Mon 12 Aug 2019 | 10:39

U18: Two SA Schools Teams for Tuesday

U18: Two SA Schools Teams for Tuesday
Mon 12 Aug 2019 | 10:39
U18: Two SA Schools Teams for Tuesday

SA Schools and SA Schools A both have changes for the second round of the Under-18 International Series being played in the Western Cape, this time at Paarl Gimnasium.


In Round 1 on Friday 9 August 2019, SA Schools had a good win over Wales Under-18 but SA Schools A, the second team, were well beaten by France Under-18.

In Round 2, SA Schools play Argentina, who beat England, while SA Schools A play Wales who gave SA Schools a tough time on Friday.

SA Schools coach Mzwakhe Nkosi of KES has made four changes to the run-on side, with Mntungwa Mapantsela (wing), Bobby Alexander (scrumhalf), Siyemukela Ndlovu (flank) and Connor Evans (lock) all starting the match this time around.

In addition, Quan Horn has been brought up from the SA Schools A side. He is on the bench

On the team selection for this match, Nkosi said: “We looked at rotating the squad a bit, as there is a developmental side to the tournament as well for us, so we want to see all our guys and test them against international competition.”

SA Schools: 15 Zeilinga Strydom (Garsfontein & Blue Bulls), 14 Mntungwa Mapantsela (Selborne & Border), 13 Henco van Wyk (Monument & Golden Lions), 12 Tyler Bocks (Paarl Boys’ High & Western Province), 11 Tharquinn Manuel (Stellenberg & Western Province), 10 Kian Meadon (Paarl Boys’ High & Western Province), 9 Dylan Alexander (Paarl Gimnasium & Western Province), 8 George Cronje (Grey College & Free State Cheetahs), 7 Jarrod Taylor (Selborne & Border), 6 Siyemukela Ndlovu (Northwood & Sharks), 5 Dylan de Leeuw (Paul Roos Gymnasium & Western Province), 4 Connor Evans (Bishops & Western Province), 3 Sibusiso Shongwe (Jeppe & Golden Lions), 2 Jacques Goosen (–Selborne & Border) (captain), 1 Jan-Hendrik Wessels (Grey College & Free State Cheetahs)
Replacements: 16 Andre-Hugo Venter (Grey College & Free State Cheetahs), 17 Okuhle Siyeni (Westville & Sharks), 18 Blaine Golden (Glenwood & Sharks), 19 Wandile Hlope (Maritzburg College & Sharks), 20 Keketso Morabe (Welkom Gymnasium & Griffons), 21 Keane Galant (Drostdy & Boland), 22 Boldwin Hansen (Hermanus & Boland), 23 Jurich Claasens (Garsfontein & Blue Bulls), 24 Quan Horn (Paarl Boys’ High & Western Province), 25 Gideon van Wyk (Paarl Boys’ High & Western Province), 26 Simon Miller (St Alban’s & Blue Bulls)


Referee: Manuel Bottino (Italy)

SA Schools A have had to bring in three players because of the promotion of Quan Horn and the injuries to Jacques-Louis du Toit and Jordan Hendrikse. In come Tiaan Pretorius, AJ Johnson and Lukhanyo Vokozela.

Vokozela of Khayelitsha started playing rugby with the Connect Academy. where he was spotted and enabled to go to Rondebosch.

Pretorius, who played in Team South Africa at the World Youth Olympics in Argentina last year, missed Craven Week because of concussion.


Johnson is a very strong ball carrier and specialist inside centre.

According to SA Schools A coach Phiwe Nomlomo said: “The guys learned a lot from Friday and although the turn-around was short, we have a better idea of what to expect,” said Nomlomo.

“Our defence was poor, so Wales will try to keep the ball and test that. They have a good kicking game as well, so we will be tested in that aspect of play as well.

“I believe we will do well if we go out and apply ourselves.”

SA Schools A: 15 Jacques Rossouw (Paarl Boys’ High & Western Province), 14 Sonwabo Sokoyi (Grey College & Free State Cheetahs), 13 Tiaan Pretorius (Paul Roos Gymnasium & Western Province), 12 AJ Johnson (Garsfontein & Blue Bulls), 11 Sibusiso Javu (Selborne & Border), 10 Sihlalo Benge (Queen’s College & Border), 9 Kabelo Mokheti (Jeppe & Golden Lions), 8 Jarod Cairns (Paul Roos Gymnasium & Western Province)(captain), 7 Izan Esterhuizen (Monument & Golden Lions), 6 Pierich Siebert (Paarl Gimnasium & Western Province), 5 Corné Rahl (Oakdale & South Western Districts), 4 Raynard Roets (Garsfontein & Blue Bulls), 3 Philip Masango (Wynberg & Western Province), 2 Teague Loelly (Westville & Sharks), 1 Dima Lebelo (Waterkloof & Blue Bulls)
Replacements: 16 Lukhanyo Vokozela (Rondebosch & Western Province), 17 Rynhardt Rijnsburger (Paarl Boys’ High & Western Province), 18 Gerhard van der Merwe (Garsfontein & Blue Bulls), 19 Marco van Rhyn (Paarl Gimnasium & Western Province), 20 Sisonke Vumazonke (Grey College & Free State Cheetahs), 21 Daimon O’Connell (Selborne & Border), 22 Joseph Iye (KES & Golden Lions), 23 Indiphile Tyeda (Dale & Border), 24 Renzo du Plessis (Ben Vorster & Limpopo), 25 Josh van Vreden (Selborne & Border), 26 Nsuku Baloyi (Menlopark & Blue Bulls)

Wales Under-18: 15 Jake Morgan (Lewis Pengam & Dragons), 14 Mason Grady (Glantaf & Cardiff Blues), 13 Bradley Roderick (Port Talbot CollegeOspreys Neath), 12 Tom Mathews (Hartpury College & Northampton), 11 Dan John (Millfield), 10 Ben Burnell (Coleg y Cymoedd & Cardiff Blues), 9 Luke Davies ( & ScarletsColeg Sir Gar), 8 Rhys Thomas (Port Talbot College & OspreysNeath), 7 Ollie Howard (Tredegar & Dragons), 6 Travis Huntley (Bridgend College & Ospreys), 5 Ben Carter (Caldicot & Dragons) (captain), 4 Christ Tshiunza (Whitchurch HS & Exeter), 3 Lewys Jones (Ysgol Gyfun Ystalyfera & Ospreys), 2 Rhodri King (Coleg Sir Gar & Scarlets), 1 Theo Bevacqua (Eastbourne College & Harlequins)
Replacements: 16 Oliver Burrows (Millfield & Ospreys), 17 Kieran Stevens (Bridgend College & Ospreys), 18 Archie Griffin (Marlborough & Bath), 19 James Fender (Port Talbot College & Ospreys Neath), 20 Peter Vickers (Newcastle-Under-Lyme & Wasps), 21 Alex Mann (Coleg y Cymoedd & Cardiff Blues), 22 Joe Hawkins (Port Talbot College & OspreysN eath), 23 Ethan Lloyd (Ysgol Cwm Rhondda & Cardiff Blues), 24 Carrick McDonough (Cross Keys College & Dragons), 25 Jake Thomas (Cowbridge HS & Cardiff Blues), 26 Morgan Richards (Newport High School & Dragons)

Referee: Paul Mente (South Africa)

PV: 905