Fri 9 Aug 2019 | 10:25

Two SA Schools Sides at International Series

Two SA Schools Sides at International Series
Fri 9 Aug 2019 | 10:25
Two SA Schools Sides at International Series

The South African Under-18 International Series gets underway on Friday, 9 August 2019, Women’s Day in South Africa.


There are three rounds to the series with three matches, involving all six teams – SA Schools, SA Schools A, Argentina Under-18, England Under-18, France Under-18 and Wales Under-18.

The two South African Schools sides, chosen after the Under-18 Craven Week will be in action, the first team against Wales, the second team – labelled SA Schools A – against France. in the third match Argentina and England meet.

Friday’s matches are on the Markötter Field at Paul Roos in the beautiful town of Stellenbosch. The Markötter Fields were donated to Paul Roos by Oubaas Markötter, a Stellenbosch attorney who played a huge role in developing rugby at Stellenbosch and indeed in South Africa. Indeed he had a great effect on world rugby, especially with his development of the 3-4-1 scrum and No.8 play.

SA Schools captain and hooker, Jacques Goosen, said they are very keen to get going and test themselves against Wales, a team they hold in high regard. He should hold them in high regard, for he was in the SA schools side last year that beat Wales 43-40

Goosen said: “We have settled in nicely and everyone is very keen to get going.

“We came together nicely as a squad and the guys are ready to go out and execute on our plans. Wales are a tough side. I recall that last year we managed a win only in the last minute of play. So we are taking nothing for granted. We just want to go out and enjoy the moment of playing for our country.”


The SA Schools A side’s captain and eighthman, Jarod Cairns, will be playing on home turf and he is at Paul Roos Gymnasium. He had this to say: “We will be keen to keep the enjoyment factor in mind in our match against France.

“We are all very proud to be selected for sure and we want to play to the best of our ability and enjoy the honour of playing for your country. We have plans in place on how we want to play and will try and do that. This is a great opportunity also to learn from and experience the playing styles from the opponents and we are looking forward to the match-up of our skills against theirs.”

In 2018, France were the best-performing team at the tournament, beating SA Schools 28-21.

The South African schools teams are chosen and ready.


SA Schools to play Wales: 15 Zeilinga Strydom (Blue Bulls & Garsfontein), 14 Keane Galant (Boland & Drostdy), 13 Henco van Wyk (Golden Lions & Monument), 12 Tyler Bocks (Western Province & Paarl Boys’ High), 11 Tharquinn Manuel (Western Province & Stellenberg), 10 Kean Meadon (Western Province & Paarl Boys’ High), 9 Jurich Claasens (Blue Bulls & Garsfontein), 8 George Cronje (Free State Cheetahs & Grey College), 7 Jarrod Taylor (Border & Selborne), 6 Keketso Morabe (Griffons & Welkom Gymnasium), 5 Dylan de Leeuw (Western Province & Paul Roos Gymnasium), 4 Simon Miller (Blue Bulls & St Alban’s), 3 Blaine Golden (Sharks & Glenwood), 2 Jacques Goosen (Border & Selborne), (captain), 1 Jan-Hendrik Wessels (Free State Cheetahs & Grey College)
Replacements: 16 André Venter (Free State Cheetahs & Grey College), 17 Okuhle Siyeni (Sharks & Westville), 18 Sibusiso Shongwe (Golden Lions & Jeppe), 19 Wandile Hlope (Sharks & Maritzburg College), 20 Siyemukela Ndlovu (Sharks & Northwood), 21 Bobby Alexander (Western Province & Paarl Gim), 22 Boldwin Hansen (Boland & Hermanus), 23 Mntungwa Mapantsela (Border & Selborne), 24 Quan Horn (Western Province & Paarl Boys’ High), 25 Gideon van Wyk (Western Province & Paarl Boys’ High), 26 Connor Evans (Western Province & Bishops)

SA Schools A to play France: 15 Sibusiso Javu (Border & Selborne), 14 Joseph Iye (Golden Lions & KES), 13 Jacques Rossouw (Western Province & Paarl Boys’ High), 12 Sihlalo Benge (Border & Queens College), 11 Indiphile Tyeda (Border & Dale), 10 Jordan Hendrikse (Sharks & Glenwood), 9 Daimon O’Connell (Border & Selborne), 8 Jarod Cairns (Western Province & Paul Roos Gymnasium) (captain), 7 Izan Esterhuizen (Golden Lions & Monument), 6 Josh van Vreden (Border & Selborne), 5 Marco van Rhyn (Western Province & Paarl Gim), 4 Sisonke Vumazonke (Free State Cheetahs & Grey College), 3 Philip Masango (Western Province & Wynberg), 2 Jacques-Lois du Toit (Blue Bulls & Affies), 1 Rynhardt Rijnsburger (Western Province & Paarl Boys’ High),
Replacements: 16 Teague Loelly (Sharks & Westville), .17 Dimakatso Lebelo (Blue Bulls & Waterkloof), 18 Gerhard van der Merwe (Blue Bulls & Garsfontein), 19 Raynard Roets (Blue Bulls & Garsfontein), 20 Pierich Siebert (Western Province & Paarl Gim), 21 Kabelo Mokheti (Golden Lions & Jeppe), 22 Nsuku Baloyi (Blue Bulls & Menlopark), 23 Sonwabo Sokoyi (Free State Cheetahs & Grey College), 24 Cornelus Rahl (South Western Districts & Oakdale), 25 Renzo du Plessis (Limpopo & Ben Vorster)


Under-18 International Series, Round 1

The matches will be played on the Markötter Field at Paul Roos Gymnasium, Stellenbosch

13.00: SA Schools A vs France Under-18
Referee: Adam Jones (Wales)

14.30: England Under-18 vs Argentina Under-18
Referee: Divan Uys (South Africa)

16.00: SA Schools vs Wales Under-18
Referee: Pali Deluca (Argentina)

Information from SA Rugby Communications

PV: 6