Thu 18 Oct 2018 | 11:44

Province change it up

Province change it up
Thu 18 Oct 2018 | 11:44
Province change it up

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: There are four changes and a positional switch to the Western Province starting line-up for the Currie Cup semifinal against the Blue Bulls at Newlands on Saturday.

Fullback Dillyn Leyds and No.8 Juarno Agustus make their return from injury in the north-south knock-out clash.

Centre Dan Kriel and hooker Mbongeni Mbonambi also come in after being rested last week.

Leyds has overcome a calf niggle and starts at fullback, with Damian Willemse switching to flyhalf as a result.

Kriel resumes his midfield partnership with Ruhan Nel.

In the forward pack, Augustus comes in for Springbok Sikhumbuzo Notshe, who is battling a knee injury, with Mbonambi slotting into the front row.

Western Province coach John Dobson said that his side is looking forward to playing a home semifinal at Newlands.

“We have worked hard this season to earn the right to play at Newlands this weekend, so we intend to make the most of that opportunity,” Dobson said.

“It was tough to select this team, with some quality players left out, but we are very excited to see what they are capable of in what is obviously a big game,” he said.

Western Province: 15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 Ruhan Nel, 12 Dan Kriel, 11 Sarel Marais, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Ernst van Rhyn, 6 Kobus van Dyk, 5 John Schickerling, 4 Chris van Zyl (captain), 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Mbongeni Mbonambi, 1 Ali Vermaak.
Replacements: 16 Siyabonga Ntubeni, 17 Caylib Oosthuizen, 18 Michael Kumbirai, 19 Salmaan Moerat, 20 Jaco Coetzee, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 Josh Stander, 23 Johannes Engelbrecht.

Date: Saturday, October 20
Venue: Newlands, Cape Town
Kick-off: 17.00 (15.00 GMT)
Referee: Egon Seconds
Assistant referees: Rasta Rasivhenge, Paul Mente
TMO: Willie Vos

Video Spacer

PV: 2009

Province Change It Up | Rugby365