RugbyPass Match Centre
Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
Sun 21 Jul 2019 | 12:41

Another Huge Win for Grey Bloem

Another Huge Win for Grey Bloem
Sun 21 Jul 2019 | 12:41
Another Huge Win for Grey Bloem

On their field burnt brown by frost, Grey College beat the visiting Grey High from Port Elizabeth 58-0 on Saturday afternoon, completing a hat-trick of big wins after 73-10 in 2017 and 63-8 in Port Elizabeth last year.


In his speech, the visibly disappointed Grey PE captain, Theo Repinz,  referred to Grey Bloem as the best schoolboy team in the world.

That may well be the case but in the first half the PE side stood up really well and at half-time the score was 12-0.

Grey PE started the second half playing better rugby than they did in the first half till Grey Bloem’s first try of the half after which they scored 46 points in 30 minutes.

Grey PE had tackled well but then a missed tackle saw speedster Ian Small-Smith, captain for the day, break past his tackler and sprint 61 metres to score. It may have been the appearance off the bench of captain George Cronjé that was the catalyst and it may have been the next try that broke the visitors’ resistance.

For that try, massive Jan-Hendrik Wessels, a prop playing lock on the day, picked up at a tackle and away he pounded, all 115 kg of him, 62 metres to score. That made it 22-0 and in the next 20 minutes, Grey Bloem piled on the points.

In the first half Grey Bloem scored two tries as Grey PE tackled with a will. The first came when they went wide left from a lineout and big, fast wing Marcell Muller had an overlap and scored.


Grey Bloem missed a penalty kick at goal and Grey PE dropped out far into Bloem territory. Suddenly scrumhalf Tiaan Fourie went racing through a gap and into empty space. Challenged he gave to hooker André-Hugo Venter who raced over for a try over the posts. 12-0 after 21 minutes, the half-time score.

Then came the Small-Smith lightning score and Wessels’s thunderous score.

After that, the tries came thick and fast. Four minutes later, Venter scored his second and from the kick-off Muller got his second, and the score was 34-0 and racing away from the visitors.

Interpassing amongst the forwards and backs ended when massive Wessels sold a dummy and scored. 41-0 with 11 minutes to play.


Grey PE had a go at the Bloem line and lost the ball in a tackle.

In the last three minutes, Bloem scored 17 points with tries by fullback Franco Knoetze, flyhalf FC du Plessis after a speedy break by centre Lesley Botha and at the end Muller’s hat-trick try after interpassing by backs and forwards.


For Grey Bloem:
Tries: Marcell Muller 3, André-Hugo Venter 2, Ian Small-Smith, Jan Hendrik Wessels 2, Franco Knoetze, FC du Plessis
Cons: FC du Plessis 4


Grey Bloem: 15 Franco Knoetze, 14 Marcell Muller, 13 Ian Small-Smith, 12 Lesley Botha, 11 JD Odendal, 10 FC du Plessis, 9 Tiaan Fourie, 8 Janco Cloete, 7 Sisonke Vumazonke, 6 Deon le Roux, 5 Hendré Kramer, 4 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 3 Petrus Naudé, 2 André-Hugo Venter, 1 Diaan Hattingh

Grey PE: 15 Kai van Kampen, 14 Jared Kirsten, 13 Liyema Matyolweni, 12 Leo Wolf, 11 Bulumko Ntuthu, 10 Matthew Easton, 9 Hlumelo Klaas, 8 Theo Repinz (captain), 7 Dylan Halgreen, 6 Damon Royle, 5 Keagan van Niekerk, 4 Dumisa Ngcivana, 3 Marco Nortjé, 2 Nathan Doster, 1 Daniel Wolf

Grey vs Grey Down the Years

1929: Grey Bloem won 16-0
1930: Grey Bloem won 9-7
1953: Grey Bloem won 13-3
1963: Draw 8-8
1968: Draw 5-5
1972: Grey Bloem won
1973: Draw
1976: Grey Port Elizabeth won 13-12
1977: Grey Bloem won 21-18
1978: Grey Port Elizabeth won 19-17
1979: Grey Bloem won 28-6
1980: Grey Bloem won 24-12
1981: Grey Bloem won 30-7
1982: Grey Bloem won 27-9
1983: Grey Bloem won 30-3
1984: Grey Port Elizabeth won 18-10
1985: Grey Bloem won 41-12
1986: Grey Bloem won 26-6
1987: Grey Bloem won 57-0
1988: Grey Bloem won 16-9
1989: Grey Bloem won 39-17
1990: Draw 6-6
1991: Grey Bloem won 32-7
1992: Grey Port Elizabeth won 20-16
1993: Grey Bloem won 38-3
1994: Grey Port Elizabeth won 18-10
1995: Grey Bloem won 38-10
1996: Grey Port Elizabeth won 13-3
1997: Grey Bloem won 23-13
1998: Grey Bloem won 10-3
1999: Grey Bloem won 39-6
2000: Grey Bloem won 31-6
2001: Grey Bloem won 18-15
2002: Grey Bloem won 41-3
2003: Grey Bloem won 51-6
2004: Grey Port Elizabeth won 17-14
2005: Grey Bloem won 22-16
2006: Grey Bloem won 34-21
2007: Grey Bloem won 44-26
2008: Grey Bloem won 22-17
2009: Grey Bloem won 16-0
2010: Grey Bloem won 38-8
2011: Grey Bloem won 69-21
2012: Grey Bloem won 22-3
2013: Grey Bloem won 50-21
2014: Grey Port Elizabeth won 27-20
2015: Grey Bloem won 34-22
2016: Grey Bloem won 33-7
2017: Grey Bloem won 73-10
2018: Grey Bloem won 63-8
2019: Grey Bloem won 58-0

PV: 128
Another Huge Win for Grey Bloem | Rugby365