Get Newsletter

Giant killers Glasgow stun Bulls to win URC title

MATCH REPORT: Glasgow Warriors have been crowned the 2024 United Rugby Championship champs after they beat the Bulls 21-16 in an epic comeback at Loftus Versfeld on Saturday.


Trailing 0-13 for the majority of the first half, the Glasgow Warriors put up a brave fight and scored three tries for the incredible win in front of a sold-out Loftus stadium.

Scott Cummings, George  Turner and Huw Jones were the try scorers for Glasgow while scrumhalf Goerge Horne added six points with the boot.

Springbok Marco Van Staden scored the only try for the home side and flyhalf Johan Goosen added a conversion and three penalties to the tally.

*To recap all the action CLICK HERE!!

It was always going to be a challenge for Glasgow Warriors, who headed into the match as clear underdogs.

The Bulls were labelled the favourites after their semifinal win over Leinster at home last weekend.

However, Franco Smith’s men showed their credentials and proved that their wins over the 2022 winners Stormers in the quarterfinal and 2023 winner Munster in the semifinal were no fluke.

The Bulls, who had lost only one of their last 12 URC matches at this venue, led inside 100 seconds through Goosen’s penalty.


A second successful kick followed for the 6-0 lead.

The hosts looked like they extended their lead after Wilco Louw powered over the line. However teh prop was denied was denied by the TMO, who deemed Rory Darge held him up.

But the Bulls were not to be denied moments later when Van Staden barged his way through the Glasgow defence, with Goosen landing the conversion.

Glasgow responded well and gave themselves a lifeline moments before the break when Cummings went over and Horne converted.


It was very physical contest with both teams making big hits. The Bulls lost the services of last weekend’s man of the match Cameron Hanekom in the 48th minute.

The No.8 limped off the field and was replaced by Nizaam Carr.

The Bulls survived the nervy period and won a penalty inside the Glasgow Warriors half. Goosen had no problem slotting over the three points for the 16-7 lead, some relief for the Bulls.

A few minutes later, though, the Warriors cut the deficit to just two points when Turner, on his last appearance for the club, went over from a maul, which Horne converted.

Glasgow Warriors’ second try really shifted the momentum.

The Scotts took the lead for the first time after 62 minutes. They found themselves in the Bulls’ 22 and some great interplay by the backs saw Jones strolled over the for the converted try and the 21-16 lead.

Glasgow thought they had sealed the win when Jack Dempsey intercepted and scored. However, he was denied by TMO who spotted an early tackle on Kurt-Lee Arendse.

It was a dramatic conclusion at Loftus Versfeld. Glasgow Warriors went down to 14 men, Tom Jordan was handed a yellow card for his high tackle on Francoise Kloppers.

The Scottish side survived late Bulls pressure to be crowned champions.

Man of the Match:  Scotland flank Matt Fagerson delivered an outstanding performance for Glasgow. He was his side’s top tackler with 15 and also had two offloads as the Scottish side stunned the home crowd in Pretoria.

Play of the match:  Glasgow’s maul has been one of the major reasons for their success this season and it again proved decisive. Turner went over from a driving maul to haul his side back into the game and they never looked back

The scorers:

For Bulls:
Try: Van Staden
Con: Goosen
Pens: Goosen 3

For Glasgow Warriors:
Tries: Cummings, Turner, Jones
Cons: Horne 3

Yellow card: Tom Jordan (Glasgow Warriors, 77 – high tackle)


Bulls: 15 Devon Williams, 14 Sergeal Petersen, 13 David Kriel, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 10 Johan Goosen, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Cameron Hanekom, 7 Elrigh Louw, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Ruan Nortje (captain), 4 Ruan Vermaak, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Johan Grobbelaar, 1 Gerhard Steenekamp.
Replacements: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Simpiwe Matanzima, 18 Francois Klopper, 19 Reinhardt Ludwig, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Zak Burger, 22 Chris Smith, 23 Cornel Smit.

Glasgow Warriors: 15 Josh McKay, 14 Sebastian Cancelliere, 13 Huw Jones, 12 Sione Tuipulotu, 11 Kyle Steyn (captain), 10 Tom Jordan, 9 George Horne, 8 Jack Dempsey, 7 Rory Darge, 6 Matt Fagerson, 5 Scott Cummings, 4 Richie Gray, 3 Zander Fagerson, 2 Johnny Matthews, 1 Jamie Bhatti.
Replacements: 16 George Turner, 17 Nathan McBeth, 18 Oli Kebble, 19 Max Williamson, 20 Euan Ferrie, 21 Henco Venter, 22 Jamie Dobie, 23 Duncan Weir.

Referee: Andrea Piardi (Italy)
Assistant referees: Frank Murphy (Ireland) and Craig Evans (Wales)
TMO: Matteo Liperini (Italy)



The Women's Rugby World Cup 2025 is coming to England. Register now here to be the first to hear about tickets.

Join free

England v Ireland | World Rugby U20 Championship 2024 | Semi-Final Full Match Replay

New Zealand v France | World Rugby U20 Championship 2024 | Semi-Final Full Match Replay

Boks Office | Episode 14 | South Africa v Ireland Review Live

Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 21

South Africa v England | World Rugby U20 Championship 2024 | Pool C Full Match Replay

Embedded 2024 | England | Episode 3

France v Wales | World Rugby U20 Championship 2024 | Pool A Full Match Replay

Walk the Talk | Brodie Retallick | The King of the Skies

Write A Comment