Get Newsletter

Du Toit try not enough as Exeter hold off Bath

CHAMPIONS CUP REPORT: A trio of tries took Exeter Chiefs into the quarterfinal of the Champions Cup, as they beat Bath 21-15 in windy conditions at Sandy Park.


In a tightly contested first half, points were at a premium with prop Thomas du Toit opening the scoring for Bath as the maul drove up to the line.

But the strong wind was such that the attempted conversion from scrumhalf Ben Spencer landed ten metres short.

Exeter Chiefs drew level immediately afterwards, as Alfie Barbeary lost the ball and knocked it on to fellow No.8 Ross Vintcent, who accelerated away and crossed the line.

There were no kicking struggles for Henry Slade at the other end, the centre adding the extras.

Bath reclaimed the lead just before the half hour, with flank Ted Hill galloping down the middle of the pitch and touching down underneath the posts, making Spencer’s task with the conversion much easier and taking them in 12-7 up at the break.

Spencer added a penalty shortly after the break before replacement Greg Fisilau powered over for the hosts, Slade adding the extras to close the gap to a single point.


Exeter Chiefs then took the lead in the 65th minute as wing Immanuel Feyi-Waboso made a sensational run, evading multiple tackles before offloading, with flank Ethan Roots ultimately taking the ball over.

Slade’s conversion was a thing of beauty, curling exquisitely over despite the continuing blustery conditions, securing a famous win for the home side.

They will now play either Stade Toulousain or Racing 92 in the last eight.

The scorers:


For Exeter:
Tries: Vintcent, Fisilau, Roots
Cons: Slade 3

For Bath:
Tries: Du Toit, Hill
Con: Spencer
Pen: Spencer

Yellow card: Tom Dunn (Bath, 4′)


Exeter: 15 Josh Hodge, 14 Immanuel Feyi-Waboso, 13 Henry Slade, 12 Ollie Devoto, 11 Olly Woodburn, 10 Harvey Skinner, 9 Tom Cairns, 8 Ross Vintcent, 7 Christ Tshiunza, 6 Ethan Roots, 5 Dafydd Jenkins (captain), 4 Rusi Tuima, 3 Ehren Painter, 2 Jack Yeandle, 1 Scott Sio.
Replacements: 16 Jack Innard, 17 Danny Southworth, 18 Marcus Street, 19 Lewis Pearson, 20 Greg Fisilau, 21 Stu Townsend, 22 Will Haydon-Wood, 23 Zack Wimbush.

Bath: 15 Matt Gallagher, 14 Joe Cokanasiga, 13 Ollie Lawrence, 12 Cameron Redpath, 11 Will Muir, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Ben Spencer (captain), 8 Alfie Barbeary, 7 Sam Underhill, 6 Ted Hill, 5 Charlie Ewels, 4 Quinn Roux, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Tom Dunn, 1 Beno Obano.
Replacements: 16 Niall Annett, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Will Stuart, 19 Elliott Stooke, 20 Miles Reid, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Orlando Bailey, 23 Jaco Coetzee.

Referee: Luc Ramos (France)
Assistant referees: Pierre-Baptiste Nuchy (France), Evan Urruzmendi (France)
TMO: Patrick Dellac (France)


Join free

Allianz Premiership Women's Rugby 2023/24 | Round 15 Highlights

New Zealand v USA | Pacific Four Series 2024 | Full Match Replay

Pieter-Steph du Toit, The Malmesbury Missile, in conversation with Big Jim

Australia v Canada | Pacific Four Series 2024 | Full Match Replay

Rugby Africa Women's Cup | Madagascar v Cameroon | Full Match Replay

The Antoine Dupont Interview

Fresh Starts | Episode 3 | Cobus Reinach

Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 11

Chasing The Sun | Series 1 Episode 1

Write A Comment