Wed 17 Apr 2019 | 07:02

Chiefs lose another star player ahead of Lions clash

Chiefs lose another star player ahead of Lions clash
Wed 17 Apr 2019 | 07:02
Chiefs lose another star player ahead of Lions clash

TEAM ANNOUNCEMENT: Chiefs head coach Colin Cooper has named his team to face the Lions in a Super Rugby Round Ten clash in Hamilton on Friday.

Scrumhalf Brad Weber will take over the captaincy in the absence of Brodie Retallick.

Retallick was ruled out with a hand injury.

“It is a huge honour to be named as captain for this Friday. I am excited for the opportunity and am thankful to have a great bunch of guys around me which will make my job easier,” said Weber.

Following a 33-29 win over the Blues in Hamilton last Saturday a number of changes have been made to the twenty-three.

Bay of Plenty hooker Liam Polwart will make his first appearance of the 2019 Super Rugby season starting in replace of All Blacks hooker Nathan Harris. Polwart will combine with Angus Ta’avao and Nepo Laulala. Loosehead prop Atu Moli returns from his elbow injury and is joined by Samisoni Taukei’aho and Sosefo Kautai who will provide front row cover.

A new locking combination of Tyler Ardron and Mitchell Brown will take the field.

Alex Nankivell will start at centre shifting Tumua Manu to the bench named in jersey No.22. Ataata Moeakiola will start on the left wing in place of injured wing Solomon Alaimalo, with Shaun Stevenson moving onto the bench named in No.23.

Jack Debreczeni will start at fullback in place of Damian McKenzie who sustained a season-ending knee injury on Saturday. Halfback Jonathan Taumateine is given an opportunity to impress coaches off the bench in No.21.

Chiefs: 15 Jack Debreczeni, 14 Sean Wainui, 13 Alex Nankivell, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Ataata Moeakiola, 10 Marty McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber (captain), 8 Taleni Seu, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Luke Jacobson, 5 Mitchell Brown, 4 Tyler Ardron, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Liam Polwart, 1 Angus Ta’avao.
Replacements: 16 Samisoni Taukei’aho, 17 Atu Moli, 18 Sosefo Kautai, 19 Jesse Parete, 20 Pita Gus Sowakula, 21 Jonathan Taumateine, 22 Tumua Manu, 23 Shaun Stevenson.

Date: Friday, April 19
Venue: FMG Stadium, Hamilton
Kick-off: 19.35 (09.35 SA time; 07.35 GMT)
Referee: Brendon Pickerill
Assistant referees: Mike Fraser, Rasta Rasivhenge
TMO: Shane McDermott

PV: 2383

Chiefs Lose Another Star Player Ahead Of Lions Clash | Rugby365