RugbyPass Match Centre
Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
Thu 24 Sep 2020 | 03:31

Jake relies on Bok experience

Jake relies on Bok experience
Thu 24 Sep 2020 | 03:31
Jake relies on Bok experience

SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT: Bulls Director of Rugby Jake White has named a 30-man squad to face the Sharks in the opening match of the SuperFan day in Pretoria on Saturday.


It is a squad that is brimming with Springbok experience and a youthful injection of the next generation of superstars.

World Cup-winning No.8 Duane Vermeulen will lead the new-look Bulls squad, which includes many of the players signed during the COVID-19-enforced lay-off.

The backs are not only loaded with speed, but has the experience of several Springboks – including Gio Aplon, Morné Steyn, Embrose Papier, Cornal Hendricks, Travis Ismaiel and Ivan van Zyl.

There are also two BlitzBoks in Stedman Gans and Kurt-lee Arendse.

This vast array of experience is well complemented by a host of youngsters that are eagerly waiting to be unleashed among the backs.

It is much the same amongst the forwards – with the pack oozing Springboks, BlitzBoks and Junior Springbok talent.


With Vermeulen wearing the captain’s armband, he finds himself surrounded by fellow Boks Jason Jenkins, Trevor Nyakane, Marco van Staden, Arno Botha, Nizaam Carr and Juandré Kruger, with BlitzBok Tim Agaba adding his power and pace to the mix.

Last year’s successful Blue Bulls Under-21 captain Muller Uys headlines the list of the youngsters – including Junior Springboks Ruan Nortjé, Schalk Erasmus and Corniel Els.

Then there is new forward signings Jacques van Rooyen, Sintu Manjezi and Jan-Hendrik Wessels.

Bulls squad: Clinton Swart, Travis Ismaiel, Stedman Gans, Jacques van Rooyen, Kurt-lee Arendse, Corniel Els, Morné Steyn, Ivan van Zyl, Marco Jansen van Vuren, Jade Stighling, Stravino Jacobs, Duane Vermeulen (captain), Arno Botha, Chris Smith, Marco van Staden, Ruan Nortjé, David Kriel, Muller Uys, Jason Jenkins, Trevor Nyakane, Schalk Erasmus, Jan-Hendrick Wessels, Mornay Smith, Sintu Manjezi, Juandré Kruger, Nizaam Carr, Tim Agaba, Embrose Papier, Cornal Hendricks, Gio Aplon.


Date: Saturday, September 26
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick-off: 16.30 (14.30 GMT)
Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant referees: Aimee Barrett-Theron, Morné Ferreira
TMO: Willie Vos

PV: 36
Jake relies on Bok experience | Rugby365