Wed 12 Jun 2013 | 08:46

FNB Top 20 - 11 June 2013

FNB Top 20 - 11 June 2013
Wed 12 Jun 2013 | 08:46
FNB Top 20 - 11 June 2013

There is history of our own making in this week's FNB Top 20. For the first time in 15 years we have no changes to the Top 20 this week.

Many schools are not playing, because of exams or because of Craven Week preparations. In some cases their rugby season has ended.

In keeping with our policy of rewarding those playing – and taking a risk – we sought to reward the teams that played and examined all those who played as candidates for promotion – Dr EG Jansen, Paarl Boys' High, Waterkloof, HTS Middelburg, Westville, Grey High, St Andrew's and Centurion.

After going through their present positions and looking at those above them, we felt that none had a case to be promoted above those above them.

Paarl Gim drew but the three below them did not play. Dr EG Jansen, Paarl Boys' and Waterkloof played.

The best candidates for promotion were EG Jansen and Paarl Boys' High but did not seem that they deserved promotion above Grey College.

There was debate about the relative merits of Nelspruit and HTS Middelburg but in the end we left them, too, where they were. The Rooibulle may just have been the team most deserving of promotion.

Westville beat George Campbell, Glenwood beat Northwood, Grey High beat Itembelihle and Centurion beat Montana of Pretoria. None of these results was significant enough for promotion.

St Andrew's draw with Selborne did not warrant demotion below two teams that did not play.

But we have brought Oakdale into the group just below the Top 20 for their draw with Paarl Gim at Paarl.

We shall leave the Top 20 in abeyance till the third term.

FNB Top 20 – 11 June 2013

1. Paarl Gim

2. Affies

3. Outeniqua

4. Grey College of Bloemfontein

5. Dr EG Jansen

6. Paarl Boys' High

7. Waterkloof

8. Garsfontein

9. Nelspruit

10. HTS Middelburg

11. Monument

12. Westville

13. Die Brandwag

14. Marlow

15. Glenwood

16. Grey High of Port Elizabeth

17. St Andrew's College of Grahamstown

18.  Kearsney

19. Paul Roos

20. Centurion

Other teams strongly considered were Boland Landbou, Drostdy, Framesby, Kempton Park, Noord-Kaap, Oakdale, Pretoria Boys High, Rondebosch, Selborne and Transvalia


PV: 13