Get Newsletter

Bordeaux sends warning to Bulls with Saracens rout

MATCH REPORT: Damian Penaud cemented his position as one of the best players in Europe.


He scored a brace for Bordeaux-Bègles, as they romped to a 55-15 victory over three-time Champions Cup winners Saracens at Stade Chaban-Delmas – earning themselves a place in the Round of 16.

With qualification now secured, Bordeaux-Bègles will be eyeing a home tie in the Round of 16 when they travel to Pretoria to take on the Bulls next Saturday.

Saracens has their work cut out as they welcome Lyon to Barnet Copthall in a battle for a play-off spot.

Bordeaux’s star-studded backfield ran a mock with Louis Bielle-Biarrey (two), Romain Buros, Nicolas Depoortère, Matthieu Jalibert and Pablo Uberti piercing the Premiership club’s defences – in addition to Penaud’s efforts.

Hooker Maxime Lamothe also crossed in the rout, with Jalibert and Maxime Lucu adding six and four points respectively from the tee.

Champions Cup Pool One stadings after three rounds


Two tries in two minutes from Saracens inside centre Nick Tompkins and hooker Theo Dan on the hour mark brought an air of respectability to the scoreboard – flyhalf Owen Farrell contributing five points from the tee.

It was the visitors who opened the scoring in the contest with three points from the boot of Farrell, but the hosts soon took command with a quickfire double from their all-star backfield.

Quick hands swiftly moved the ball to the TOP 14 club’s left where wing Bielle-Biarrey outflanked Saracens’ defence to dot down in the eighth minute. He was followed over the whitewash by Buros five minutes later – the fullback collecting a delightful offload from Jalibert to scamper over untouched.

A third try followed midway through the opening period as hooker Lamothe became the beneficiary of a superbly executed rolling maul to power over from close range.


The well-oiled Union Bordeaux-Bègles machine continued to press the accelerator and secured the bonus point try with a free-flowing attack in the 34th minute. Jalibert broke the initial line before offloading to Maxime Lucu, who relayed to Yoram Moefana before the inside centre offloaded to Penaud – the wing cantering over for the bonus point try.

The onslaught continued in the second half with the hosts adding a fifth try just four minutes after the interval.

A barnstorming run from No.8 Pete Samu opened up Saracens’ defence with outside centre Depoortère adding the finishing touch with the dot down.

Flyhalf Jalibert was the next Union Bordeaux-Bègles back to enjoy a trip across the whitewash – Moefana and Penaud combined down the right to breach Saracens’ line, with the French international waltzing over for the hosts’ sixth try.

A seventh followed in the 57th minute as Penaud intercepted an errant pass inside his half to scamper over for his second of the match.

However, the Premiership club did show some fight on the hour mark with first Tompkins, and then Dan, scoring within two minutes of each other to close the gap to 43-15.

Replacement back Uberti and wing Bielle-Biarrey ran in further scores in the final five minutes as the hosts completed a resounding rout.

The scorers

For Bordeaux-Bègles
Tries: Bielle-Biarrey, Buros, Lamothe, Penaud 2, Depoortère, Jalibert, Uberti, Bielle-Biarrey
Cons: Jalibert 3, Lucu 2

For Saracens
Tries: Tompkins, Dan
Con: Farrell
Pen: Farrell


Bordeaux-Bègles: 15 Romain Buros, 14 Damian Penaud, 13 Nicolas Depoortère, 12 Yoram Moefana, 11 Louis Bielle-Biarrey, 10 Matthieu Jalibert, 9 Maxime Lucu (captain), 8 Pete Samu, 7 Marko Gazzotti, 6 Pierre Bochaton, 5 Adam Coleman, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Ben Tameifuna, 2 Maxime Lamothe, 1 Jefferson Poirot.
Replacements: 16 Romain Latterrade, 17 Ugo Boniface, 18 Carlü Sadie, 19 Kane Douglas, 20 Mahamadou Diaby, 21 Antoine Miquel, 22 Paul Abadie, 23 Pablo Uberti

Saracens: 15 Alex Goode, 14 Alex Lewington, 13 Elliot Daly, 12 Nick Tompkins, 11 Sean Maitland, 10 Owen Farrell (captain), 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Ben Earl, 7 Andy Christie, 6 Nick Isiekwe, 5 Hugh Tizard, 4 Maro Itoje, 3 Christian Judge, 2 Theo Dan, 1 Logovi’i Mulipola.
Replacements: 16 James Hadfield, 17 Sam Crean, 18 Alec Clarey, 19 Billy Vunipola, 20 Juan-Martin Gonzalez, 21 Gareth Simpson, 22 Olly Hartley, 23 Rotimi Segun

Referee: Chris Busby (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Andrew Cole (Ireland) & Oisin Quinn (Ireland)
TMO: Brian MacNeice (Ireland)

Source: @ChampionsCup


Join free

Fresh Starts | Episode 1 | Will Skelton


Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 8

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

New Zealand crowned BACK-TO-BACK champions | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Women's Highlights

Japan Rugby League One | Steelers v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Rugby Europe Women's Championship | Netherlands v Spain

Write A Comment