Tue 18 Jul 2017 | 02:05

SWD soar over EP

SWD soar over EP
Tue 18 Jul 2017 | 02:05
SWD soar over EP

The fast-paced encounter saw the SWD delivered a masterclass of attacking rugby and eventually outscored EP four tries to three.


The SWD appeared to be in full control as their led 27-10 with 10 minutes left on the clock, however, two yellow cards and two successive tries by EP made sure they narrow the deficit to just four points.

EP had a tremendous start, which saw them take the lead after just two minutes. EP got inside SWD's 22 and from the recycled Rodwell Baatjies sidestepped his way over the line for the first try of the match, 5-0.

Dylan Le Roux added the extras, 7-0.

SWD immediately hit back to level matters. SWD worked their way inside the red zone, and a  little show-and-go by the big Dian Bleuler got the prop over the chalk. Jay-cee Nel added the extras, 7-7.

The lead switched hands twice before SWD took control of proceeding. First Dylan Le Roux booted EP into the lead after SWD were penalised inside their own 10 metre for not rolling away, And than, in the 16th minute, the prop Dian Bleuler rounded off a great break from Curtley Scheepers and bulldozed his way over the tryline for his double.

Nel failed to add the extras and the score remained 12-10.


Just before the 20th minute, SWD extended their lead.  Fullback Darryn Fortuin's break got the side in EP's five, he passed to David Meiring but the lock was just inches short. The side recycled the ball inside the red zone and shifted the ball out wide to Curtley Scheepers, who wiggled his way over the line for a try, 17-10.

Nel again made no mistake to slot over a magnificent stroke from the touch, 19-10.

Just before the break, EP had an opportunity to narrow the deficit, but Le Roux's goal-kick attempt was well short.

Unfortunate for the EP,  SWD continued to dominate proceedings after the break. And quick passes inside the 22 resulted in Hanu Heunis eventually bursting over the line, 24-10.


EP gradually started to gain momentum and finally look liked a real threat. They managed to break through the SWD's thick defence and almost had a five-pointer, but unlucky for them Sachin Toring was denied by the hard-working Scheepers' boot on the try-line.

Already inside the last third of the match, the fixture never lost its intensity with big hits and devastating steps. And shortly SWD added to their tally with a successful penalty by Fortuin, 27-10.  

The drama unfolded for the SWD side as the game drew to a close. They were reduced to 13 men and conceded two tries in the final 10 minutes.

SWD's try scorer Dian Bleuler turned villain when he was shown a yellow card for repeat infringements.

The prop's absence was immediately felt as cracks in the  SWD's defence started to appear. Which was good news for EP who finally registered their first points of the second half. A nice set-piece play from the scrum sent Waqar Solaan on his way for a try. Le Roux added the extras to narrow the deficit to just 10 points.

With just one minute left on the clock, SWD  again found themselves a man short this time, Darryn Fortuin was given a yellow card for a high tackle.

SWD saw they lead narrow to just four points courtesy of Juandré Sabbat's try.

With just four points to chase the EP fancied their chances, however, their potential comeback was beaten by the clock and SWD got home safely.  

The scorers:

For SWD:

Tries: Dian Bleuler 2, Curtley Scheepers, Hanu Heunis

Cons: JayCee Nel 2

Pen: Darryn Fortuin

For Eastern Province:

Tries: Rodwell Baatjies, Juandré Sabbat , Waqar Solaan

Cons: Dylan Le Roux 2

Pen: Dylan le roux

Yellow cards: Dian Bleuler (SWD, 59 – Repeat infringement), Darryn Fortuin (SWD, 69 – High tackle)

South Western Districts: 15 Darryn Fortuin (Outeniqua), 14 Curtley Scheepers (PW Botha), 13 Emilio Otto (Outeniqua), 12 Jaycee Nel (Oakdale), 11 Dillon Pieterse (Outeniqua), 10 Clyde Lewis (Oakdale), 9 Lian Du Toit (Oakdale), 8 Ruben Coetzee (Outeniqua), 7 Curtley Scheepers (PW Botha), 6 Sibuso Vilani (York), 5 Dawid Meiring (Outeniqua), 4 Daniel van der Berg (Oakdale), 3 Robin West (Oudtshoorn), 2 SP Kleynhans (Oakdale), 1 Dian Bleuler (Oakdale), 16 Keano Hendricks (Oakdale), 17 Nicolai Weber (Oakdale), 19 Abraham van Huysteen (Outeniqua), 20 Hanu Heunis (Oakdale), 21 Joaquin Taure (Oakdale), 22 James Molentze (Outeniqua), 23 Sylvester Hassien (Outeniqua)  

Eastern Province: 15 Dylan le Roux (Daniël Pienaar), 14 Dean Jordan (Die Brandwag), 13 Ayabonga Matroos (Grey High), 12 Waqar Solaan (Grey High), 11 Juandré Sabbat (Die Brandwag), 10 Rodwell Baatjies (Pearson High), 9 Sachin Toring (Daniël Pienaar), 8 Elandré Smit (Die Brandwag), 7 Hendrik du Toit (Nico Malan), 6 Bevan Rudi Prinsloo (Grey High), 5 Zane Barnard (Die Brandwag), 4 Lacken Gray (Grey High), 3 Le-Kleu Stokes (Die Brandwag), 2 Ruan Jonker (Grey High), 1 Elmar Eldon (Die Brandwag), 16 Viaan Wolmarans (Framesby), 17 John Douglas Allison (Grey High), 18 Janu Fourie (Nico Malan), 19 Dumisa Ngcivana (Grey High), 20 Desmick Kleinbooi (Framesby), 21 Chad Adams (Die Brandwag), 22 Uan Tait (Grey High), 23 Kholiwe Konza (Grey High).

Referee: Aimee Barrett-Theron

Assistant referees: Mpho Matsaung, Stephan Geldenhuys

Assessor: Jacques Hugo


PV: 4
SWD soar over EP | Rugby365