Get Newsletter

Ospreys record famous win over Stormers in Cape Town

MATCH REPORT: The Stormers’ hopes of claiming a home play-off spot suffered a big setback on Saturday at the Cape Town Stadium.


The inaugural URC champs were stunned as they recorded a 21-27 defeat to the Ospreys in the Round 14 showdown.

The result means the Stormers are sixth on the log and level on 40 points with seventh-placed Ospreys, who displayed some quality rugby.

*To recap all the action CLICK HERE! 

The Welsh side outscored the hosts four tries to three.

The Stormers salvaged a losing bonus point after being awarded a penalty try in the closing minutes.

Centre Dan du Plessis and Evan Roos scored the five-pointers for the Capetonians, while Manie Libbok added two conversions.

For Ospeys, wing Luke Morgan scored a brace of tries, while hooker Sam Parry and flank Harri Deaves were the other try-scorers,

Replacement flyhalf Jack Walsh added two conversions and a penalty to the tally.


Fullback Max Nagy sent an early message to the Stormers with his drop goal attempt as the smoke cleared inside the Cape Town Stadium.

The fullback’s attempt was missed, but it set the tone for the match.

Stormers replied with an early try-scoring opportunity courtesy of multiple cross-kicks by Manie Libbok and great handling between the backs.


However, Suleiman Hartzenberg’s pass to Evan Roos was intercepted just short of the tryline and instead, it was the visitors, who set up a counterattack.

They were rewarded when a perfectly timed grubber saw Morgan cross the line for the first try. Dan Edwards failed to convert.

The Capetonians got on the board in the 14th minute. From a line-out, John Dobson’s men produced a stunning set move,  finished by Du Plessis. Libbok made it 7-5 with a conversion.

Ospreys rallied again. The forwards showed their prowess with multiple phases before hooker Sam Parry bashed over from close range. Replacement flyhalf Walsh could not convert.

The Stormers had a couple of chances. First, with a well-placed kick, it looked like Hartzenberg was bound to score, but an incredible chase by Keelan Giles made it impossible for the wing to ground the ball.

And then with just five minutes to go before the break, the Stormers had an attacking line-out inside the opposition’s 22. But a handling error halted all their efforts.

The Ospreys eventually made them pay as they extended the lead on the verge of half-time.

A Libbok cross-kick was caught by Walsh, who sent Morgan on his way for his second try.

A successful conversion by Walsh made it 17-7 for the Welsh team at the break.

The Stormers started the second stanza with intent and were rewarded just five minutes after the kick-off.

Wandisile Simelane made a break, sidestepping a couple of defenders before Evan Roos rampaged his way over the line. Libbok added the extras.

The Stormers again pilled on the pressure but Ospreys’ defence held strong.

The visitors eventually enjoyed a period of possession. They had a scrum inside the Stormers’ five and after a couple of hard carries Harri Deaves powered over. Walsh made it 24-14 with the easy two-pointer.

The Stormers threw everything at their opponents during the final moments but they could find no way through. The 80th-minute penalty try was the only reward for their efforts, securing a losing bonus point.

Next up for the Stormers is Leinster at the Cape Town Stadium. while Ospreys head to Loftus Versfeld to take on the Bulls.

Man of the match: There were a lot of standouts for the Ospreys. Max Nagy deserves a mention for his effort. However, our nod goes to replacement flyhalf Jack Walsh. He was impressive and his kick put the Stormers under pressure.

The scorers:

For Stormers:
Tries: Du Plessis, Roos, Penalty try
Cons: Libbok 2, Penalty try don’t need conversion

For Ospreys:
Tries: Morgan 2, Parry, Deaves
Cons: Walsh 2
Pen: Walsh

Yellow card: Max Nagy (Ospreys, 82 – deliberate knock on)


Stormers: 15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Suleiman Hartzenberg, 13 Wandisile Simelane, 12 Dan du Plessis, 11 Ben Loader, 10 Manie Libbok, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Evan Roos, 7 Hacjivah Dayimani, 6 Nama Xaba, 5 Gary Porter, 4 Adre Smith, 3 Frans Malherbe (captain), 2 JJ Kotze, 1 Brok Harris.
Replacements: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Ruben van Heerden, 20 Willie Engelbrecht, 21 Marcel Theunissen, 22 Paul de Wet, 23 Damian Willemse.

Ospreys: 15 Max Nagy, 14 Luke Morgan, 13 Keiran Williams, 12 Owen Watkin, 11 Keelan Giles, 10 Dan Edwards, 9 Reuben Morgan-Williams, 8 Morgan Morris (captain), 7 Harri Deaves, 6 James Ratti, 5 Huw Sutton, 4 Victor Sekekete, 3 Rhys Henry, 2 Sam Parry, 1 Nicky Smith
Replacements: 16 Lewis Lloyd, 17 Garyn Phillips, 18 Ben Warren, 19 Adam Beard, 20 Jeandre Rudolph, 21 Luke Davies, 22 Jack Walsh, 23 Evardi Boshoff

Referee: Andrew Brace (Ireland)
Assistant referees: Cwengile Jadezweni (South Africa) and Hanru van Rooyen (South Africa)
TMO: Chris Busby (Ireland)

Join free

New Zealand v Canada | Pacific Four Series 2024 | Full Match Replay

HSBC Sevens Challenger Series - Munich Day Two Replay

HSBC Sevens Challenger Series - Krakow Day Two Replay

Japan Rugby League One Semi-Final | Wildknights v Eagles | Full Match Replay

Japan Rugby League One Semi-Final | Bravelupus v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Pieter-Steph du Toit, The Malmesbury Missile, in conversation with Big Jim

The Antoine Dupont Interview

Chasing The Sun | Series 1 Episode 1

Write A Comment