boland send green charges to Jozi
Tue 27 Jun 2017 | 01:35
Boland send green charges to Jozi

The Boland U18 Craven Week side had a horrendous time at last year's prestigious tournament.  The men from the Winelands failed to register a victory in their three matches, while their Academy counterparts won all three their matches.

There have been vast changes in the selection, Boland have opted to introduce new faces and talent in 23-man Craven Week side in the hope of producing much better results in Johannesburg.

Michael Goodall is the only survivor from last year's Craven week. The Hugenote pupil is joined by Thys van der Merwe, Athi Maginya, Jevan August, Marco Griebenauw and  MJ Otto, who were all part of last year's U18 Academy side.

In terms of school representations, there are seven from HTS Drostdy, four from Hermanus, two each from Robertson, Vredendal, Augsburg Gimnasium, Charlie Hofmeyr and Hugenote, and one each from Weltevreden and Lutzville.

Boland kick-off their Craven Week campaign against the Free State, while the Academy side will meet Western Province on Monday, July 17.  

Boland U18 Craven Week team 2017: 15 Jasper Cohen (HTS Drostdy), 14 Runé Lucas (Robertson), 13 Christoff Grobbelaar (HTS Drostdy), 12 PJ Boltman (Vredendal), 11 Larren Buys (HTS Drostdy), 10 JP Viviers (Augsburg Gym), 9 Romeo Eksteen (HTS Drostdy), 8  Marco Griebenauw (Augsburg Gym) , 7 MJ Otto (Hermanus) , 6 Jevan August (Weltevrede), 5 Dawid Oosthuizen (Robertson) , 4 JC van Niekerk (Vredendal), 3 Athi Maginya (Charlie Hofmeyr) , 2  Thys van der Merwe (Hermanus), 1  Zenon Erasmus (Hugenote).
Replacements: 16 Greyling Geldenhuys (HTS Drostdy), 17  Trevor Laubscher (HTS Drostdy), 18 Dean Scheepers (Hermanus) , 19 Handré Rupping (Lutzville), 20 Michael Goodall (Hugenote), 21 Aphelele Madaka (Hermanus) , 22 Shaun Baxter (HTS Drostdy), 23 Jared Manus (Charlie Hofmeyr).

Coaches: John Booysen, Anton Esau, Niel du Toit
Team Manager: Francen Septemper.

Boland U18 Academy team 2017: 15 Le Roux Kloppers (Stellenbosch), 14 Adrian Maans (HTS Drostdy) , 13 Berto le Roux (HTS Drostdy), 12  Lloyd April (Hermanus) , 11 Shakier Moerat (New Orleans), 10  Lionel April (Hermanus), 9 Handré van Zyl (Vredendal), 8 CJ van Rensburg (HTS Drostdy), 7 Nathan Solomons (Schoonspruit), 6 Keenan Opperman (Montagu), 5 JW Human (Hermanus), 4 Renaldo Matthee (Overberg), 3 Duan Bredenkamp (HTS Drostdy), 2 JP Groenewaldt (Swartland), 1 Christoff Walker (Overberg).
Replacements: 16 Reevan Strydom (Worcester Gym), 17 Malan Gouws (Robertson), 18 Thomas Bezuidenhout (HTS Drostdy), 19 Keanu Adonis (Hugenote), 20 J'hanco Botha (Hermanus), 21 Luciano Elias  (HTS Drostdy), 22 Chadd Fortuin (Augsburg Gym), 23  Renaldo Isaacs (Hawston)

Coaches: Connel Du Plessis, Morne Kershoff
Team Manager: Inglissearl Benjamin

Boland U16 Grant Khomo 2017: Tario Claasen (HTS Drostdy), Joshua Smit (HTS Drostdy), Benicoa Kampher (HTS Drostdy), Renier Viljoen (HTS Drostdy), Wynand du Plessis (HTS Drostdy), Bradley Alexander (Groenberg), Dylan Setera (Worcester Gim), Bryan Zake (Worcester Gim), Ryan George (Worcester Gim), Nathan Engelbrecht (Hopefield), Keenan Solomons ( Schoonspruit), Gysbert du Preez (Bredasdorp), Jonte Klaase (Augsburg), Henry van der Westhuizen (Piketberg), Marcell Pfeiffer (Overberg), Floors Brand (Overberg), Elrich Isaacs (Charlie Hofmeyr), Elma Untnaar (Charlie Hofmeyr), Albert Bruwer (Robertson), Wynand Mostert (Dirkie Uys), Nathan Wilson (Hugenote), JP van der Merwe (Vredendal),

Coaches: Martin  Dyason, Renier de Villiers
Team Manager: Andre Louw.


PV: 60

Boland Send Green Charges To Jozi | Rugby365