Get Newsletter

Dupont adds another incredible feat to his career

NEWS: The Stade Toulousain captain, Antoine Dupont, has added to his long list of achievements by winning the prestigious Player of the Year award for a second time.


The world-class Dupont is the first player to scoop the prized individual accolade on two occasions having previously won the vote in 2021 and this latest distinction comes on the back of another outstanding series of performances in the pool and knockout stages of this season’s Champions Cup.

As he had done three years ago, Dupont led Stade Toulousain to victory in what was a dramatic final at London’s Tottenham Hotspur Stadium, and in addition to the Player of the Year award, he was also named Investec Player of the Match following the tension-packed win after extra-time against Leinster.

He was presented with the Anthony Foley Memorial Trophy by Olive Foley and her sons, Tony and Dan, as well as a specially engraved medal following the showpiece match.

Close to 30,000 votes were cast by fans via the Champions Cup official website and the public’s verdict was combined with the decision of an expert panel of judges and once again the stellar Dupont came out on top.

Leinster’s Caelan Doris, Jamison Gibson-Park, James Lowe and Dan Sheehan were nominated for the 2024 award along with the Northampton Saints duo, Courtney Lawes and Fin Smith, as well as the Harlequins playmaker, Marcus Smith.

Judging Panel – Jim Hamilton (two-time Champions Cup winner), Francois Louw (2019 World Cup winner), Ugo Monye (two-time EPCR Challenge Cup winner), Elma Smit (sports presenter and producer), Dimitri Yachvili (EPCR Challenge Cup winner)


Roll of Honour
2023: Gregory Alldritt (Stade Rochelais)
2022: Josh van der Flier (Leinster)
2021: Antoine Dupont (Stade Toulousain)
2020: Sam Simmonds (Exeter Chiefs)
2019: Alex Goode (Saracens)
2018: Leone Nakarawa (Racing 92)
2017: Owen Farrell (Saracens)
2016: Maro Itoje (Saracens)
2015: Nick Abendanon (ASM Clermont Auvergne)
2014: Steffon Armitage (RC Toulon)
2013: Jonny Wilkinson (RC Toulon)
2012: Rob Kearney (Leinster)
2011: Sean O’Brien (Leinster)
2010: Ronan O’Gara (Munster – best player of first 15 years of European club rugby)


Join free

South Africa v Great Britain | Men's Final | Sevens Repechage | Full Match Replay

Olympic Repechage - Day 1

Boks Office | Episode 11 | URC Final Preview

Walk the Talk | Eddie Jones | The Australian Job

Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 17

All Blacks | In Their Own Words S2 | Episode 1: The Final

The perfect pre-Olympic preparation for France! Men's HSBC SVNS Madrid Day Three Highlights

Australia finish with GOLD! Women's HSBC SVNS Madrid Day Three Highlights

Greatness | Dan Carter

Write A Comment