Do Not Sell My Personal Information
RugbyPass Match Centre
Scores
Sorry there are no live games.
See what's coming up.
No games this week.
Full schedule >
No games this week.
Full schedule >
No games this week.
Full schedule >
No games this week.
Full schedule >
Sun 15 Mar 2020 | 07:36

Stormer cited as ref gets it wrong

Sharks coach Sean Everitt after win over Stormers
Sun 15 Mar 2020 | 07:36
Stormer cited as ref gets it wrong
SHARE

DISCIPLINARY NEWS: Stormers flank Johan Du Toit finds himself in heaps of trouble following his moment of madness against the Sharks on Saturday.

Du Toit received a yellow card in the first minute for tackling Sharks scrumhalf Louis Schreuder in the air.

The incident sparked a debate between match referee AJ Jacobs and television match official Willie Vos.

Schreuder, who fell awkwardly on his back, left the field on a mobile stretcher after being knocked unconscious. However, referee Jacobs overruled the TMO Vos’s advice to hand out a red card.

Jacobs said Schreuder fell on his back, and not his head/neck area, which was the mitigating factor for the referee.

However, the Citing Commissioner has agreed with  TMO Vos.

After further review of the match footage, the Citing Commissioner deemed in his opinion the incident had met the Red Card threshold for foul play under Law 9.17, a player must not tackle, charge, pull, push or grasp an opponent whose feet are off the ground.

Meanwhile Crusaders hooker Hugh Roach has also been cited after Round Seven.

Roach, in his debut appearance for the Crusaders, was issued a red card in the final quarter of the Crusaders’ win over the Sunwolves in Brisbane for striking prop Hencus van Wyk with his forearm.

Some quick deliberation by the officials saw the card brandished with referee Brendon Pickerill taking a zero-tolerance policy for the intentional strike.

Roach’s act contravened Law 9.12, a player must not physically abuse anyone. Physical abuse includes but is not limited to: Striking with the elbow.

Both cases are to be considered in the first instance by the SANZAAR Foul Play Review Committee which will take place on Monday, March 16 via video-conference.

Video Spacer

 

 

PV: 10444


Stormer Cited As Ref Gets It Wrong | Rugby365