Mon 29 May 2017 | 10:24

Oakdale-Outeniqua combo in SWD teams

Oakdale-Outeniqua combo in SWD teams
Mon 29 May 2017 | 10:24
Oakdale-Outeniqua combo in SWD teams

South Western Districts open their Craven Week with a match against Eastern Province on Day two.

The Craven Week this year will be later than usual from July 17 to 22 at St Stithians College in Randburg. As happened in 2016, the Academy Week will run concurrently with the Craven Week.

The U16 Grant Khomo week will be held from July 10 to 14 at Grey College in Bloemfontein.

SWD Craven Week Team

Similar to last year, the SWD Craven week team are dominated by the prominent Southern Cape School – Oakdale Landbou.

Oakdale boast with 12 players in the Craven Week team while Outeniqua have sevens representatives with just three other players from York, Punt and PW Botha to fill in the gap

Of the 2017 squad, Jaycee Nel, Dian Bleuler and Nicolai Weber make a return after being part of the 2016 Craven Team. This year Nel gets the pivot role after his stint as an inside centre last year.

2016 Academy players Emilio Otto, Darryn Fortuin, Curtley Scheepers and Lian Du Toit received promotion to this year's Craven Week team.    

SWD Craven Week: 15 Darryn Fortuin (Outeniqua), 14 Janco Klinck (Oakdale), 13 Emilio Otto (Outeniqua), 12 Jaycee Nel (Oakdale), 11 Dillon Pieterse (Outeniqua), 10 Clyde Lewis (Oakdale), 9 Lian Du Toit (Oakdale), 8 Ruben Coetzee (Outeniqua), 7 JC Lourens (Oakdale), 6 Sibuso Vilani (York), 5 Louis Meiring (Outeniqua), 4 Daniel van der Berg (Oakdale), 3 Robin West (Oudtshoorn), 2 SP Kleynhans (Oakdale), 1 Dian Bleuler (Oakdale).
Replacements: 16 Keano Hendricks (Oakdale), 17 Nicolai Weber (Oakdale), 18 Magnus Muller (Oakdale), 19 Joshua Hermanus (HS Punt), 20 Hanu Heunis (Oakdale), 21 Sylvester Hassien (Outeniqua), 22 James Molentze (Outeniqua), 23 Curtley Scheepers (PW Botha).

SWD Academy Week Team

Similar to the SWD Craven Week side, the Academy squad consist out of an Outeniqua-Oakdale combination with nine other players from York, Punt, Langenhoven Gimnasium,  Haarlem, Langenhoven HS, Sao Bras, PW Botha, Oudtshoorn and George High.

Rashdeen Fredericks, Braam van Huysteen and Joaquin Taute who were part of last year's Grant Khomo side, will get a chance to represent this year's Acadamy team.    

SWD Academy: 15 Pieter Uys (Oakdale), 14 Abre-Lee Davids (Haarlem), 13 Luke Hertz (Oakdale), 12 Joaquin Taute (Oakdale), 11 Herchell Otto (Outeniqua), 10 Duren Joseph (York), 9 Aylen Schabort (Outeniqua), 8 Hannes Gous (Oakdale), 7 Braam van Huysteen (Outeniqua), 6 Sidney Volkwyn (Punt), 5 Pieter Ferreira (Oakdale), 4 Henco Beukes (Oakdale), 3 Conrad Ackermann (Outeniqua), 2 Malusi Khumalo (Oudthoorn), 1 GW Lindt (Langenhoven Gim).
Replacements: 16 Stephan Leonard (Outeniqua), 17 Rashdeen Fredericks (Haarlem), 18 Alexander van Biljon (Outeniqua), 19 Allister Miggels (Langenhoven HS), 20 Hogan Moodien (Sao Bras), 21 Yannic-Will Sparks (PW Botha), 22 Lyle Mtembo (Oudtshoorn), 23 Sergio Stalmeester (George High)

SWD Under-16 Grant Khomo team

In the 23 players squad, there are 10 from Outeniqua in the team, eight from Oakdale.

George High school have two representatives with Langenhoven Gim, Heidelberg and Bridgton filling in the gaps

SWD U16 Grant Khomo: 15 Mathew Thorne (Outeniqua), 14 Auburn Bezuidenhout (Outeniqua), 13 Creflo Witbooi (Oakdale), 12 Hendrik Hattingh (Outeniqua), 11 Curtley Smith (Outeniqua), 10 Jaylen James (George), 9 Zander Botha (Outeniqua), 8 Hendrik Victor (Oakdale), 7 Vernon Paolo (Oakdale), 6 Francoius Cummings (George),  Francois Du Plessis (Langenhoven Gim), 4 Zack Stander (Oakdale), 3 Stephan Posthumus (Oakdale), 2 Leon Volschenk (Outeniqua), 1 Neil Francis (Oakdale).
Replacements: 16 Liam Samaai (Outeniqua), 17 Devon Frans (Outeniqua), 18 Tiaan Burger (Outeniqua), 19 Blake Morgan (Heidelberg), 20 Jandre Le Roux (Outeniqua), 21 Dylan Smith (Outeniqua), 22 Joniqu Jonkers (Bridgton), 23 Ashwin Botha (Oakdale).

PV: 113

Oakdale-outeniqua Combo In Swd Teams | Rugby365