Mon 17 Jul 2017 | 01:28

WP just too good for Pumas

WP just too good for Pumas
Mon 17 Jul 2017 | 01:28
WP just too good for Pumas

Tries from Vian Fourie, Christaan Rossouw, Dawid Kellerman, Janko Swanepoel and Gerado Jaars proved too much for the Pumas, who only managed to produce one try by Prince Nkabinde.

Surprisingly, Pumas took the early lead thanks to a successful penalty by Stephan Van der Bank, 3-0 after just five minutes of play.

But Western Province hit back immediately and took the lead. WP's backline got them in Pumas' five metre line, and after two phases scrumhalf Jaars tried to break through but was just inches short. Eventually, flank Vian Fourie got over the line. The flank made full use of his strength to hand his side a 5-3 lead after eight minutes of play.

Pumas immediately countered and almost got rewarded, however, Prince Nkabinde lost the ball forward on the try-line and the score remained in WP's favour.

The opening minutes was entertaining, both sides opted to play play an attacking brand of attacking rugby, however, on the 25th minute Western Province took control of proceedings and extended their lead thanks to a try by Christiaan Rossow. Duran Hoffman took over the kicking duties and added the extras, 12-3.

Before the break, the Cape Town side again visited the Pumas' try-line, this time centre Dawid Kellerman dotted down for the points. Hoffman added the extras, 19-3.

WP continued their dominance in the second half.  In the opening minutes of the restart, they won a line-out and made some metres with the rolling maul.

The WP's forwards were eventually halted, however, Jaars opted to feed the backline, which proved to be fruitful as the skilful fullback Muller Du Plessis wiggled his way through a gap and went over in the corner.  Hoffman failed to add the extras and the score remained 24-3.

With 40 minutes on the clock and trailing by 21 points, Pumas' woes increased when prop Banele Mthenjane was given yellow card for a high tackle.

Pumas seemed to handle the yellow card situation well up and until Jaars' ripped which shifted possession to WP inside the Pumas' 5 metre. After seriesof phases and strong carries, the tall timber Janko Swanepoel went over for WP's fifth try in the 45th minute. 

Western Province kept the intensity and soon found themselves in Pumas' 22. Great interchanging play by the centre pair of Angelo Davids and Dawid Kellerman resulted in Jaars' try, 36-3.  

It took 55 minutes for Pumas to finally break WP's defence, and it was non-other than Prince Nkabinde. The right wing went past two defenders and cut inside to score near the post. Van der Bank added the extras to get his side into double figures, 10-36.

Minutes later, Nkabinde could have had his second try, however, his own inability to hold onto the ball once again denied him the points.

Pumas ended the game in much better form but their surge proved a little too late.   

The scorers:

For Western Province:
Vian Fourie, Christaan Rossouw, Dawid Kellerman, Janko Swanepoel, Gerado Jaars
Cons:  Duren Hoffman 3

For Pumas:
Try: Prince Nkabinde
Con: Stephan van der Bank
Pen: Stephan van der Bank

Yellow card: Banele Mthenjane (Pumas, 40 – high tackle)

Western Province: 15 Muller du Plessis (Paarl Gim), 14 Angelo Davids (Stellenberg), 13 Dawid Kellerman (Paarl Gim), 12 Rufus Dercksen (Paul Roos), 11 Thaakir Abrahams (Paarl Boys' High), 10 Quan Franklin Eymann (Brackenfell High), 9 Vusile Dlepu (SACS), 8 Francke Horn (Paarl Boys' High), 7 Joachim Martins (Paarl Gim), 6 Vian Fourie (Paarl Boys' High), 5 Adrian Alberts (Paarl Boys' High), 4 Ian Kitwanga (Parklands), 3 Tristan Leitch (Paul Roos), 2 Joshua Muller (Stellenberg), 1 Hugo Pienaar (Paarl Gim), 16 Christaan Rossouw (Paarl Gim), 17 Alexander Mbete (Paul Roos), 18 Joshua du Preez (Paarl Boys' High), 19 Janko Swanepoel (Stellenberg), 20 Sujai Ikemefuna (SACS), 21 Gerado Jaars (Paul Roos), 22 Mogamat Karriem (Leadership), 23 Duren Hoffman (Boland Landbou).

Pumas: 15 Coenraad Visser (Middelburg), 14 Tshepo Malumane (Baberton), 13 Siphesihle Mthethwa, 12 Riekert Barnard (Middelburg), 11 Damian Losper (Hoogenhout), 10 Stephan van der Bank (Nelspruit), 9 Joao Cristovam (Nelspruit), 8 Calvin Clack (Ligbron), 7 Renier Troskie (Nelspruit), 6 Bongumenzi Dlamini (Piet Retief), 5 Marius Slabbert (Nelspruit), 4 Sibusiso Madonsela (Piet Retief), 3 Wian Otto (Nelspruit), 2 SP Muller (Nelspruit), 1 Banele Mthenjane (Nelspruit), 16 Duart Willemse (Middelburg), 17 Nkosinathi Mthetwa (Piet Retief), 18 Gerald van Eeden (Nelspruit), 19 Lindelani Makhanya (Piet Retief), 20 Tiaan de Beer (Middelburg), 21 Uys de Preez (Middelburg), 22 Thabiso Mkwabane (Ermelo), 23 Prince Nkabinde (Hoogenhout).

Referee: Eduan Nel 
Assistant referees: Divan Uys, Johre Botha 
Assessor: Jacques Hugo

PV: 57

Wp Just Too Good For Pumas | Rugby365