Mon 20 Aug 2018 | 03:47

Schools: North vs South in September

Schools: North vs South in September
Mon 20 Aug 2018 | 03:47
Schools: North vs South in September

Wildeklawer have widened their involvement in South African schoolboy rugby, going from their prestigious tournament in Kimberley to a North vs South match at Ellis Park in Johannesburg on 15 September 2018, the day that the Golden Lions play Western Province in a Currie Cup match.

The teams were chosen after the Wildeklawer tournament in Kimberley at the end of April 2018.

The North team is chosen from Affies, Diamantveld, Dr EG Jansen, Grey Bloem, Helpmekaar, Menlopark, Monument, Noord-Kaap, Waterkloof and Welkom Gimnasium.

The South team is chosen from Boland Landbou, Drostdy, Glenwood, Oakdale, Outeniqua, Paarl Boys’ High, Paarl Gim, Paul Roos and Stellenberg.

The South African schools players are eligible – provided that they went to Wildeklawer Tournament. Selborne did not go and so their players are not eligible though they had most players in SA Schools team.

Two teams of 23 players each have been selected to represent North and South. North is north of the Orange River. South includes Kwa-Zulu Natal.

Two schools dominate the selections – Grey College in the north and Glenwood in the south. There are eight from Grey Bloem, eight from Glenwood.

Representation by School

8 Grey Bloem
5 Monument
4 Welkom Gim
3 Affies
1 Dr EG Jansen, Menlopark, Noord-Kaap

8 Glenwood
4 Paarl Boys’ High
3 Paarl Gim, Paul Roos, Stellenberg
1 Oakdale, Outeniqua


Wildeklawer North: 15 Richard Kriel (Grey College), 14 Ian Small-Smith (Grey College), 13 Wyclef Vlitoor (Grey College), 12 Dylan Swartz (Dr EG Jansen), 11 Eric Sherman (Affies), 10 Regard Roets (Affies), 9 Georgen Kiewiet (Welkom Gimnasium), 8 Izan Esterhuizen (Monument), 7 De Wet Marais (Grey College), 6 Tristan Dullisear (Monument), 5 Husayn Banzi (Welkom Gimnasium), 4 Stephan le Roux (Monument), 3 Jacobus Agenbag (Grey College), 2 Morné Brandon (Monument), 1 Jan-Hendrik Wessels (Grey College).
Replacements: 16 Janco Uys (Affies), 17 Brandon Pawson (Monument), 18 Petrus Naudé (Grey College), 19 Danwick Beukes (Grey College), 20 Keke Morabe (Welkom Gimnasium), 21 Bernard van der Linde (Menlopark), 22 Ryan Davids (Welkom Gimnasium), 23 Goodwill Romain (Noord-Kaap).
Coaches: Jacques Juries (Welkom Gimnasium), Jaco Dames (Diamantveld), Jaco Koch (Affies).

Wildeklawer South: 15 Rynhardt Jonker (Glenwood), 14 Aaron le Roux (Glenwood), 13 Conan le Fleur (Glenwood), 12 Dawid Kellerman (Paarl Gim), 11 Stravino Jacobs (Paarl Gim), 10 Juan Mostert (Paul Roos), 9 Jaden Hendrikse (Glenwood), 8 George Luzolo (Glenwood), 7 Evan Roos (Paarl Boys’), 6 Braam van Huysteen (Outeniqua), 5 Adrian Alberts (Paarl Boys’), 4 Lunga Ncube (Glenwood), 3 Hanru Jacobs (Paul Roos), JJ Kotze (Paul Roos), 1 De Wet Wolhuter (Paarl Boys’).
Replacements: 16 Keano Hendricks (Oakdale), 17 Thabiso Mdletshe (Glenwood), 18 Josh Muller (Stellenberg), 19 Dylan de Leeuw (Stellenberg), 20 Lohan Horn (Paarl Boys’), 21 Dylan Alexander (Paarl Gim), 22 Nivan Peterson (Stellenberg), 23 Dylan Pretorius (Glenwood).
Coaches: Sean Erasmus (Paarl Boys’), Oloff Bergh (Boland Landbou), Malan du Plessis (Oakdale).

PV: 76

Schools: North Vs South In September | Rugby365