Sat 16 Jul 2016 | 09:03

Border bounce Boland aside

Border bounce Boland aside
Sat 16 Jul 2016 | 09:03
Border bounce Boland aside

Sango Xamlashe was in a try scoring mood as he bagged four while Mila Bomela added two late scores. David Coetzer contributed 19 points of his own to ensure the empathic victory.

In the opening match of the day, a second half Gerswin Mouton hat-trick helped Namibia bag a 34-3 victory over Zimbabwe while Griquas Country Districts ended their campaign on a high note with a 29-8 victory over Border Country Districts.

Scorers and scorers!

Zimbabwe 3-34 Namibia

Namibia got off to the perfect start thanks to a Rudi Pretorius try in the fourth minute. Gerswin Mouton was unable to convert but they had a 5-0 lead but that was to be the only points of a evenly balanced half.

It all kicked off in the second half though as Namibia stretched their lead courtesy of an unconverted Marko Beukes try.

Matthew McNab got Zimbabwe on the board in the 45th minute with a well struck penalty before Namibia grabbed four tries in 20 minutes.

Mouton scored a hat-trick with tries in the 46th, 56th and 64th minutes, while Handre Klazinga got in on the action with a 59th minute score. Just two of those tries went converted but it meant little as Namibia claimed the victory.


For Zimbabwe:
Pen: Matthew McNab

For Namibia:
Tries: Rudi Pretorius, Marco Beukes, Gerswin Mouton 3, Handre Klazinga
Cons: Rudi Pretorius, Gerswin Mouton


Zimbabwe: 15 Martin Mongongo, 11 Tapiwa Marimira, 13 Rodney Sachiti, 12 Matthew McNab, 25 Peter Davis, 10 Benjamin Meredith, 9 Connor MacMillan, 8 Tendekai Chigwendere, 7 Tichaona Hwanga, 6 Stuart Marriot-Dodington, 5 Daniel Hutchings, 20 Godfrey Magaramombe, 3 Cleopas Kundiona, 2 Tinashe Chaza, 1 Samuel Garnett.
Replacements: 16 Marcus Nichole, 17 Simbarashe Maringa, 4 Tonderai Chiwambutsa, 19 Liam Burnett, 14 Rangarirai Mariwa, 21 Jeremy Munyeza, 22 Nqobisile Ncube.

Namibia: 13 Chad Plato, 14 Rudi Pretorius, 15 Andre van der Berg, 23 Nico Horn, 11 Elmarco Beukes, 22 Gerswin Mouton, 9 Handre Klazinga, 8 Oderich Mouton, 7 Peter Diergaardt, 6 Prince Gaoseb, 5 Loandro Erasnmus, 4 Armand Kotze, 3 Jano Rieckert, 2 Darius van Solms, 1 Andre Rademeyer.
Replacements: 16 Jan Basson, 17 Patrick Schickerling, 18 Andries Jacobs, 19 Dylan Farmer, 20 Wynand Breytenbach, 21 Tertius Lambrechts, 10 Denzo Bruwer.

Referee: Archie Sehlako
Assistant referees: Ricus van der Hoven, Local

Boland 26-64 Border

Boland came out firing to take an early 12-0 lead through Hannes van Zyl and Anton du Toit tries inside the opening 10 minutes. But Border hit back with four tries of their own.

Aaron Brody, Sango Xamlashe and Libongo Yapi and Hanru Sigel crossing the try line while Coetzer added three conversions. Boland had the final say of the half though when James Mao-Cheia dotted down. Lloyd April's conversion meant they trailed 19-26 at the break.

Coetzer got a try of his own after the restart before Xamlashe grabbed two of his own – his hat-trick – to knock the sails out of Boland. Coetzer slotted all three conversions to ensure a 47-19 lead after 44 minutes.

Boland came back to register an Igne Erasmus try, converted by du Toit, to reduce the deficit to 26-47 after 55 minutes. But that's where Boland's joy ended. Border continued their onslaught as Mila Bomela grabbed a late double before Xamlashe rounded the scoring off with his fourth of the match. Coetzer could only manage one conversion.


