Sat 31 Aug 2019 | 04:30

RECAP: Free State Cheetahs v Sharks

RECAP: Free State Cheetahs v Sharks
Sat 31 Aug 2019 | 04:30
RECAP: Free State Cheetahs v Sharks

READERS’ FORUM: Welcome to the Currie Cup semifinal between the Free State Cheetahs and the Sharks in Durban.

the Free State Cheetahs will go in search of their first Final berth since 2016, while defending champions the Sharks, will have their sights on their third consecutive appearance in the Final.

The last time they crossed paths, the Sharks won by a narrow seven points in Durban and while this is expected to serve as inspiration for the visitors, it will also fuel the Free Staters’ motivation to win.

Recent results:

2019: Sharks won 27-20, Durban
2018: Sharks won 33-29, Bloemfontein
2017: Sharks won 45-15, Durban
2017: Free State Cheetahs won 47-12, Bloemfontein
2016: Free State Cheetahs won 38-30, Durban

Prediction: Free State Cheetahs
Margin: Five

* To read our full preview, CLICK HERE!

* Don’t miss this week’s podcast …

* Our live blog will appear below, it might take a little while to load, please be patient. We apologise for the inconvenience!


Free State Cheetahs: 15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 William Small-Smith, 13 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 12 Dries Swanepoel, 11 Tian Meyer (captain), 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Henco Venter, 7 Abongile Nonkontwana, 6 Junior Pokomela, 5 Walt Steenkamp, 4 Sintu Manjesi, 3 Erich de Jager, 2 Joseph Dweba, 1 Retshegofaditswe Nché.
Replacements: 16 Jacques du Toit, 17 Schalk van der Merwe, 18 Reinach Venter, 19 Jean-Pierre du Preez, 20 Gerhard Olivier, 21 Jasper Wiese, 22 Louis Fouche, 22 Darren Adonis.

Sharks: 15 Aphelele Fassi, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Jeremy Ward, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Tera Mtembu, 7 Jacques Vermeulen, 6 Phepsi Buthelezi, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Thomas du Toit.
Replacements: 16 Dylan Richardson, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 John-Hubert Meyer, 19 Gideon Koegelenberg, 20 Andisa Ntsila, 21 Cameron Wright, 22 Rhyno Smith, 23 JP Pietersen.

Referee: AJ Jacobs
Assistant Referees: Marius van der Westhuizen, Paul Mente
TMO: Joey Klaaste-Salmans

PV: 2413

Recap: Free State Cheetahs V Sharks | Rugby365