Fri 22 Mar 2019 | 02:34

Kings opt for consistency against Ulster

Kings opt for consistency against Ulster
Fri 22 Mar 2019 | 02:34
Kings opt for consistency against Ulster

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: The Southern Kings have named their team to take on Ulster ahead of their Pro14 Round 18 clash at Kingspan Stadium on Saturday.

Deon Davids, the side’s head coach, has opted for consistency as he makes only a few changes to the team took on Cardiff Blues in Wales earlier this month.

No.8 Ruaan Lerm, who missed out on the action against Cardiff Blues due to concussion, is back in the starting line-up as he takes the place of Andisa Ntsila, who will provide loose-forward cover from the bench this week.

The only other change is at scrumhalf where Stefan Ungerer returns to the starting XV, replacing the injured Sarel Pretorius, who has been left behind in South Africa.

The only new addition to the matchday 23 is the return of Harlon Klaasen to the team. The centre will provide midfield cover from the bench, in a rotational switch with Berton Klaasen, who has been rested this week.

“We are expecting rainy and muddy conditions over in Belfast. It is very cold this time of the season in Ireland. So, underfoot it will be a bit slippery which will make the conditions a bit challenging,” said Davids.

“Looking back at our last tour, we will have to revisit how we approach it – the way we play our rugby in our back 50, and what we want to achieve in our front 50. I think the guys are starting to understand the importance of having a good mindset and minimising our mistakes.”


Ulster: 15 Louis Ludik, 14 Rob Baloucoune, 13 Darren Cave, 12 Stuart McCloskey, 11 Rob Lyttle, 10 Billy Burns, 9 Dave Shanahan, 8 Marcell Coetzee, 7 Nick Timoney, 6 Matty Rea, 5 Ian Nagle, 4 Alan O’Connor (captain), 3 Marty Moore, 2 Rob Herring, 1 Andy Warwick.
Replacements: 16 John Andrew, 17 Wiehahn Herbst, 18 Tom O’Toole, 19 Kieran Treadwell, 20 Clive Ross, 21 John Cooney, 22 Michael Lowry, 23 Angus Kernohan.

Southern Kings: 15 Ulrich Beyers, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Meli Rokoua, 12 Tertius Kruger, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Bader Pretorius, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Ruaan Lerm, 7 Martinus Burger, 6 Henry Brown, 5 John-Charles Astle (captain), 4 Andries Van Schalkwyk, 3 De-Jay Terblanche, 2 Michael Willemse, 1 Alulutho Tshakweni.
Replacements: 16 Alandre Van Rooyen, 17 Schalk Ferreira, 18 Lupumlo Mguca, 19 Stephan Greeff, 20 Andisa Ntsila, 21 Rudi Van Rooyen, 22 Masixole Banda, 23 Harlon Klaasen.

Date: Saturday, March 23
Venue: Kingspan Stadium, Belfast
Kick-off: 17.30 (17.30 GMT; 19.30 SA time)
Referee: Lloyd Linton (Scotland)
Assistant referees: Sam Grove-White (Scotland), Graeme Ormiston (Scotland)
TMO: Andrew McMenemy (Scotland)

PV: 1382

Kings Opt For Consistency Against Ulster | Rugby365