Do Not Sell My Personal Information
RugbyPass Match Centre
Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
No games this week.
Full schedule >
No games this week.
Full schedule >
Mon 29 Oct 2018 | 02:58

Preview: Free State Cheetahs v SWD Eagles

Preview: Free State Cheetahs v SWD Eagles
Mon 29 Oct 2018 | 02:58
Preview: Free State Cheetahs v SWD Eagles

CURRIE CUP PROMOTION-RELEGATION: Coach Franco Smith has named the strongest possible team to defend the Free State Cheetahs’ Currie Cup status.

The Cheetahs host the SWD Eagles in Bloemfontein on Tuesday.

The Cheetahs have made no secret of the fact that they will throw all their resources into staying in the Premier Division.

Sixteen players that featured in the Cheetahs’ first Pro14 win of the season, a 21-10 triumph over the Cardiff Blues at the weekend, will return for Tuesday’s crucial outing.

Malcolm Jaer, William Small-Smith, Sibhale Maxwane, Tian Schoeman, Retshegofaditswe Nche, Joseph Dweba, Johannes Coetzee, Walt Steenkamp, Junior Pokomela, Niell Jordaan, Reinach Venter, Charles Marais, Abongile Nonkontwana, Tian Meyer, Louis Fouche and Nico Lee all return on Tuesday.

For the Eagles, the most significant selection is centre Kirsten Heyns, who will be making his 50th appearance for the George-based team.

The Free Staters finished the Currie Cup as the last-placed team this season, while the SWD Eagles – who were crowned the First Division Champions – qualified for the match by virtue of topping the log after the pool stages.

Jaco Peyper, who officiated his fourth Currie Cup this past weekend, which the Sharks won 17-12 against Western Province in Cape Town, will take charge of the match.

He will be assisted by AJ Jacobs and Ben Crouse, while JJ Wagner will be the television match official.


Should the teams finish the regular 80 minutes of play with level scores, the winner will be determined as follows:
* The team scoring the most points within a twenty minute extra time;
* If still level, the team that scored the most tries in the match;
* If still level, the teams will continue to play and will change sides after 10 minutes with a minute break in-between. The first team to score points will be declared the winner (sudden death).


Free State Cheetahs: 15 Malcolm Jaer, 14 Ali Mgijima, 13 William Small-Smith, 12 Nico Lee, 11 Sibahle Maxwane, 10 Louis Fouche, 9 Tian Meyer (captain), 8 Junior Pokomela, 7 Abongile Nonkontwana, 6 Niell Jordaan, 5 Dennis Visser, 4 Justin Basson, 3 Aranos Coetzee, 2 Reinach Venter, 1 Charles Marais.
Replacements: 16 Joseph Dweba, 17 Retshegofaditswe Nche, 18 Stephan Malan, 19 Aidon Davis, 20 Daniel Maartens, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Tian Schoeman.

SWD Eagles: 15 Marlo Weich, 14 Alshaun Bock Alshaun, 13 Kirsten Heyns, 12 Tyler Fisher, 11 Adri Jacobs, 10 Divan Nel, 9 Johannes Steyn, 8 Wayne Wilschut, 7 Nicolaas Immelman, 6 Johannes Stander, 5 Johannes Janse van Rensburg, 4 Ruben Schoeman, 3 Mzuvukile Sofisa, 2 Jacobus Vermaak, 1 Luxolo Koza.
Replacements: 16 Le Roux Baard, 17 Teunis Nieuwoudt, 18 Dewald Dekker, 19 Brendon Esterhuizen, 20 Reinhardt Stears, 21 Vuyo Mbotho, 22 Ganfried May.

Date: Tuesday, October 30
Venue: Free State Stadium, Bloemfontein
Kick-off: 18.00 (16.00 GMT)
Referee: Jaco Peyper
Assistant referees: AJ Jacobs and Ben Crouse
TMO: JJ Wagner

PV: 2785

Preview: Free State Cheetahs V Swd Eagles | Rugby365