Get Newsletter

Blues without All Blacks duo for Reds clash

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Players on leave, others with or returning from injury, and form have led to six changes to the Blues team to take on the Queensland Reds in Brisbane on Friday.


All Blacks Rieko Ioane and co-captain Patrick Tuipulotu will sit out their second stand-down game while fellow international Dalton Papalii makes a welcome return to the starting line-up.

Injury has forced out Caleb Clarke on the right wing, replaced by Matt Duffie, with block-busting youngster Tanielu Tele’a moving to the left wing. Meanwhile, the inside back pairing Augustine Pulu and Otere Black come from the bench to start in the changes made by coach Leon MacDonald.

MacDonald bracketed Sonny Bill Williams to start but despite taking a full part in training, he believes another week is needed to complete his recovery.

“We had always ear-marked this game as a break for Rieko and Patrick but at the same time Matt Duffie has been itching to get his chance after a late start to the season with injury and Tanielu has been strong in his first season,” said MacDonald.

“Upfront our locking stocks are competitive with Josh Goodhue back into the reserves after starting earlier in the season.


“We are delighted to have Dalton recovered which gives us another chance to start this exciting back row and it goes without saying that Sonny has done everything possible to get himself back in shape. He was close but we are not taking any risks bringing him back until he is 100 percent.”

It means Ma’a Nonu will again link with vice-captain TJ Faiane in the midfield for the 13th time in 15 games with the pair playing the full 80 minutes in all but two of those starts.

Blues: 15 Melani Nanai, 14 Matt Duffie, 13 TJ Faiane, 12 Ma’a Nonu, 11 Tanielu Tele’a, 10 Otere Black, 9 Augustine Pulu, 8 Akira Ioane, 7 Blake Gibson (captain), 6 Dalton Papalii, 5 Scott Scrafton, 4 Gerard Cowley-Tuioti, 3 Ofa Tu’ungafasi, 2 James Parsons, 1 Alex Hodgman.
Replacements: 16 Leni Apisai, 17 Marcel Renata, 18 Lua Li, 19 Tom Robinson, 20 Josh Goodhue, 21 Jonathan Ruru, 22 Harry Plummer, 23 Levi Aumua.

Date: Friday, June 7
Venue: Suncorp Stadium, Brisbane
Kick-off: 19.45 (21.45 NZ time; 09.45 GMT)
Referee: Brendon Pickerill (New Zealand)
Assistant referees: Mike Fraser (New Zealand), Jordan Way (Australia)
TMO: James Leckie (Australia)


Join free

England vs France | World Rugby U20 Championship Final | Full Match Replay

Scotland vs USA | U20 Trophy Final | Full Match Replay

Boks Office | Episode 15 | Extreme Golf Special

Embedded 2024 | England | Episode 4

Before They Make It | South Africa

Before They Make It | England

Aotearoa Rugby Podcast | Episode 22

Women's Six Nations winner to Paris Olympic sevens for Team GB | Ellie Kildunne | Stronger Than You Think | S3 Ep 2

Write A Comment