Wed 3 Oct 2018 | 03:37

Schools 7s Championship Starts

Schools 7s Championship Starts
Wed 3 Oct 2018 | 03:37
Schools 7s Championship Starts

Fifteen schools are taking part in the School Sevens Championship to take place at the Pirates RFC in Greenside, Johannesburg, from 5 to 6 October 2018.

The fifteen schools are the Sevens champions of the 14 provinces plus the champions of Limpopo. They have emerged as top schools from the roughly 260 schools which took part in a weekly series.

The schools are divided into four pools. The top two teams in each group qualify for the quarterfinals.

Teams & Pools

Pool A: Paul Roos (Western Province), HTS Middelburg (Pumas), Daniël Pienaar (Eastern Province), Pietersburg (Limpopo)
Pool B: Grey College (Cheetahs), Drostdy (Boland), Noord-Kaap (Griquas), Grens (Border)
Pool C: Glenwood (Sharks), Lichtenburg (Leopards), Hentie Cilliers (Griffons), Birchleigh (Valke)
Pool D: Oakdale (South Western Districts), Oos-Moot (Blue Bulls), Randburg (Golden Lions)
*So that all teams going into the quarterfinals will have played the same number of matches, the two teams topping Pool D play each other at the end of Day 1.

Like many Sevens tournaments, this promises to be a great party with fun for young and old.

Fixtures, Day 1

09.30: Oos-Moot vs Randburg
09.48: Paul Roos vs HTS Middelburg
10.06: Daniël Pienaar vs Pietersburg
10.24: Grey vs Drostdy
10.42: Noord-Kaap vs Grens
11.00: Glenwood vs Lichtenburg
11.18: Hentie Cilliers vs Birchleigh
11.36: Oakdale vs Oos-Moot
11.54: Paul Roos vs Daniël Pienaar
12.12: HTS Middelburg vs Pietersburg
12.30: Grey vs Noord-Kaap
12.48: Drostdy vs Grens
13.06: Glenwood vs Hentie Cilliers
13.24: Lichtenburg vs Birchleigh
13.42: Oakdale vs Randburg
14.00: Paul Roos vs Pietersburg
14.18: HTS Middelburg vs Daniël Pienaar
14.36: Grey vs Grens
14.54: Drostdy vs Noord-Kaap
15.12: Glenwood vs Birchleigh
15.30: Lichtenburg vs Hentie Cilliers
15.48: 1st Pool D vs 2nd Pool D

The ,matches on Day 2, 6 October 2018, start at 09.00. The final is scheduled for 15.00.

PV: 622

Schools 7s Championship Starts | Rugby365