Mon 15 Jul 2019 | 05:48

Surprises in SA Schools teams

Surprises in SA Schools teams
Mon 15 Jul 2019 | 05:48
Surprises in SA Schools teams

SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT: SA Rugby announced the names of two squads of players chosen after the Craven Week in Bloemfontein earlier this month.


This year South Africa will have two Under-18 schools teams involved in international competition with Argentina, England, France and Wales. The second South African team, the SA Schools A team, enables three matches to be played on each of the three playing days in August. Each team will play three matches.

There are four players who played in the SA Schools team of 2018 – hooker Jacques Goosen, scrumhalf Jurich Claasens and flanks Jarrod Taylor and Keketso Morabe.

Kade Wolhuter and Robbie Rodgers, both of Paul Roos, also played for SA Schools last year but have signed contracts to play for the French club Montpellier next year and were clearly not considered. (Kean Meadon, who has been chosen at flyhalf for the SA Schools side, was the flyhalf for the Western Province second team at the Craven Week, while Wolhuter played in the first team.)

Jurie Roux, SARU’s CEO, said: “The selection of these squads is in line with our elite player development pathway of which the SA Schools teams form an important part.

“We invest time, money and resources into their matches with a view to them graduating through the age group levels to the very top of the game.”

Roux also wished the new coaches well.


Management Teams

SA Schools
Coaches: Mzwakhe Nkosi (KES), Cobus van Wyk (Waterkloof)
Manager: Dean Moodley

SA Schools A
Coaches: Phiwe Nomlomo (Selborne), Wessel du Plessis (Grey)
Manager: Ofentse Moeng

The squads (with schools and provinces) are:


SA Schools

Outside backs: Geraldo Flusk (Garsfontein & Blue Bulls), Keane Galant (Drostdy & Boland), Zeilinga Strydom (Garsfontein & Blue Bulls), Tarquin Manuel (Stellenberg & Western Province).

Centres: Tyler Bocks (Paarl Boys High & Western Province), Henco van Wyk (Golden Lions & Monument), Mntungwa Mapantsela (Selborne & Border).

Flyhalves: Kean Meadon (Paarl Boys High & Western Province), Boldwin Hansen (Hermanus & Boland).

Scrumhalves: Jurich Claasens (Garsfontein & Blue Bulls), Dylan Alexander (Paarl Gimnasium & Western Province).

Loose forwards: George Cronje (Grey College & Free State), Gideon van Wyk (Paarl Boys High & Western Province), Jarrod Taylor (Selborne & Border), Siyemukela Ndlovu (Northwood & Sharks), Keketso Morabe (Welkom Gymnasium & Griffons).

Locks: Simon Miller (St Alban’s & Blue Bulls), Dylan de Leeuw (Paul Roos & Western Province), Connor Evans (Bishops & Western Province), Wandile Hlope (Maritzburg College & Sharks).

Props: Blaine Golden (Glenwood & Sharks), Bryan le Roux (Rondebosch & Western Province), Jan-Hendrik Wessels (Grey College & Free State), Okuhle Siyeni (Westville & Sharks).

Hookers: Jacques Goosen (Selborne Border), Andre Venter (Grey College & Free State).

Schools Represented

3 Garsfontein, Grey College, Paarl Boys’ High
2  Selborne
1 Bishops, Drostdy, Glenwood, Hermanus, Maritzburg College, Monument, Northwood, Paarl Gim, Paul Roos, Rondebosch, St Alban’s, Stellenberg, Welkom Gymnasium, Westville

SA Schools A

Outside backs: Sibusiso Javu (Selborne & Border), Sonwabo Sokoyi (Grey College & Free State), Nsuku Baloyi (Menlopark & Blue Bulls), Indiphile Tyeda (Dale & Border).

Centres: Jacques Rossouw (Paarl Boys High & Western Province), Joseph Iye (KES & Golden Lions), Quan Horn (Paarl Boys High & Western Province).

Flyhalves: Sihlalo Benge (Queen’s & Border), Jordan Hendrikse (Glenwood & Sharks).

Scrumhalves: Daimon O’Connell (Selborne & Border), Kabelo Mokheti (Jeppe & Golden Lions).

Loose forwards: Izan Esterhuizen (Monument & Golden Lions), Jarod Cairns (Paul Roos & Western Province), Renzo du Plessis (Ben Vorster & Limpopo), Pierich Siebert (Paarl Gimnasium & Western Province), Josh van Vreden (Selborne & Border).

Locks: Marco van Rhyn (Paarl Gimnasium & Western Province), Sisonke Vumazonke (Grey College & Free State), Cornelus Rahl (Oakdale & South Western Districts), Raynard Roets (Garsfontein & Blue Bulls).

Props: Sibusiso Shongwe (Jeppe & Golden Lions), Philip Masango (Wynberg & Western Province), Rynhardt Rijnsburger (Paarl Boys High & Western Province), Dimakatso Lebelo (Waterkloof & Blue Bulls).

Hookers: Jacques-Lois du Toit (Affies & Blue Bulls), Teague Loelly (Westville & Sharks)

Hookers: Jacques-Lois du Toit (Affies & Blue Bulls), Teague Loelly (Westville & Sharks)

Schools Represented

3 Paarl Boys’ High, Selborne
2 Grey College, Jeppe, Paarl Gim
1 Affies, Dale, Garsfontein, Glenwood, KES, Menlopark, Monument, Oakdale, Paul Roos, Queen’s College, Waterkloof, Westville, Wynberg

Under-18 International Series Fixtures

Friday, 9 August 2019 at Paul Roos Gymnasium, Stellenbosch
13.00: SA Schools A vs France Under-18
14.30: England Under-18 vs Argentina Under-18
16.00: SA Schools vs Wales Under-18

Tuesday, 13 August 2019 at Paarl Gimnasium
13.00: SA Schools A vs Wales Under-18
14.30: SA Schools vs Argentina Under-18
16.00: England Under-18 vs France Under-18

Saturday, 17 August 2019 at Hugenote High School, Wellington
12.00: SA Schools A vs Argentina Under-18
13.30: France Under-18 vs Wales Under-18
15.00: SA Schools vs England Under-18

Issued by SA Rugby Communications

PV: 3667