Fri 19 Jul 2019 | 01:47

A Paarl Derby

A Paarl Derby
Fri 19 Jul 2019 | 01:47
A Paarl Derby

There are three Paarl Schools that have earned rugby respect throughout South Africa – Paarl Boys’ High, Paarl Gim and Boland Landbou. Two of those schools meet when Boys’ High play host to Landbou.

Both schools are ranked in the Top 20 of South Africa’s rugby schools in 2019 – Boys’ High third and Landbou, who have been erratic, 19th.

Season So Far

Boys’ High have played 11 matches, including six against other Top 20 teams. They have won nine matches, drawn one and lost one. The defeat was against mighty Grey Bloem.

Landbou have played 11 matches as well, five against other Top 20 sides. They have won seven matches and lost four.

Results Against Common Opponents

Bishops: Boys’ High won 41-23; Landbou lost 53-19
Helpmekaar: Boys’ High drew 20-20; Landbou lost 64-17
*Those are Landbou’s worst results so far.


The players of both schools are eligible for Western Province schools teams. This year Western Province had two teams at the Craven Week in Bloemfontein, probably the best two teams at the week.

Craven Week Representation

Paarl Boys’ High: Tyler Bock, Quan Horn, Angelo Osch, Rhynhardt Rijnsburger, Jacques Rousseau, Gideon van Wyk, Allister Williams, Javier Farmer, Kian Meadon, Stass Nel

Boland Landbou: Marco de Witt, Jacques Mostert

SA Schools Representation

Two teams were chosen to represent SA Schools in August against Argentina, England, France and Wales.

SA Schools

Paarl Boys’ High: Tyler Bocks, Kean Meadon, Gideon van Wyk

SA Schools A

Paarl Boys’ High: Jacques Rossouw, Quan Horn, Rynhardt Rijnsburger


Paarl Boys’ High: 15 Jacques Rousseau, 14 Angelo Osch, 13 Quan Horn, 12 Tyler Bocks, 11 Javier Farmer, 10 Kian Meadon, 9 Wian van der Sandt, 8 Gideon van Wyk, 7 Eon van den Berg, 6 Stass Nel, 5 Niel Venter, 4 Evan Roode, 3 Sebastian Lombard, 2 Allister Williams, 1 Rhynardt Rijnsburger

Boland Landbou: 15 Boeta Moolman, 14 Tarique Petersen, 13 Canan Moodie, 12 CJ Snyman, 11 Hentie Fourie, 10 Keanan Wentzel, 9 Jacques Theron, 8 Stefan Nortje, 7 Corne Smith, Reinardt Spies (captain), 5 Marco de Witt, 4 Jaunu Olivier, 3 Henri van der Westhuizen, 2 Tehan du Plessis, 1 Hen-Ko Smuts

Rugby Programme – 20 July 2019

A – Veld
08.00: 4th XV
09.10: Under-14A
10.20: 3rd XV
11.30: 2nd XV
12.40: 1st XV

B – Veld
08.30: 7th XV
09.30: 5th XV
10.40: Under-15A
11.40: Under-16A

C – Veld
08.20: Under-16C
09.30: Under-16B
10.40: Under-16E vs Dennegeur
11.40: 6th XV vs Dennegeur

D – Veld
08.30: Under-14E vs Landbou D
09.30: Under-14D vs Dennegeur
10.30: Under-14C
11.30: Under-14B

E – Veld
08.30: Under-15B
09.30: Under-15D
10.30: Under-15C vs Dennegeur
11.40: Under-16F vs Van der Stel

PV: 779

A Paarl Derby | Rugby365