Fri 12 Jul 2019 | 06:15

Booishaai Backlash?

Booishaai Backlash?
Fri 12 Jul 2019 | 06:15
Booishaai Backlash?

Paarl Boys’ High is a proud rugby school. Being proud means it does not take losing easily, and last year, on 21 July, Oakdale came to Paarl and on Paarl Boys’ High’s home ground beat the proud school 47-29, and travelled home happy.

This weekend Paarl Boys’ High will travel the pleasant 260 km from Paarl to Riversdale in tight determination to restore pride in the Blue and White.

Both sides are having good seasons, but Boys’ High’s is better. Last year they were ranked fifth on the Top 20, Oakdale sixth. This year Boys’ High are ranked third and Oakdale are in the small group just below the Top 20 – and Oakdale have homeground advantage.

Season So Far

Oakdale have played nine matches, winning five and losing four. The four that they lost are all Top 20 sides.

Boys’ High have played 11 matches, winning nine, drawing with Helpmekaar and losing only to Grey College. They beat four Top 20 sides.

Results Against Common Opponents

Drostdy: Oakdale won 42-20; Boys’ High won 64-3
Outeniqua: Oakdale lost 23-17; Boys’ High won 34-26


Oakdale players are eligible for South Western Districts, Boys’ High’s for Western Province who had two teams at the Craven Week..

Both teams did well in Craven Week, Western Province winning the main match on the last day and South Western Districts chosen to play the second last match which they lost to the Western Province XV.

Craven Week Players

Oakdale: Janus Ferreira, Neil Francis, Malcolm Joseph, Vernon Paulo, Corné Rahl, Timo Singe, Alwich van der Linde, Hendrik Victor

Boys’ High: Tyler Bock, Quan Horn, Angelo Osch, Rhynhardt Rijnsburger, Jacques Rousseau, Gideon van Wyk, Allister Williams, Javier Farmer, Kian Meadon, Stass Nel


Oakdale: 15 Janco Goosen, 14 Keaton Bush, 13 Creflo Witbooi, 12 Alwich van der Linde, 11 Elkan Willemse, 10 Hendrik Victor, 9 Nico Pietersen, 8 Gerbrandt Conradie, 7 Sybrand van Dyk, 6 Janus Ferreira, 5 Corné Rahl, 4 Gustav Smit, 3 Neil Francis, 2 Herman Otto, 1 Petri Steyn

Paarl Boys’ High: 15 Jacques Rousseau, 14 Angelo Osch, 13 Quan Horn, 12 Tyler Bocks, 11 Javier Farmer, 10 Kian Meadon, 9 Wian van der Sandt, 8 Gideon van Wyk, 7 Eon van den Berg, 6 Stass Nel, 5 Niel Venter, 4 Evan Roode, 3 Sebastian Lombard, 2 Allister Williams, 1 Rhynardt Rijnsburger (captain)

Date: Saturday, 13 July 2019
1st XV kick-off: 13.00
Venue: De Eike Field at Hoer Landbouskool Oakdale
Live broadcast: DiGitv
Expected weather conditions: Partly cloudy with a high of 19°C and a low of 6°C

PV: 4916

Booishaai Backlash? | Rugby365