Get Newsletter

Frawley one of seven Ireland changes

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Ireland coach Andy Farrell has named his team for Saturday’s Nations clash against Wales in Dublin.


Ireland kicked off their 2024 championship with wins over France and Italy.

Following a bye week, the defending champions and Grand Slam winners return to action in front of another sold-out Lansdowne Road crowd this Saturday.

Captain Peter O’Mahony returns to the Ireland starting team for the Round Three clash against Warren Gatland’s side, becoming the ninth Ireland player to reach 50 appearances in the Six Nations – following in the footsteps of Rory Best, Ronan O’Gara, Brian O’Driscoll, Cian Healy, Jonathan Sexton, Conor Murray, John Hayes and Paul O’Connell.

(Continue below …)

In the absence of Hugo Keenan, Farrell has selected Ciaran Frawley at fullback, as he partners Calvin Nash and James Lowe in the back three on the occasion of his first Test start in green.

Bundee Aki returns to the starting XV to continue his midfield partnership with Robbie Henshaw.

Jamison Gibson-Park and Jack Crowley start at scrumhalf and flyhalf respectively.


In the pack, Andrew Porter, Dan Sheehan and Tadhg Furlong are named in the front row.

Joe McCarthy continues in the second row alongside Tadhg Beirne.

O’Mahony skippers the team from the back row, alongside Josh van der Flier at openside flank and Caelan Doris at No.8.

The Ireland coaching team have opted for a 6-2 split on the bench, as Ronan Kelleher, Cian Healy, the uncapped Oli Jager, James Ryan, Ryan Baird and Jack Conan provide the reinforcements in the pack.


Backs Conor Murray and Stuart McCloskey complete Ireland’s Match Day 23 for the visit of Wales.

Ireland: 15 Ciaran Frawley, 14 Calvin Nash, 13 Robbie Henshaw, 12 Bundee Aki, 11 James Lowe, 10 Jack Crowley, 9 Jamison Gibson-Park, 8 Caelan Doris, 7 Josh van der Flier, 6 Peter O’Mahony (captain), 5 Tadhg Beirne, 4 Joe McCarthy, 3 Tadhg Furlong, 2 Dan Sheehan, 1 Andrew Porter.
Replacements: 16 Ronan Kelleher, 17 Cian Healy, 18 Oli Jager, 19 James Ryan, 20 Ryan Baird, 21 Jack Conan, 22 Conor Murray, 23 Stuart McCloskey.

Date: Saturday, February 24
Venue: Lansdowne Road, Dublin
Kick-off: 14.15 (14.15 GMT)
Referee: Andrea Piardi (Italy)
Assistant referees: Karl Dickson (England), Gianluca Gnecchi (Italy)
TMO: Eric Gauzins (France)

Join free

Fresh Starts | Episode 1 | Will Skelton


Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 8

James Cook | The Big Jim Show | Full Episode

New Zealand victorious in TENSE final | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Men's Highlights

New Zealand crowned BACK-TO-BACK champions | Cathay/HSBC Sevens Day Three Women's Highlights

Japan Rugby League One | Steelers v Sungoliath | Full Match Replay

Rugby Europe Women's Championship | Netherlands v Spain

Write A Comment