Wed 11 Jul 2018 | 09:23

BlitzBok coach reveals his World Cup hand

BlitzBok coach reveals his World Cup hand
Wed 11 Jul 2018 | 09:23
BlitzBok coach reveals his World Cup hand

SQUAD ANNOUNCEMENT: Springbok Sevens coach Neil Powell has revealed his squad for the Rugby World Cup Sevens in San Francisco next weekend.

South Africa are the top seeded team for the Rugby World Cup Sevens, which will be played at AT&T Park from July 20-22.

All 12 players in the squad were involved in the last World Series, played across 10 tournaments around the world, but only the BlitzBok captain, Philip Snyman, has experience of playing at a Rugby World Cup Sevens event. He did so in Dubai (2009) and Moscow (2013), while the rest of the squad will make their debuts at this level.

Snyman will become the first South African to play in three RWC Sevens tournaments. The rest of the team consists of BlitzBok regulars and will see a return from injury for Rosko Specman and Selvyn Davids, both of whom missed the last two World Series events played in London and Paris last month.

The experienced quartet of Kyle Brown, Cecil Afrika, Chris Dry and Seabelo Senatla have all been ruled out due to injury. Those four players played in Moscow in 2013.

Tim Agaba and Stedman Gans are also ruled out due to injury, while Albertus Smith and Sikhumbuzo Notshe were not considered because of their involvement in Super Rugby.

The fact that the BlitzBoks used 28 players during the 2017/18 World Series and the Commonwealth Games, which took place in in Australia in April, softened the unavailability of a couple of those veterans.

“I am pleased with the squad,” Powell said from Mossel Bay, where the team are finalising their preparations before departure to the USA.

“The team was picked with this tournament in mind and I am pleased that these 12 players are all on form and best suited for the way we approach the knock-out format of the event.

“A couple of players missed out on final selection, but did contribute to our overall preparations and those efforts are appreciated and acknowledged. Just as all of the 28 players contributed towards our World Series title, all involved did great work in order to get these 12 players ready for next weekend.”

Snyman said the BlitzBoks are determined to make the country proud: “We have received wonderful support from our supporters here in the Southern Cape and Gauteng last week and that made us even more determined not to let them down.

“We do not have the greatest of records in this tournament, but that said, we know we will be a very competitive team if we play to our strengths and within our game plan. It is exciting times for all of us and we are ready to do our best for our country.”

The Springbok Sevens team: Ryan Oosthuizen, Philip Snyman (captain), Dylan Sage, Zain Davids, Werner Kok, Heino Bezuidenhout, Dewald Human, Rosko Specman, Justin Geduld, Selvyn Davids, Siviwe Soyizwapi, Ruhan Nel.

PV: 1922

Blitzbok Coach Reveals His World Cup Hand | Rugby365