Get Newsletter

Sharks risk 'second string' team against Cardiff

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: The Sharks have named a decidedly second-string team to face Cardiff in a United Rugby Championship Round 17 encounter at Kings Park on Saturday.


The team is reflective of the franchise’s dual commitments.

With next weekend’s Challenge Cup Final against Gloucester in London, the Sharks side for this week’s match against the Welsh outfit is much-changed.

The main contingent for next week’s Final departs for London on Saturday.

Cardiff and the Sharks have accumulated 25 points on the standings, with the Durban side keen to put in a good showing in this, their penultimate home game of the tournament.

“We’ve allowed guys to put their hands up and play well, to give the team that goes to Gloucester good momentum going forward,” explains Sharks defence coach Joey Mongalo.


“Hopefully the way these guys account of themselves is a true reflection of where we are and how far we’ve come as a collective.”

Reniel Hugo leads the team against a side Mongalo warns needs to be respected.

Video Spacer

“They have specific individuals who have good ‘defenders beaten’ stats which we’ve looked at, and that comes from a good set-piece,” Mongalo said.


“If your set-piece is dominant, the defence is going backwards and you’re going forwards, you’re likely to gain momentum and line-breaks.

“Even though they’ve lost games, the losing margin has been narrow, even against top sides

“They’re a solid unit and will want to impose their game on the opposition.”

The list of players not available for selection due to injury includes Coenie Oosthuizen, Emile van Heerden, George Cronje, Jaden Hendrikse, Marnus Potgieter, Muller du Plessis, Nevaldo Fleurs and Zee Mkhabela.

Sharks: 15 Boeta Chamberlain, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Diego Appollis, 12 Eduan Keyter, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Lionel Cronje, 9 Tiaan Fourie, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Simon Miller, 6 Tino Mavesere, 5 Reniel Hugo (captain), 4 Corne Rahl, 3 Khwezi Mona, 2 Dylan Richardson, 1 Dian Bleuler.
Replacements 16 Dan Jooste, 17 Braam Reyneke, 18 IG Prinsloo, 19 Thomas Dyer, 20 Nick Hatton, 21 Bradley Davids, 22 Curwin Bosch, 23 Anthony Volmink.

Date: Saturday, May 18
Venue: Kings Park, Durban
Kick-off: 18.15 (17.15 UK time; 16.15 GMT)
Referee: Frank Murphy
Assistant referees: Griffin Colby, Stephen Geldenhuys
TMO: Eoghan Cross

Join free

South Africa v Great Britain | Men's Final | Sevens Repechage | Full Match Replay

Olympic Repechage - Day 1

Boks Office | Episode 11 | URC Final Preview

Walk the Talk | Eddie Jones | The Australian Job

Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 17

All Blacks | In Their Own Words S2 | Episode 1: The Final

The perfect pre-Olympic preparation for France! Men's HSBC SVNS Madrid Day Three Highlights

Australia finish with GOLD! Women's HSBC SVNS Madrid Day Three Highlights

Greatness | Dan Carter

Write A Comment