Do Not Sell My Personal Information
RugbyPass Match Centre
Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
No games this week.
Full schedule >
No games this week.
Full schedule >
Sat 7 Mar 2020 | 06:44

Exeter thrash Bath

Exeter thrash Bath
Sat 7 Mar 2020 | 06:44
Exeter thrash Bath

PREMIERSHIP REPORT: Exeter Chiefs continue to lead the way at the top of the Premiership table after a rampant display at Sandy Park which saw them run in eight tries against Bath for a 57-20 win.

The writing was on the wall as early as the fifth minute for Stuart Hooper’s side, as Tom O’Flaherty went over in the corner to get the ball rolling, before Olly Woodburn added a second just eight minutes later.

All Bath had to show for their first-half efforts was an early Rhys Priestland penalty, while at the other end the pressure was relentless, with Sam Simmonds going over after breaking away from a powerful Chiefs maul.

And the finishing touch from a near-perfect first stanza in Devon came from Jannes Kirsten, who rounded off a fantastic team move to secure the bonus-point before the break, as the Chiefs went into the changing rooms 29-3 to the good.

And the rout continued just seconds after the restart, as Simmonds grabbed his second of the game after weaving through the Bath defence to touch down.

The visitors eventually got their first try soon after as Zach Mercer touched down, before Elvis Taione immediately replied for the hosts as he bundled over from close range.

With the game over as a contest, Bath notched two more consolation scores with Max Wright and Ruaridh McConnochie going over, before Woodburn and Jack Maunder crossed to see the Chiefs break the 50-point barrier for the second time in three Premiership matches.

The scorers:

For Exeter Chiefs:
Tries: O’Flaherty, Woodburn 2, Simmonds 2, Kirsten, Taione, Maunder
Cons: J Simmonds 5, Steenson 2
Pen: J Simmonds

For Bath:
Tries: Mercer, Wright, McConnochie
Con: Burns
Pen: Priestland

Yellow card: Josh McNally (Bath, 31)


Exeter Chiefs: 15 Phil Dollman, 14 Tom O’Flaherty, 13 Ian Whitten, 12 Tom Hendrickson, 11 Olly Woodburn, 10 Joe Simmonds (captain), 9 Nic White, 8 Sam Simmonds, 7 Jacques Vermeulen, 6 Dave Ewers, 5 Jonny Hill, 4 Jannes Kirsten, 3 Harry Williams, 2 Elvis Taione, 1 Alec Hepburn.
Replacements: 16 Jordon Poole, 17 Ben Moon, 18 Enrique Pieretto, 19 Will Witty, 20 Don Armand, 21 Jack Maunder, 22 Gareth Steenson, 23 Jack Nowell.

Bath: 15 Tom Homer, 14 Semesa Rokoduguni, 13 Max Wright, 12 Jackson Willison, 11 Ruaridh McConnochie, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Will Chudley, 8 Zach Mercer, 7 Francois Louw (captain), 6 Mike Williams, 5 Elliott Stooke, 4 Josh McNally, 3 Christian Judge, 2 Jack Walker, 1 Beno Obano.
Replacements: 16 Tom Dunn, 17 Lewis Boyce, 18 Sam Nixon, 19 Tom Ellis, 20 Josh Bayliss, 21 Ollie Fox, 22 Freddie Burns, 23 Tom De Glanville.

Referee: Luke Pearce
Assistant Referees: Adam Leal & Phil Watters.
TMO: Keith Lewis.


PV: 660

Exeter Thrash Bath | Rugby365