Fri 16 Aug 2019 | 02:55

Grey Back in Stellenbosch

Grey Back in Stellenbosch
Fri 16 Aug 2019 | 02:55
Grey Back in Stellenbosch

Two of South Africa’s top schools teams, Grey College of Bloemfontein and Paul Roos Gymnasium of Stellenbosch, meet in a Premier Interschools match in Stellenbosch on Saturday as they both drop the curtain on the 2019 season. It is always a grand match and more often than not a close thriller.


Both sides will be without players who are doing duty for South African Schools in Wellington. Of course, it’s a pity that the teams are not at full strength but that is common enough in rugby. The Springboks play this Saturday with players who could be playing for their Currie Cup teams who are thus “weakened”.

Victory for Grey College would pout the seal on a glorious season – unbeaten this year and ranked No.1 on the Schools Top 20. Paul Roos are not far off the pace in fourth spot. And Paul Roos have homeground advantage as Grey come down from the dry, hard, frost-burnt ground in Bloemfontein to the soft, muddy ground of Stellenbosch.

Season So Far

Paul Roos have played 15 matches, winning 13 and losing two. They played against five other Top 20 teams.
Grey College played 16 matches, winning all 16. They played against nine teams ranked in the Top 20.

Paul Roos won the Sanix Youth tournament in Japan.

Results Against Common Opponents


Grey High: Paul Roos won 24-18; Grey won 58-0
Paarl Boys’ High: Paul Roos lost; Grey won 43-24
Paarl Gim: Paul Roos lost 42-15; Grey won 47-33


Paul Roos players are eligible to play for Western Province’s schools teams, Grey for Free State’s.

Western Province had two teams at Craven Week in 2019.


Craven Week Representatives

Paul Roos: Dylan De Leeuw, Robbie Rodgers, Kade Wolhuter, Jarred Cairns, Cade Croy, Corné Weilbach

Grey College: André-Hugo Venter, Tielman Nieuwoudt, Tiaan Jonker, Deon le Roux, Sisonke Vumazonke, George Cronjé, Juan-Dee Olivier, FC du Plessis, Paschal Ekeji, Lesley Botha, Ian Small-Smith, Katleho Chabane, Sonwabo Soyeki, Ricardo Fourie, Kian Fransman, Jan-Hendrik Wessels

South African Schools

SA Schools selected two teams to take part in international competition with the Under-18 teams of Argentina, England, France and Wales.

SA Schools Representation

Two Paul Roos players, who were outstanding at Craven Week, were apparently not considered for SA Schools because they have signed contracts to join Montpellier in France when they leave school. They are flyhalf Kade Wolhuter and prop Robbie Rodgers.

Paul Roos: Dylan de Leeuw, Jarod Cairns

Grey College: George Cronjé, Jan-Hendrik Wessels, André-Hugo Venter, Sonwabo Sokoyi, Sisonke Vumazonke


Paul Roos: 15 Cade Croy, 14 Ronin Daniels, 13 Luke Burger, 12 Ruben Labuschagne, 11 Andrew Pegg, 10 Kade Wolhuter, 9 Xander Botha, 8 André Smit, 7 Calvyn Louis, 6 Arno Heenop, 5 Andreas Wild, 4 Daniel Swart, 3 Corné Weilbach, 2 Meiring Ebersȍhn, 1 Paul Spangenberg

Grey College: 15 Franco Knoetze, 14 JD Odendal, 13 Ian Small-Smith, 12 Lesley Botha, 11 Marcell Muller, 10 FC Du Plessis, 9 Juan Dee Oliver, 8 Janco Cloete, 7 Deon Le Roux, 6 Duan Ludik, 5 Danwich Beukes, 4 Hendré Kramer, 3 Petrus Naudé, 2 Ricardo Fourie, 1 Tielman Nieuwoudt
Coaches: W du Plessis, H Muller

Date: 17 August 2019
1st XV kick-off: 14.00
Live television broadcast: SuperSport channel 210
Venue: Markötter Field, Stellenbosch
Expected weather conditions: Sunny with a high of 23°C and a low of 12°C
Referee: Nathan Swartz (Western Province Referees’ Society)

Rugby Programme – Saturday, 17 August 2019

Main Field
09.00: 4th XV
10.10: Under-16A
11.20: 3rd XV
12.30: 2nd XV
14.00: 1st XV

08.00: Under-16B
09.10: Under-16C
10.20: Under-16E
11.30: Under-16D

08.00: 8th XV
09.10: 6th XV
10.20: 7th XV
11.30: 5th XV

08.00: Under-14D
09.10: Under-14A
10.20: Under-14C
11.30: Under-14B

08.00: Under-15D
09.10: Under-15C
10.20: Under-15B
11.30: Under-15A

10.20: Under-15E
11.30: Under-14E

Paul Roos vs Grey College Down the Years

1967: Grey won 22-3
1974: Grey won 24-0
1977: Grey won 20-10
1988: Grey won 16-9
1989: Grey won 28-7
1990: Grey won 17-9
1991: Paul Roos won 20-3
1992: Grey won 20-6
1993: Paul Roos won 27-4
1994: Paul Roos won 31-29
1995: Grey won 21-10
1996: Grey won 18-10
1997: Paul Roos won 12-8
1998: Grey won 23-15
1999: Grey won 29-26
2000: Grey won 42-13
2001: Grey won 15-6
2002: Grey won 19-8
2003: Grey won 18-17
2004: Grey won 24-23 and Paul Roos won 21-18
2005: Grey won 16-11
2006: Paul Roos won 16-11
2007: Grey won 40-14
2008: Grey won 47-15
2009: Paul Roos won 9-3
2010: Grey won 41-29
2011: Grey won 36-35
2012: Grey won 33-23
2013: Grey won 40-8
2014: Grey won 25-20
2015: Paul Roos won 19-12
2016: Grey won 34-32
2017: Grey won 30-28
2018: Grey won 28-26

PV: 27