Sat 28 Jul 2018 | 07:31

Bloem beat PE substantially

Bloem beat PE substantially
Sat 28 Jul 2018 | 07:31
Bloem beat PE substantially

Grey College went down from Bloemfontein to play their namesakes Grey High in a series of matches.

The 1st XV match again produced a big win for Grey Bloem – 63-8, following the record 73-10 of 2017. This is Grey Bloem’s biggest win in Port Elizabeth where the sun shone and the wind was a breeze.

Grey Bloem kicked off, won the ball and attacked but knocked on bashing at the line and Matthew Easton cleared. But from a line-out on the right, Grey Port Elizabeth were penalised, lock George Cronjé tapped and charged at the line. Grey Bloem went wide and SA Schools centre Wyclef Vlitoor scored in the left corner. 7-0 after just four minutes.

Grey Port Elizabeth attacked down the left where nippy, fast Enrique Franks was tackled into touch. Grey Port Elizabeth were attacking, Grey Bloem were penalised and Easton goaled. 7-3 after 8 minutes. But that is as good as it got for the home side.

Captain WJ Steenkamp had a strong run, Zander du Plessis broke and prop Jan-Hendrik Wessels scored the first of his tries.

Liyema Matyolweni broke and put Grey Port Elizabeth on the attack but near the goal-line, De Wet Marais, whose carrying of the ball is spectacular, won a turnover and the next thing Ian Smith was racing over 50 metres to score.

Grey Port Elizabeth had a great period of attack after a sharp, fast long break by inside centre LJ du Preez which could well have brought a try but instead it was Grey Bloem’s flyhalf Du Plessis who used clever footwork to score. That made it 28-3 at the break, and writing on the wall was large and clear.

Grey Port Elizabeth kicked off and De Wet Marais caught the ball and went racing away, creating a second try for Small-Smith.

Grey Bloem peeled off a five-metre line-out and prop Herman Agenbag gave to prop Wessels, who scored at the posts. Vlitoor was next to get a double when, from the kickoff, Grey Port Elizabeth were penalised, Grey Bloem tapped and Vlitoor scored. Substitute Werner Gouws scored Grey Bloem’s last try from a five-metre scrum, and Grey Bloem had scored 21 points in six minutes,

With less than two minutes to go Grey Bloem lost a player to the sin bin. Grey Port Elizabeth attacked, Easton dummied, accelerated and scored and after the conversion attempt the final whistle ended the match.


For Grey Bloem:
Tries: Wyclef Vlitoor 2, Andre-Hugo Venter, Ian Small-Smith 2, Zander du Plessis, Jan-Hendrik Wessels 2, Werner Gouys
Cons: Zander du Plessis 4, Franco Smith 5

For Grey PE:
Try: Matthew Easton
Pen: Matthew Easton

NB We have used Grey PE and Grey Bloem only because they are the clearest way to distinguish between the two teams – Grey High School and Grey College.


Grey High: 15 Runaldo Pedro, 14 Joshua Oosthuizen, 13 Liyema Matyolweni, 12 LJ du Preez, 11 Enrique Franks, 10 Matthew Easton, 9 Hlumelo Klaas, 8 Theo Repinz, 7 Joe Lyons, 6 Yolisa Dladla, 5 Zach Toerien, 4 Laken Gray, 3 Marco Nortjé, 2 Corné Slabbert, 1 Warwick Griffin

Grey College: 15 Richard Kriel, 14 Ian Small-Smith, 13 Wyclef Vlitoor, 12 Franco Smith, 11 Lesley Botha, 10 Zander du Plessis, 9 Ross Braude, 8 WJ Steenkamp, 7 De Wet Marais, 6 Raynardo Gouveia, 5 Danwich Beukes, 4 George Cronje, 3 Herman Agenbag, 2 Andre-Hugo Venter, 1 Jan-Hendrik Wessels

Referee: Phumzile Mbewu (Port Elizabeth Referees’ Society)
Assistant referees: Luyolo Keli (Port Elizabeth Referees’ Society), Xander Slabbert (Port Elizabeth Referees’ Society)

Results Down the Years

1929: Grey Bloem won 16-0
1930: Grey Bloem won 9-7
1953: Grey Bloem won 13-3
1963: Draw 8-8
1968: Draw 5-5
1972: Grey Bloem won
1973: Draw
1976: Grey PE won 13-12
1977: Grey Bloem won 21-18
1978: Grey PE won 19-17
1979: Grey Bloem won 28-6
1980: Grey Bloem won 24-12
1981: Grey Bloem won 30-7
1982: Grey Bloem won 27-9
1983: Grey Bloem won 30-3
1984: Grey PE won 18-10
1985: Grey Bloem won 41-12
1986: Grey Bloem won 26-6
1987: Grey Bloem won 57-0
1988: Grey Bloem won 16-9
1989: Grey Bloem won 39-17
1990: Draw 6-6
1991: Grey Bloem won 32-7
1992: Grey PE won 20-16
1993: Grey Bloem won 38-3
1994: Grey PE won 18-10
1995: Grey Bloem won 38-10
1996: Grey PE won 13-3
1997: Grey Bloem won 23-13
1998: Grey Bloem won 10-3
1999: Grey Bloem won 39-6
2000: Grey Bloem won 31-6
2001: Grey Bloem won 18-15
2002: Grey Bloem won 41-3
2003: Grey Bloem won 51-6
2004: Grey PE won 17-14
2005: Grey Bloem won 22-16
2006: Grey Bloem won 34-21
2007: Grey Bloem won 44-26
2008: Grey Bloem won 22-17
2009: Grey Bloem won 16-0
2010: Grey Bloem won 38-8
2011: Grey Bloem won 69-21
2012: Grey Bloem won 22-3
2013: Grey Bloem won 50-21
2014: Grey PE won 27-20
2015: Grey Bloem won 34-22
2016: Grey Bloem won 33-7
2017: Grey Bloem won 73-10
2018: Grey Bloem won 63-8

PV: 576

Bloem Beat Pe Substantially | Rugby365