Sat 3 Aug 2019 | 04:30

RECAP: Blue Bulls v Griquas

RECAP: Blue Bulls v Griquas
Sat 3 Aug 2019 | 04:30
RECAP: Blue Bulls v Griquas

READERS’ FORUM: Welcome to the Currie Cup Round Four encounter between the Blue Bulls and Griquas in Pretoria.

The Pumas and Sharks will enter their encounter under pressure to win, with an eye on the semifinal stages.

The Kimberley outfit will be determined to return to their winning ways after suffering their first defeat last week, while their Pretoria counterparts – who are second last on the log – will be keen to build on their first win last week to power their way up the standings.

The Blue Bulls have dominated the encounters between the sides for the last six years, but this will have no significance this weekend as a slip-up for either team could come at a big price in the next few weeks as the pool stages near its conclusion.

Recent results:
2018: Blue Bulls won 45-40, Kimberley
2017: Blue Bulls won 44-42, Pretoria
2017: Blue Bulls won 51-45, Kimberley
2016: Blue Bulls won 57-20, Pretoria
2015: Blue Bulls won 46-32, Kimberley

Prediction: Blue Bulls
Margin: Nine

*  To read our full preview, CLICK HERE!

* Don’t miss this week’s podcast …

* Our live blog will appear below, it might take a little while to load, please be patient. We apologise for the inconvenience!


Blue Bulls: 15 Divan Rossouw, 14 Cornal Hendricks, 13 Dylan Sage, 12 Johnny Kotze, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Tim Agaba, 7 Marco van Staden, 6 Ruan Steenkamp (captain), 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Wiehahn Herbst, 2 Jaco Visagie, 1 Simphiwe Matanzima.
Replacements: 16 Johan Grobbelaar, 17 Dayan van der Westhuizen, 18 Conraad van Vuuren, 19 Adri Smit, 20 Wihan Vosloo, 21 Andre Warner, 22 Marnitz Boshoff, 23 Stedman Gans.

Griquas: 15 Anthony Volmink, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Michal Haznar, 12 Andre Swarts, 11 Eduan Keyter, 10 George Whitehead (captain), 9 Zak Burger, 8 Neill Jordaan, 7 Sias Koen, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Victor Sekekete, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 AJ Le Roux, 1 Khwezi Mona.
Replacements: 16 Wilmar Arnoldi, 17 Mox Mxoli, 18 Johan Momsen, 19 Zandre Jordaan, 20 Chriswill September, 21 Chris Smit, 22 Bjorn Basson, 23 Ruan Kramer.

Referee: Divan Uys
Assistant referees: AJ Jacobs, Griffin Colby
TMO: Marius Jonker

PV: 2191

Recap: Blue Bulls V Griquas | Rugby365