Tue 4 Sep 2012 | 09:22

FNB Top 20 - 4 September 2012

FNB Top 20 - 4 September 2012
Tue 4 Sep 2012 | 09:22
FNB Top 20 - 4 September 2012

This is the final FNB Top 20 for the 2012, and the team we have ranked top is Paarl Boys' High After years of Grey College dominance, there is a new team at the top.

For Paarl Boys' High this is a new happening.

Our first FNB Top 20 was on 17 April 2012, the last on 28 August 2012. There were 14 in all. Schools which appeared on the FNB Top 20 are Affies, Bethlehem Voortrekker, Boland Landbou, Centurion, Dale, Daniël Pienaar, Diamantveld, Drostdy, EG Jansen, Framesby, Garsfontein, Glenwood, Grey College of Bloemfontein, Grey High of Port Elizabeth, Kearsney, Kempton Park, KES, Maritzburg College, Michaelhouse, Nelspruit Noord-Kaap, Oakdale, Outeniqua, Paarl Boys' High, Paarl Gim, Paul Roos, Queen's, SACS, Waterkloof and Wynberg. That is 30 teams in all. Not one of these schools was unbeaten.

To draw up this one we started with a blank sheet and did not look at placings during the year. Instead of the weekly changes which are affected by that week's results, we took the year as a whole, taking into account results and the calibre of opposition.

Three people performed the arduous task and it is unlikely that any one of the three would have made the eventual composition of the Top 20 on his own. It would be much easier if there had been fewer outstanding rugby schools in South Africa and there are several top teams that have just dropped off.

Let's say again, by way of a caveat, what we have been saying at the start of each Top 20 for 14 years: this is not at all absolute. One has just to give a moment's thought to realise that no absolute Top 20 is possible, no matter what method we use. But it does produce extra interest in schools rugby by providing lots of discussion, as the selection of teams always does.

FNB Top 20 – 28 August 2012

1. Paarl Boys' High

2. Affies

3. Paarl Gim

4. Grey College of Bloemfontein

5. Outeniqua

6. Waterkloof

7. Noord-Kaap

8. Paul Roos

9. Dale

10. Centurion

11. Daniël Pienaar

12. KES

13. Boland Landbou

14. Michaelhouse

15. Drostdy

16. Wynberg

17. Grey High of Port Elizabeth

18. Dr EG Jansen

19. Kearsney

20. Framesby

Those desperately unlucky not to be on the Top 20 are Garsfontein, Glenwood, Kempton Park, Maritzburg College. Oakdale and Queen's College.

PV: 14