Get Newsletter

Exciting fixtures as next gen prep for World U20 Champs

NEWS: The World Rugby Under-20 Championship returns to South Africa in June and July when the 12 best teams will battle it out for global supremacy, with France defending the title they won in Cape Town last year, while the Junior Springboks will look to improve on their bronze medal from 2023.


The tournament kicks off on June 29 in Cape Town at Cape Town Stadium and Athlone Stadium, with the next two pool match days scheduled for July 4 and 9. The playoffs – including the semifinals for the top four sides – will be played on July 14, with the final and placing matches on July 19.

The venues for the matches will be the Danie Craven Stadium in Stellenbosch, as well as Athlone Stadium and the Cape Town Stadium in Cape Town.

The Junior Boks are in Pool C with England, Argentina and Fiji; Pool A consists of France, Wales, New Zealand and Spain; and Ireland, runners up in 2023, Australia, Georgia and Italy are in Pool B.

SA Rugby CEO Rian Oberholzer said: “Last year’s tournament was an unforgettable experience and we’re expecting more of the same this year. With the recent U20 Rugby Championship, we saw how closely matched the four SANZAAR teams were, and it was the same in the U20 Six Nations, where England emerged victorious.

“To host the next generation of superstars next month is a great privilege and we can’t wait to welcome their families, friends and fans to South Africa.

“The World Rugby U20 Championship plays an important role in the global rugby picture and is key in promoting and growing the game, while we are also excited to unearth the next generation of Springboks.”


The World Rugby U20 Championship 2024 will be the first international competition to feature the three new law amendments implemented to promote ball in flow and diversity of attacking options, while supporting player welfare.

These are that players will no longer be put onside when an opponent catches the ball from a kick in open play and runs five metres, players must make an attempt to retreat; scrums will no longer be an option from free kicks; and the banning of the crocodile roll.

A package of six law trials will also operate, including the simplified red card sanction process, approved by the World Rugby Executive Board.

World Rugby U20 Championship fixtures:

*All kick-offs are local time, GMT+2

Saturday, June 29


Cape Town Stadium:

14.00 – France v Spain
16.30 – Ireland v Italy
19.00 – South Africa v Fiji

Athlone Stadium:

14.00 – England v Argentina
16.30 – Australia v Georgia
19.00 – Wales v New Zealand

Thursday, July 4

Danie Craven Stadium:

14.00 – Ireland v Georgia
16.30 – France v New Zealand
19.00 – South Africa v Argentina

Athlone Stadium:

14.00 – Wales v Spain
16.30 – England v Fiji
19.00 – Australia v Italy

Tuesday, July 9:

Athlone Stadium:

14.00 – Ireland v Australia
16.30 – France v Wales
19.00 – South Africa v England

Danie Craven Stadium:

14.00 – Argentina v Fiji
16.30 – Georgia v Italy
19.00 – New Zealand v Spain

Sunday, July 14:

Danie Craven Stadium:

14.00- 10th seed v 11th seed (match 19)
16.30 – 9th seed v 12th seed (match 20)
19.00 – 6th seed v 7th seed (match 21)

Cape Town Stadium:

14.00 – 5th seed v 8th seed (match 22) *
16.30 – 2nd seed v 3rd seed (semifinal – match 23)
19.00 – 1st seed v 4th seed (semifinal – match 24)

Friday, July 19:

Athlone Stadium:

12.00 -Loser Match 19 v Loser Match 20
14.30 – Winner Match 19 v Winner Match 20
17.00 – Loser Match 21 v Loser Match 22

Cape Town Stadium:

14.00 – Winner Match 21 v Winner Match 22 *
16.30 – Loser Match 23 v Loser Match 24 (bronze medal match)
19.00: Winner Match 23 v Winner Match 24 (Final)

Note: On both playoff days, the Junior Boks will play the first match at Cape Town Stadium no matter what position they are playing for, unless involved in the semi-finals or the medal matches, in which case they will play in the corresponding fixture.

World Rugby U20 Championship match official panel:

Referees: Takehito Namekawa (Japan), Saba Abulashvili (Georgia), Federico Vedovelli (Italy), Reuben Keane (Australia), Jérémy Rozier (France), Morné Ferreira (South Africa), Adam Jones (Wales), Sam Grove-White (Scotland), Aimee Barrett-Theron (South Africa).

TMO: Matteo Liperini (Italy), Mark Patton (Ireland), Mike Adamson (Scotland), Damon Murphy (Australia), Tual Trainini (France), Ian Tempest (England), Ben Whitehouse (Wales), Andrew McMenemy (Scotland), Andrew Jackson (England), Quinton Immelman (South Africa).


Join free

England vs France | World Rugby U20 Championship Final | Full Match Replay

Scotland vs USA | U20 Trophy Final | Full Match Replay

Boks Office | Episode 15 | Extreme Golf Special

Embedded 2024 | England | Episode 4

Before They Make It | South Africa

Before They Make It | England

Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 22

Women's Six Nations winner to Paris Olympic sevens for Team GB | Ellie Kildunne | Stronger Than You Think | S3 Ep 2

Write A Comment