Get Newsletter

Beefy Bulls changed for Loftus crunch

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Bulls Director of Rugby Jake White has made five changes to his side that will take on the Glasgow Warriors in Round 16 United Rugby Championship crunch match at Loftus Versfeld Stadium on Saturday.


Two of the changes are positional, whilst three are personnel changes.

Akker van der Merwe and Johan Grobbelaar have swapped places – with the former slotting into the front row at hooker, flanked by Gerhard Steenekamp (loosehead) and Wilco Louw at tighthead.

Ruan Nortje comes into the second row to pair up with name-sake, Ruan Vermaak, at lock – which sees Reinhardt Ludwig move to the replacement bench.

Nizaam Carr makes way for Marco van Staden at blindside flank.

Elrigh Louw starts at openside once more, with Cameron Hanekom at No.8.


Behind the forwards will be the halfback duo Embrose Papier (No.9) and Chris Smith (No.10).

The two will link the forwards with a retained backline from Round 15.

Kurt-Lee Arendse will run at left wing, with Canan Moodie on the right side of the park – whilst Harold Vorster and David Kriel are at centre and Willie Le Roux at fullback.

White has gone with a five-three split on the bench.


Grobbelaar and Francois Klopper are the other two personnel changes in the matchday 23.

Simphiwe Matanzima, Reinhardt Ludwig, Nizaam Carr, Izak Burger, Jaco van der Walt and Devon Williams complete the 23 men reporting for duty.

Bulls: 15 Willie Le Roux, 14 Canan Moodie, 13 David Kriel, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 10 Chris Smith, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Cameron Hanekom, 7 Elrigh Louw (co-captain), 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Ruan Nortje (co-captain), 4 Ruan Vermaak, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Akker van der Merwe, 1 Gerhard Steenekamp.
Replacements: 16 Johan Grobbelaar, 17 Simphiwe Matanzima, 18 Francois Klopper, 19 Reinhardt Ludwig, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Izak Burger, 22 Jaco van der Walt, 23 Devon Williams.

Date: Saturday, May 11
Venue: Loftus Versfeld Stadium, Pretoria
Kick-off: 14.00 (12.00 GMT; 13.00 IRE & UK time)
Referee: Ben Whitehouse (Wales)
Assistant referees: AJ Jacobs (South Africa) and Dylen November (South Africa)
TMO: Craig Evans (Wales)

Join free

Scotland vs USA | U20 Trophy Final | Full Match Replay

Boks Office | Episode 15 | Extreme Golf Special

Embedded 2024 | England | Episode 4

Before They Make It | South Africa

Before They Make It | England

Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 22

Women's Six Nations winner to Paris Olympic sevens for Team GB | Ellie Kildunne | Stronger Than You Think | S3 Ep 2

Walk the Talk | Brodie Retallick | The King of the Skies

Write A Comment