Mon 11 Jun 2018 | 09:11

BlitzBoks coach scoops top award

BlitzBoks coach scoops top award
Mon 11 Jun 2018 | 09:11
BlitzBoks coach scoops top award

AWARDS: Head coach Neil Powell was rewarded for leading the BlitzBoks to another World Rugby Sevens Series title.

It’s been one of the most competitive seasons on record with the men’s series being decided by just two points.

South Africa fought an incredible battle with Fiji to retain their title with victory at the final round in Paris.

After Fiji only managed a fifth-place finish at the final leg, the BlitzBoks needed to win the Cup in Paris to win the overall series.

And they did just that with a 24-14 win over England in the Final.

At the World Rugby Sevens Series 2018 Awards in Paris on Sunday, Powell picked up the men’s Coach of the Series award and paid tribute to his victorious team: “The mental focus and composure they showed was fantastic, all credit to the boys for believing in their success. We had everything to play for and the team did an incredible job, not just today but over the whole season.

“I also want to congratulate Fiji on an amazing season, they were phenomenal.”

Powell paid tribute to the 28 players used, management and all the support structures back in South Africa.

“We do this for more than ourselves. The support from back home is incredible and we find support all over the world, we want to thank all.

“This is a massive credit to our system and we are all very proud to be part of it,” Powell said.

Meanwhile, South Africa’s Dylan Sage was included in the 2017/2018 men’s Dream Team.

The Dream Team features four players from series runners-up Fiji, who won five of the 10 rounds. The Fijians included are Kalione Nasoko, captain Jerry Tuwai, series second top point scorer Amenoni Nasilasila and Rookie of the Year Sau. They are joined by Kenya’s Oscar Ouma, Australia’s Ben O’Donnell and Sage from series champions South Africa.

The Dream Team takes into consideration players’ performances across the season and previous nominations in the individual tournament dream teams.

Source: WorldRugby

PV: 1632

Blitzboks Coach Scoops Top Award | Rugby365