Do Not Sell My Personal Information
RugbyPass Match Centre
Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
No games this week.
Full schedule >
No games this week.
Full schedule >
Sat 29 Feb 2020 | 08:59

Leicester clinch win over Warriors

Leicester clinch win over Warriors
Sat 29 Feb 2020 | 08:59
Leicester clinch win over Warriors

MATCH REPORT: Two second-half penalties from Johnny McPhillips saw Leicester Tigers record a 14-8 win over Worcester Warriors.

The defeat is Warriors’ fifth straight Premiership Rugby defeat.

Warriors arrived at Welford Road having won their past five matches against Tigers in all competitions and got off to a fine start with Perry Humphreys bursting through for the opening score on 13 minutes.

Flyhalf Noel Reid was forced off through injury but his replacement McPhillips cut back the deficit to 5-3 with a penalty.

The hosts then went ahead on 35 minutes when Jordan Olowofela touched down only for Duncan Weir’s kick to level the scores at 8-8 at half-time.

This was how it stayed until the 63rd minute when McPhillips landed his second penalty of the afternoon.

Olowofela was ruled out a second try late on before McPhillips dispatched another three-pointer to settle the contest.

The scorers:

For Leicester Tigers:
Try: Olowofela
Pens: McPhillips 3

For Worcester Warriors:
Try: Humphreys
Pen: Weir


Leicester Tigers: 15 Telusa Veainu, 14 Jonah Holmes, 13 George Worth, 12 Kyle Eastmond, 11 Jordan Olowofela, 10 Noel Reid, 9 Ben White, 8 Sione Kalamafoni, 7 Jordan Taufua, 6 Hanro Liebenberg, 5 Harry Wells, 4 Tomás Lavanini, 3 Dan Cole (captain), 2 Jake Kerr, 1 Greg Bateman
Replacements: 16 Tatafu Polota-Nau, 17 Nephi Leatigaga, 18 Joe Heyes, 19 Joe Batley, 20 Tommy Reffell, 21 Harry Simmons, 22 Johnny McPhillips, 23 Joe Thomas

Worcester Warriors: 15 Jamie Shillcock, 14 Perry Humphreys, 13 Ollie Lawrence, 12 Ryan Mills, 11 Nick David, 10 Duncan Weir, 9 Francois Hougaard, 8 Cornell du Preez, 7 Marco Mama, 6 Ted Hill, 5 Graham Kitchener, 4 Anton Bresler, 3 Nick Schonert, 2 Matt Moulds (captain), 1 Ethan Waller.
Replacements: 16 Niall Annett, 17 Kai Owen, 18 Richard Palframan, 19 Andrew Kitchener, 20 Sam Lewis, 21 Michael Heaney, 22 Jono Lance, 23 Scott van Breda

Referee: Adam Leal
Assistant Referees: Craig Maxwell-Keys & Roy Maybank.
TMO: David Grashoff

PV: 335

Leicester Clinch Win Over Warriors | Rugby365