Get Newsletter

Stade Toulousain confirm top spot

MATCH REPORT: In an enthralling game, Stade Toulousain confirmed top spot in Pool 2 with a 31-19 win over Bath.


The Stade Ernest Wallon was treated to a classic, as Thomas Ramos orchestrated a special win for the home team which also secured their position as the number one ranked club in the knockout stage.

In a brilliant first half, both sides scored three tries to go in level at the break, the scores tied 19-19.

For the hosts, second-row Emmanuel Meafou and flyhalf Ramos went over, the TOP14 side also earning a penalty try which resulted in second-row Charlie Ewels being sent to the sin-bin.

For Bath, both props in Beno Obano and Thomas du Toit scored, centre Ollie Lawrence adding their third.

Ramos kicked one conversion, with Bath scrumhalf Ben Spencer adding four from the tee in a back-and-forth encounter.

Despite such a busy first period, or perhaps because of it, it took until the 68th minute for the first points of the second period to be scored.


It was the hosts who eventually broke the second half deadlock, Ramos spraying a brilliant pass out wide to wing Juan Cruz Mallia.

Ramos himself then scored Stade Toulousain’s fifth try as he dived into a brilliant grubber kick from scrumhalf Antoine Dupont, the flyhalf making and missing one conversion.

The final try was a real knife in Bath’s otherwise excellent performance, denying them a losing bonus-point and home advantage in the knockout stage.

But for Stade Toulousain, victory was yet another sign of the quality they possess as they search for a sixth Champions Cup title.



For Toulouse:
Tries: Meafou, Ramos 2, Mallia, Penalty
Cons: Ramos 2

For Bath:
Tries: Obano, Du Toit, Lawrence
Cons: Spencer 2


Toulouse: 15 Blair Kinghorn, 14 Juan Cruz Mallia, 13 Dimitri Delibes, 12 Pita Ahki, 11 Matthis Lebel, 10 Thomas Ramos, 9 Antoine Dupont (captain), 8 Anthony Jelonch, 7 Jack Willis, 6 François Cros, 5 Emmanuel Meafou, 4 Richie Arnold, 3 Dorian Aldegheri, 2 Peato Mauvaka, 1 Cyril Baille.
Replacements: 16 Julien Marchand, 17 David Ainu’u, 18 Nepo Laulala, 19 Joshua Brennan, 20 Alban Placines, 21 Arthur Retiere, 22 Sofiane Guitoune, 23 Ange Capuozzo.

Bath: 15 Matt Gallagher, 14 Joe Cokanasiga, 13 Max Ojomoh, 12 Ollie Lawrence, 11 Will Muir, 10 Finn Russell, 9 Ben Spencer (captain), 8 Miles Reid, 7 Chris Cloete, 6 Josh Bayliss, 5 Charlie Ewels, 4 Quinn Roux, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Niall Annett, 1 Beno Obano.
Replacements: 16 Hame Faiva, 17 Juan Schoeman, 18 Will Stuart, 19 Elliott Stooke, 20 Ewan Richards, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Orlando Bailey, 23 Cameron Redpath.

Referee: Andrew Brace (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Frank Murphy (Ireland), Paul Haycock (Ireland)
TMO: Olly Hodges (Ireland)

Source @EPCR

Join free

Fresh Starts | Episode 1 | Will Skelton


Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 8

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

New Zealand crowned BACK-TO-BACK champions | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Women's Highlights

Japan Rugby League One | Steelers v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Rugby Europe Women's Championship | Netherlands v Spain

Write A Comment