Tue 18 Jul 2017 | 11:35

Griquas crush willing EP CD

Griquas crush willing EP CD
Tue 18 Jul 2017 | 11:35
Griquas crush willing EP CD

Williams scored the final try of the match – Griquas' sixth – and added a further nine points with the boot. Lock Leonard Barnard bagged a brace while EP CD managed to score three tries of their own in an entertaining encounter.

Eastern Province CD held onto the early possession but found themselves trailing 0-3 in the second minute after they were penalised at the breakdown. Griquas flyhalf Charles Williams made no mistake with the kick at goal.

EP CD were keen to run the ball but handling errors cost them valuable possession and territory. Griquas were taking full advantage of their opponents' errors and found reward in the 10th minute.

Griquas kept the continuity and bashed from inside EP CD's 22. They showed good composure to eventually see Edrich Brand worm his way over the line. Williams failed with the conversion but the lead was stretched to 8-0.

It became a bit of an arm-wrestle from that point as the teams struggled for dominance. Griquas managed to extend their lead to 11-0 in the 22nd minute when Williams slotted his second penalty of the encounter.

Then came the moment of the first half as EP CD's Claude Jacobs scored a brilliant individual try. He collected the ball inside his half, stepped past the defender before sprinting into Griquas' 22. With two defenders converging on him, he chipped ahead, chased it down and dotted down.

That joy was short lived though as Griquas came back with some venom. Loose forward Leonard Barnard going over from close range after numerous phases broke down EP CD's defence. Williams added the extras to take an 18-5 lead in the 27th minute.

EP CD were next on the board in the 30th minute when Koster popped over a penalty, after Griquas were penalised inside their 22 for an infringement at the breakdown. EP CD trailed 8-18.

Griquas ended the half on the front foot as they scored their third try on the stroke of half-time. As was the case with the previous tries, they hung onto the ball and that allowed lock Deon van Niekerk to use his massive frame to power over the line. Williams added the extras to head into the break with a 25-8 lead.

Griquas continued their momentum in the opening stages of the second half as they dotted down their fourth try of the game. Ramon Sauls ran a brilliant support line to receive the final pass. Williams' conversion took the lead to 32-8 after 38 minutes.

EP CD were not going down without a fight though and were the next to score after some brilliant work in the ruck saw them turn the ball over. They turned defence into attack and prop Callum Dugmore was on hand to score from close range. Koster missed the conversion as they trailed 13-32 after 46 minutes.

Griquas hit back within five minutes of that score through lock Barnard, who picked up a loose ball inside EP CD's 22 and dotted down his second of the game. Williams pulled the conversion but the lead grew to 37-13 after 51 minutes.

EP CD hit back with a try of their own though when Vivian Kapp benefitted from a brilliant break to dot down under the uprights. Koster popped over the conversion to trail 20-37 after 59 minutes.

The result was put to bed in the 69th minute when Williams picked up a loose ball on his 22 and raced away unopposed to score a breakaway try. He could not convert but that was enough to seal the victory.


For Griquas:
Tries: Edrich Brand, Leonard Barnard 2, Deon van Niekerk, Ramon Sauls, Charles Williams
Cons: Charles Williams 3
Pens: Charles Williams 2

For Eastern Province Country Districts:
Tries: Claude Jacobs, Callum Dugmore, Vivian Kapp
Con: Murray Koster
Pen: Murray Koster


Griquas: 15 Rowan Malgas (Prieska), 14 Lambert Cronjé (Diamantveld), 13 Majolo Lenge (Hoërlandbouskool Noordkaap), 12 Wium Becker (Noordkaap), 11 Maurice Amerika (Noordkaap), 10 Charles Williams (Diamantveld), 9 Jannie van Niekerk (Diamantveld), 8 Edrich Brand (Noordkaap), 7 Leonard Barnard (Diamantveld), 6 Jeffery Muzaza (Noordkaap), 5 Deon van Niekerk (Noordkaap), 4 Leon van Jaarsveld (Noordkaap), 3 Edwill Speelman (Diamantveld), 2 Rory Leijdekkers (Noordkaap), 1 WS Coetzer (Diamantveld), 16 Nolan Coetzee (Noordkaap), 17 Jay-Dee Dampies (Noordkaap), 18 Rodulph Fourie (Diamantveld), 19 Hendrik Smit (Diamantveld), 20 Enrico Mawawane (Noordkaap), 21 Craige Ockhuis (Noordkaap), 22 Ramon Sauls (Noordkaap), 23 Timothy Harding (Diamantveld).

Eastern Province Country Districts: 15 Nevaldo Fleurs (Marlow), 14 Sivuyisiwe Ngqiyaza (Graeme), 13 Byron Shanwood (St Andrew's), 12 Jack Allanson (St Andrew's), 11 Sive Etoo Nako (Aliwal North), 10 Murray Koster (St Andrew's), 9 Oscar Reese Evans (St Andrew's), 8 Zadok Robert Kakani (St Andrew's), 7 Mhlangabezi Ntwanambi (Graeme), 6 Jurgens Human (Marlow), 5 Jason Brown (St Andrew's), 4 Ikheteleng Nkereanya (St Andrew's), 3 Callum Dugmore (St Andrew's), 2 Dean Jenkins (St Andrew's), Chulumankco Lupumlo Mngxaso (St Andrew's), 16 Johannes Swart (Marlow), 17 Marno Beyl (Marlow), 18 Wonga Wakashe (Graeme), 19 Cornelius Jacobus Vorster (Marlow), 20 Athini Galada (Kingswood), 21 Johannes Lombard (Gill), 22 Vivian Kapp (Marlow), 23 Claude Jacobs (Marlow).

Referee: Archie Sehlako 
Assistant referees: Oregopotse Rametsi, Paul Mente 

PV: 101

Griquas Crush Willing Ep Cd | Rugby365