Get Newsletter

Leinster gets their revenge at La Rochelle

SUNDAY WRAP: Replacement flyhalf Ciaran Frawley kicked three crucial penalties, including a stunning effort from deep in his own half, to help a determined Leinster overcome Champions Cup holders Stade Rochelais.


The visitors had lost both of the past two Finals to their hosts, who were greeted by a rapturous home support at the Stade Marcel Deflandre.

The crowd played their part in a tight first half, both teams having players sent to the sin bin at the same time following an overblow of tension, with second row Joe McCarthy and centre Jonathan Danty the players punished.

Almost immediately after, Jordan Lamour went over in the corner amidst boos and whistles for the only try of the game – flyhalf Harry Byrne converting.

Stade Rochelais were restricted to just two penalties in the opening 40 by a committed Leinster defence, flyhalf Antoine Hastoy kicking both either side of Lamour’s try.

A late penalty from Frawley, who had quite literally just come on for the injured Byrne, sent Leinster in 10-6 to the good but knowing they would need to give it their all for the second period.

That they did, with their defence holding up against Stade Rochelais’ incessant attack.


It was a heroic display from the Irish province, who only let Stade Rochelais pick up three more points from Hastoy’s third penalty.

He missed a crucial chance to add another three, while Frawley made no such errors as he kicked his second penalty.

But his best came right at the death, with an audacious attempt from inside his own half. His effort was really meant to run down the clock, but as it turned red the ball sailed between the posts to stun the home supporters and finally give Leinster a win over Stade Rochelais.

Leinster will now face Sale Sharks in Dublin, while Stade Rochelais must travel to Cape Town to face the Stormers.


* Earlier George Ford impressed as Sale Sharks dominated Stade Francais Paris to win 28-5.

All of Sale Sharks’ three tries came in the second half, as the hosts broke the resolved defence of their French opposition.

All Sunday’s scores and scorers follow below ….

Sale Sharks 28-5 Stade Français

The scorers

For Sale Sharks
Tries: O’Flaherty, Hill, Dugdale
Cons: Curtis 2
Pens: Ford 3

For Stade Francais
Try: Ward


Sale Sharks: 15 Joe Carpenter, 14 Tom Roebuck, 13 Sam James, 12 Manu Tuilagi, 11 Arron Reed, 10 George Ford, 9 Gus Warr, 8 Dan du Preez, 7 Ben Curry (captain), 6 Sam Dugdale, 5 Jonny Hill, 4 Ben Bamber, 3 Nick Schonert, 2 Tommy Taylor, 1 Si McIntyre.
Replacements: 16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Ross Harrison, 18 Asher Opoku-Fordjour, 19 Cobus Wiese, 20 Josh Beaumont, 21 Raffi Quirke, 22 Tom Curtis, 23 Connor Doherty.

Stade Francais: 15 Leo Barre, 14 Kylan Hamdaoui, 13 Jeremy Ward (captain), 12 Pierre Boudehent, 11 Peniasi Dakuwaqa, 10 Joris Segonds, 9 Hugo Zabalza, 8 Mathieu Hirigoyen, 7 Ryan Chapuis, 6 Julien Ory, 5 JJ van der Mescht, 4 Pierre-Henri Azagoh, 3 Paul Alo-Emile, 2 Lucas Peyresblanques, 1 Clement Castets.
Replacements: 16 Mamoudou Meite, 17 Sergo Abramishvili, 18 Francisco Gomez Kodela, 19 Paul Gabrillagues, 20 Baptiste Pesenti, 21 Jules Gimbert, 22 Tanginoa Halaifonua, 23 Lester Etien.

Referee: Mike Adamson (Scotland)
Assistant referees: Ian Kenny (Scotland), Jonny Perriam (Scotland)
TMO: David Sutherland (Scotland)

La Rochelle 9-16 Leinster

The scorers

For La Rochelle
Pens: Hastoy 3

For Leinster
Try: Larmour
Con: Byrne
Pens: Frawley 3

Yellow cards: Jonathan Danty(La Rochelle, 11), Joe McCarthy (Leinster, 11)


La Rochelle: 15 Brice Dulin, 14 Dillyn Leyds, 13 Ulupano Seuteni, 12 Jonathan Danty, 11 Jules Favre, 10 Antoine Hastoy, 9 Tawerra Kerr-Barlow, 8 Yoan Tanga, 7 Levani Botia, 6 Paul Boudehent, 5 Will Skelton, 4 Thomas Lavault, 3 Uini Atonio, 2 Pierre Bourgarit (captain), 1 Reda Wardi.
Replacements: 16 Sacha Idoumi, 17 Joel Sclavi, 18 Georges-Henri Colombe, 19 Ultan Dillane, 20 Rémi Picquette, 21 Judicaël Cancoriet, 22 Teddy Iribaren, Hugo Reus.

Leinster: 15 Hugo Keenan, 14 Jordan Larmour, 13 Garry Ringrose (cc), 12 Robbie Henshaw, 11 Jimmy O’Brien, 10 Harry Byrne, 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Caelan Doris, 7 Will Connors, 6 Ryan Baird, 5 James Ryan (cc), 4 Joe McCarthy, 3 Michael Ala’alatoa, 2 Dan Sheehan, 1 Andrew Porter.
Replacements: 16 Rónan Kelleher, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Thomas Clarkson, 19 Jason Jenkins, 20 Josh van der Flier, 21 Ben Murphy, 22 Ciarán Frawley, 23 Charlie Ngatai.

Referee: Matthew Carley (England)
Assistant referees: Hamish Smales (England), Paul Dix (England)
TMO: Andrew Jackson (England)

* Source: @ChampionsCup

Join free

Beyond 80 | Episode 3

Japan Rugby League One | Bravelupus v Eagles | Full Match Replay

Big Jim Show | Guinness Six Nations | England v Scotland

Vancouver SVNS - Day 2 - Full Replay

Vancouver SVNS - Day 1 - Full Replay

Boks Office | Jesse Kriel reveals the hardest team he had to play at the Rugby World Cup

Big Jim Walks and Talks with Handré Pollard


Write A Comment