For Boland:
Tries: Hannes van Zyl, Anton du Toit, James Mao-Cheia, Igne Erasmus
Cons: Anton du Toit 2, Lloyd April

For Border:
Tries: Aaron Brody, Sango Xamlashe 4, Libongo Yapi, Hanru Sirgel, David Coetzer, Mila Bomela 2
Cons: David Coetzer  7


Boland: 13 Berto le Roux, 15 James Mao Cheia, 12 Anton du Toit, 10 Lloyd April, 23 Shandrey Pietersen, 9 Rick Jordaan, 21 Hanreco van Zyl, 8 Charlie Gerber, 7 Charl Schoeman, 6 Michael Goodall, 5 Albert Liebenberg, 4 Stiaan Basson, 3 Cohen Kiewit, 2 Niel Burger, 1 Kayden Kiewit.
Replacements: 16 Henry Hagen, 17 Igne Erasmus, 18 Gerrit Bester, 19 Jan-Ernst Terblanche, 20 Bronlee Mouries, 22 Keenan Williams, 14 Bradley van Turha, 11 Caleb Dingaan.

Border: 15 Aphelele Fassi, 9 James Bruce, 23 Christopher Hollis, 12 Sango Xamlashe, 13 Sibulele Mbana, 22 David Coetzer, 21 Hlumelo Ndudula, 8 Hanru Sirgel, 7 Libongo Yapi, 1 Leon Lyons, 5 Tristan Waller, 4 Aaron Brody, 3 Alulutho Tshakweni, 2 Gareth Heidtmann, 18 Heindrick Otto.
Replacements: 16 Mila Bomela, 17 Sande Msengana, 6 Cameron Cato, 19 Darren Lemmer, 20 Siyamthanda Jwacu, 11 Nathan Church, 10 Siposethu Dlongodlongo, 14 Joshua Armstrong.

Referee: Jaco Pretorius
Assistant referees: Ruhan Meiring, Local

Griquas CD 29-8 Border CD

Griquas CD fullback Mpho Molaolwa got the first points of the game in the 12th minute. Iwan Lombard added the extras to ensure the try went converted. Khanya Sikrenya hit back for Border CD with a penalty but things took a bad turn for them when Kwanele Lunika was sent to the sin bin in the 25th minute.

They were punished for that indiscretion when Zean Augustyn bagged Griquas CD's second try. Lombard duly added the extras to ensure a 14-3 lead after 26 minutes.

There was no stopping the Northern Cape side in the second half as tries by Johan Geldenhuys, Johannes Terblanche and Jacques Page put the result beyond any doubt. Lombard failed with all three conversion attempts but the damage had already been done.

Border grabbed a 69th minute consolation try through Sikrenya to close out the match.


For Griquas CD:
Tries: Mpho Molaolwa, Zean Augustyn, Johan Geldenhuys, Johannes Terblanche, Jacques Page
Cons: Iwan Lombard 2

For Border CD:
Try: Khanya Sikrenya
Pen: Khanya Sikrenya

Yellow card: Kwanele Lunika (Border CD, 25)


Griquas CD: 15 Mpho Molaolwa, 22 Harry Bowers, 13 Jacques Page, 12 Delron Speelman, 14 Sabastian Jobb, 10 Iwan Lombard, 21 Lourens de Jager, 8 Johan Geldenhuys, 7 Johannes Terblanche, 6 Ruan Visser, 5 Daniel Oberholzer, 19 Hanlu Kotze, 1 Zean Augustyn, 2 Taliesen Dick, 3 Anton Gregory.
Replacements: 16 Waylen Cloete, 17 Wilfred Saunderson, 18 Heinrich Fourie, 4 Jovan Oosthuizen, 20 Warren Vantura, 9 Ettienne le Roux, 11 Oscar van Wyk, 23 Byron Coetzee.

Border CD: 22 Tabiso Stenge, 9 Bonisile Mapongwana, 13 Gacula Poswa, 23 Luyolo Gwarube, 21 Khanya Sikrenya, 15 Litha Nkula, 10 Yanga Mcaphukana, 8 Siviwe Ngqono, 7 Pumezo Kanzi, 20 Athenkosi Mabandla, 5 Mihlali Stamper, 4 Sinovuyo Bali, 17 Ayabonga Mntonintshi, 16 Sange Gulwa, 1 Sixolile Mapoloba.
Replacements: 2 Sonwabise Batyi, 3 Liyasa Kauleza, 18 Gerhard Pretorious, 19 Sinethemba Stephen, 6 Likhona Simoyi, 11 Kwaziwe Sigaqa, 12 Kwanele Lunika, 4 Siphosoxolo Dlongodlongo.

Referee: Renier Louwrens
Assistant referees: Archie Sehlako, Local

PV: 74

Border Bounce Boland Aside | Rugby365