Thu 21 Mar 2019 | 09:54

Chiefs have a new No.10… again

Chiefs have a new No.10… again
Thu 21 Mar 2019 | 09:54
Chiefs have a new No.10… again

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT:  Chiefs Head Coach Colin Cooper has selected a strong twenty three to face the Bulls at Loftus Versfeld Stadium in Pretoria.

Following a 23 all draw against the Hurricanes in Hamilton last Friday a selection of changes have been made across the twenty three. Four forwards remain in the starting line-up, loosehead prop Aidan Ross, hooker Nathan Harris, Captain Brodie Retallick and number eight Tyler Ardron. Tighthead prop Angus Ta’avao will start ahead of Nepo Laulala who will don jersey number 18.

A new locking combination of Retallick and Mitchell Brown will start with Michael Allardice providing cover on the bench. Blindside flank Luke Jacobson earns his first start of the season and is joined by Lachlan Boshier on the openside who returns to the starting fifteen after missing the Hurricanes match with concussion.

In the backline only two changes have been made. Flyhalf Jack Debreczeni earns his first start of the season after returning to full health he will direct the backline from ten. Solomon Alaimalo returns from injury and is named on the left wing shifting Ataata Moeakiola to the bench.

Completing the changes to the twenty three, loosehead prop Tevita Mafileo returns following a minor injury named in jersey number 17 and loose forward Jesse Parete earns his spot on the bench to don jersey number 20.

Head Coach Colin Cooper said he is pleased with the team they have selected but is calling for his side to show an improved performance.

“Last week was frustrating for us and as a team we want to see ourselves capitalise on the opportunities presented to us.

“The Bulls are a very good team and are coming off the back of a bye. For us to be successful we need to try to be more accurate and continue to focus on delivering our game in order to improve on last week’s performance.”

Chiefs: 15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Sean Wainui, 13 Tumua Manu, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Solomon Alaimalo, 10 Jack Debreczeni, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Tyler Ardron, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Luke Jacobson, 5 Mitchell Brown, 4 Brodie Retallick (captain), 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Aidan Ross
Replacements: 16 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 17 Tevita Mafileo, 18 Nepo Laulala, 19 Michael Allardice, 20 Jesse Parete , 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Alex Nankivell, 23 Ataata Moeakiola.

Date: Saturday, March 23
Venue: Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria
Kick-off: 15.00 (13.00 GMT, 02.00 NZ time Sunday, March 24)
Referee: AJ Jacobs (South Africa)
Assistant referees: Cwengile Jadezweni (South Africa), Stephan Elenchus (South Africa)
TMO: Willie Vos (South Africa)

Video Spacer

PV: 860

Chiefs Have A New No.10… Again | Rugby365