RugbyPass Match Centre
Wed 22 May 2019 | 02:34

Several Saffas make Pro14 dream team nominations

Several Saffas make Pro14 dream team nominations
Wed 22 May 2019 | 02:34
Several Saffas make Pro14 dream team nominations

IN THE SPOTLIGHT: Former Stormers scrumhalf Dewaldt Duvenage and Cheetahs star Maxwane are two of the few South African stars that have been nominated for the Pro14 dream team.

Duvenage, who currently plies his trade at Italian side Benetton, is joined by the likes of former Bulls prop Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh, WP Nel (Edinburgh), Braam Steyn (Benetton), CJ Stander (Munster). Marcel Coetzee (Ulster) and Jaco van der Walt (Edinburgh).

While wing Rabz Maxwane is the only locally-based and Cheetahs player who made the list of 45 players nominated.

The wing’s nomination certainly caps a tremendous season for the wing who picked up the Top-try scorer award for his 14 tries.

In terms of team representation, Benetton have scooped seven nominations, two more than Glasgow and four more than Leinster.


Loosehead Prop: Dave Kilcoyne (Munster); Eric O’Sullivan (Ulster); Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh);

Hooker: Epalahame Faiva (Benetton Rugby); Rob Herring (Ulster); Ken Owens (Scarlets);

Tighthead Prop: Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors), WP Nel (Edinburgh), Marco Riccioni (Benetton Rugby)

Second Row: Tadhg Beirne (Munster), Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors), Federico Ruzza (Benetton Rugby):

Second Row: Scott Fardy (Leinster); Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors); Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys);

Blindside Flank: Max Deegan (Leinster); Peter O’Mahony (Munster); Josh Turnbull (Cardiff Blues);

Openside Flank: Colby Fainga’a (Connacht), Braam Steyn (Benetton); Hamish Watson (Edinburgh);

No.8: Marcel Coetzee (Ulster), Bill Mata (Edinburgh), CJ Stander (Munster);

Scrumhalf: Caolin Blade (Connacht); John Cooney (Ulster); Dewaldt Duvenage (Benetton);

Flyhalf: Jack Carty (Connacht); Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors); Jaco van der Walt (Edinburgh);

Left Wing: Darcy Graham (Edinburgh); James Lowe (Leinster); Rabz Maxwane ( Cheetahs);

Inside Centre: Bundee Aki (Connacht); Willis Halaholo (Cardiff Blues); Stuart McCloskey (Ulster);

Outside Centre: Tom Farrell (Connacht); Rey Lee-Lo (Cardiff Blues); Nick Grigg (Glasgow Warriors);

Right Wing: Monty Ioane (Benetton Rugby); Johnny McNicholl (Scarlets); Ratuva Tavuyara (Benetton Rugby);

Fullback: Dan Evans (Ospreys); Mike Haley (Munster); Matthew Morgan (Cardiff Blues).

PV: 891

Several Saffas Make Pro14 Dream Team Nominations | Rugby365