Tue 6 Aug 2019 | 06:40

Selborne's Goosen to Captain SA Schools

Selborne's Goosen to Captain SA Schools
Tue 6 Aug 2019 | 06:40
Selborne's Goosen to Captain SA Schools

For the two South African Schools teams chosen after Craven Week this year, their international experience starts on Friday when they join up with the Under-18 teams of England, France, and Wales in a tournament of three match days. The captains of the two teams have been announced – Jacques Goosen for SA Schools and Jarod Cairns for the SA Schools A team.


Goosen, who captains Selborne College of East London and Border schools, played for SA Schools in the 2018 edition of the tournament, starting against England and Wales and coining on as a substitute against France.

Goosen, recently turned down a contract with the Montpellier club in France and has instead signed for the Sharks in 2020.

The selection of Cairns, an eighthman, is more interesting. He was not in the first-choice Western Province side at Craven Week but in the Western Province XV, one of the strongest teams at Craven Week, losing just 36-34 to the Blue Bulls in the second last match of the week. Cairns of Paul Roos, is not the only player from Western Province A to make the international tournament. The SA schools flyhalf is Kian Meadon of Paarl Boys’ High was also in the team.

SA Schools have two vice-captains – Tyler Bock, the Paarl Boys’ High centre, and George Cronjé, the Free State eighthman. The SA Schools A vice-captain is Daimon O’Connell, the Selborne scrumhalf.

Injury to an ankle has deprived Rondebosch prop, Bryan le Roux, of the chance to play in the tournament. His place is taken by Jeppe’s Sibusiso Shongwe who comes up from the A Team while Garsfontein’s Gerhard van der Merwe comes into the A side.

The teams assembled in Stellenbosch on Sunday and the SA Schools coach, Mzwakhe Nkosi of KES, said on Tuesday: “We are starting to look like a team, and the vibe in the camp is very good, which is great for us as management.


“This tournament provides great exposure for these players, and it is even better that they get to do so against quality nations like England, France, Wales and Argentina. So we would like to see them grab this opportunity with both hands and show their talent.

“The opposition will be really tough and organised. Three of the teams had the advantage of playing in a junior Six Nations, and so we are expecting enterprising play and physicality from the participating teams.”

SA Schools A team coach Phiwe Nomlomo was equally pleased with his team’s preparations so far and said: “It has been great so far. The intensity has been good and the excitement among the players to represent their country is fantastic. We are expecting a good challenge from the opposing teams, but we also need to go out there and show what we can do.”



Friday, 9 August 2019 at Paul Roos Gymnasium, Stellenbosch
13.00: SA Schools A vs France Under-18
14.30: England Under-18 vs Argentina Under-18
16.00: SA Schools vs Wales Under-18

Tuesday, 13 August 2019 at Paarl Gimnasium
13.00: SA Schools A vs Wales Under-18
14.30: SA Schools vs Argentina Under-18
16.00: England Under-18 vs France Under-18

Saturday, 17 August 2019 at Hugenote High School, Wellington
12.00: SA Schools A vs Argentina Under-18
13.30: France Under-18 vs Wales Under-18
15.00: SA Schools vs England Under-18


SA Schools: Geraldo Flusk (Garsfontein & Blue Bulls), Keane Galant (Drostdy & Boland), Zeilinga Strydom (Garsfontein & Blue Bulls), Tarquin Manuel (Stellenberg & Western Province), Tyler Bocks (Paarl Boys High & Western Province), Henco van Wyk (Golden Lions & Monument), Mntungwa Mapantsela (Selborne & Border), Kian Meadon (Paarl Boys High & Western Province), Boldwin Hansen (Hermanus & Boland), Jurich Claasens (Garsfontein & Blue Bulls), Bobby Alexander (Paarl Gimnasium & Western Province), George Cronje (Grey College & Free State), Gideon van Wyk (Paarl Boys High & Western Province), Jarrod Taylor (Selborne & Border), Siyemukela Ndlovu (Northwood & Sharks), Keketso Morabe (Welkom Gymnasium & Griffons), Simon Miller (St Alban’s & Blue Bulls), Dylan de Leeuw (Paul Roos & Western Province), Connor Evans (Bishops & Western Province), Wandile Hlope (Maritzburg College & Sharks), Blaine Golden (Glenwood & Sharks), Sibusiso Shongwe (Jeppe & Golden Lions), Jan-Hendrik Wessels (Grey College & Free State), Okuhle Siyeni (Westville & Sharks), Jacques Goosen (Selborne Border), Andre Venter (Grey College & Free State).

SA Schools A: Sibusiso Javu (Selborne & Border), Sonwabo Sokoyi (Grey College & Free State), Nsuku Baloyi (Menlopark & Blue Bulls), Indiphile Tyeda (Dale & Border), Jacques Rossouw (Paarl Boys High & Western Province), Joseph Iye (KES & Golden Lions), Quan Horn (Paarl Boys High & Western Province), Sihlalo Benge (Queen’s & Border), Jordan Hendrikse (Glenwood & Sharks), Daimon O’Connell (Selborne & Border), Kabelo Mokheti (Jeppe & Golden Lions), Izan Esterhuizen (Monument & Golden Lions), Jarod Cairns (Paul Roos & Western Province), Renzo du Plessis (Ben Vorster & Limpopo), Pierich Siebert (Paarl Gimnasium & Western Province), Josh van Vreden (Selborne & Border), Marco van Rhyn (Paarl Gimnasium & Western Province), Sisonke Vumazonke (Grey College & Free State), Cornelus Rahl (Oakdale & South Western Districts), Raynard Roets (Garsfontein & Blue Bulls), Gerhard van der Merwe (Garsfontein & Blue Bulls), Philip Masango (Wynberg & Western Province), Rynhardt Rijnsburger (Paarl Boys High & Western Province), Dimakatso Lebelo (Waterkloof & Blue Bulls), Jacques-Lois du Toit (Affies & Blue Bulls), Teague Loelly (Westville & Sharks)

Photo: @Springboks

PV: 1430