Do Not Sell My Personal Information
Thu 16 May 2019 | 05:57

SWD Giants Meet

SWD Giants Meet
Thu 16 May 2019 | 05:57
SWD Giants Meet

On Saturday, the Kwaggas of George host Oakdale of Riversdale, the most powerful rugby schools in the South Western Districts, always a province that does well at Craven week.

For years, these two great schools have provided most the South Western Districts Craven Week side. In 2018, Oakdale had more; in 2019 Outeniqua have more – 11 from Outeniqua and eight from Oakdale.

Abré Minnie of Outeniqua and Vernon Paulo of Oakdale were at the 2018 Craven Week. They have been chosen again in 2019.

Craven Week Players

Outeniqua: Matthew Thorne, Casten Michaels, Tinsley Stuurman, Chadley Josias, Abré Minnie, Bennet Nortjé (captain), Leonardo Coetzee, Corné Struwig, Leon Volschenck, Francois Breytenbach, and Zander Bezuidenhout.

Oakdale: Alwich van der Linde, Hendrik Victor, Janus Ferreira, Corné Rahl, Neil Francis and Vernon Paulo in the starting XV with Malcolm Joseph and Tino Singe on the bench.

Academy Week

Outeniqua: Henry Trompo, son of the Springbok hooker, Dean Malherbe, Gerhard Ackerman, Lawrence Victor, Bladen Hector.

Oakdale: Matthew Stephens, Keaton Bush, Nico Pietersen, Sybrand van Dyk, Petri Steyn, Kaylim Cordier and Marnitz Mellet.

Season So Far

Oakdale have played six matches, losing one – to Garsfontein.
Outeniqua have played seven, winning four and losing to Affies, Grey Bloem and Garsfontein.

Garsfontein are their only common opponents. Oakdale lost 31-14 to them, Outeniqua 28-24.

At present Outeniqua are ranked 15th on the Schools Top 20 while Oakdale are in the pressure group just under the Top 20.


Outeniqua: 15 Matthew Thorne, 14 Casten Michaels, 13 Gerhard Ackermann, 12 Tinsley Stuurman, 11 Dillan Pieterse, 10 Chadley Josias, 9 Abré Minnie, 8 Bennet Nortjé (captain), 7 Leonardo Coetzee, 6 Francois Breytenbach, 5 Dean Malherbe, 4 Corné Struwig, 3 Henry Tromp, 2 Leon Volschenck, 1 Zander Bezuidenhout
Replacements: 16 Johan Jordans, 17 Lawrence Victor, 18 Jandré le Roux, 19 Jay Jay Snyman, 20 Winslin Klasen, 21 Hendrik Hattingh, 22 Ayden Booysen, 23 Bladen Hector
Coaches: Abré Minnie, Jacques Wolfaardt, Walter Lutch (Biokineticist)

Oakdale: 15 Matthew Stephens, 14 Keaton Bush, 13 Creflo Witbooi, 12 Alwich van der Linde, 11 Elkan Willemse, 10 Hendrik Victor, 9 Nico Pietersen, 8 Gerbrandt Conradie, 7 Sybrand van Dyk (K), 6 Janus Ferreira, 5 Corné Rahl, 4 Gustav Smit, 3 Neil Francis, 2 Vernon Paulo, 1 Petri Steyn
Replacements: 16 Herman Otto, 17 Malcolm Joseph, 18 Niel Engelbrecht, 19 Marnitz Mellet, 20 Kaylim Cordier, 21 Tino Singe, 22 Ashwin Botha, 23 Morné de Ridder

Teams playing: 1st XV, 2nd XV, 3rd XV, 4th XV, Under-16A, Under-16B, Under-16C, Under-15A, Under-15B, Under-15C, Under-14A, Under-14B, Under-14C

Date: 18 May 2019
Venue: Hoërskool Outeniqua, George
Expected weather conditions: Partly cloudy with a high of 20°C and a low of 11°C

PV: 447

Swd Giants Meet | Rugby365