Get Newsletter

Williams makes All Blacks Sevens cut

New Zealand currently occupy seventh place with 25 points on the overall log, after finishing fourth in Dubai and reaching the plate semifinal in Cape Town.


Williams' 15-man team mate, Liam Messam was unavailable for selection due to his commitments in Japan.

New Zealand will be looking to regain their status as a dominant force on the Sevens circuit after they were hit with injuries to experienced players in the opening two rounds of the competition.

As such, the likes of newly appointed captain Scott Curry, Declan O'Donnell, DJ Forbes and Sherwin Stowers remain on the sidelines because of their respective injuries.

Kurt Baker makes a welcome return to the Sevens scene as a contracted squad member for 2016. The squad of 22 players features four additional players following the National Sevens competition, three of whom – Josh Van Lieshout, Sione Molia and Billy Ropiha – are new to the All Blacks Sevens setup.

The squad will assemble in Wellington on Thursday, January 21 and the final team for the event will be named on Monday, January 25.

All Blacks Sevens squad: Kurt Baker, Dylan Collier, Sam Dickson, Akira Ioane, Rieko Ioane, Gillies Kaka, Antonio Kiri Kiri, Ben Lam, Josh Van Lieshout, Tim Mikkelson, Sione Molia, Lewis Ormond, Augustine Pulu, Billy Ropiha, Ardie Savea, Teddy Stanaway, Isaac Te Aute, Isaac Te Tamaki, Beaudein Waaka, Regan Ware, Sonny Bill Williams, Joe Webber.


Join free

New Zealand v Canada | Pacific Four Series 2024 | Full Match Replay

HSBC Sevens Challenger Series - Munich Day Two Replay

HSBC Sevens Challenger Series - Krakow Day Two Replay

Japan Rugby League One Semi-Final | Wildknights v Eagles | Full Match Replay

Japan Rugby League One Semi-Final | Bravelupus v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Pieter-Steph du Toit, The Malmesbury Missile, in conversation with Big Jim

The Antoine Dupont Interview

Chasing The Sun | Series 1 Episode 1

Write A Comment